Merge

The Weekly Photo Challenge is Merge.  The challenge speaks of merging different entities into one,” and “breaking the rules.”  

Well, what if Mother Nature broke the rules?   There are natural wonders where forces collide or merge into one.  The results are awe-inspiring, breathtaking, and frankly, too grand for words.

Iguazú Falls (Cataratas del Iguazú) is formed by the merging of the Paraná, Uruguay and Iguazú Rivers. 

A number of years ago I was fortunate to witness the beauty and power of this natural marvel.

8-18-2012 5;18;34 PM

The Falls can be viewed from both Argentina and Brazil.  When approaching the falls there is a low, rumbling sound.   Other visitors and I were astounded by the realization that the sound is the voice of the water pouring over the falls!

8-18-2012 5;45;51 PM

The rumble increases to a roar when approaching the center of the falls, known as the Devil’s Throat (Garganta del Diablo).  The roar is so loud that you cannot have a conversation unless you are shouting. 

It is overwhelming, inspiring and humbling to be in the presence of such power.

8-18-2012 6;06;11 PM

There are numerous views of the falls, all of them breathtaking.

  8-18-2012 5;29;15 PM

You can gain a perspective of size when you consider the walkway in the photo below; visitors can appreciate various views of the falls from a number of vantage points. 

8-18-2012 5;31;24 PM

Sunlight will also merge with the falls.  When this occurs rainbows are often seen!

8-18-2012 5;39;15 PM

The photo below is not out of focus.  When the rivers merge and the falls are in motion, mists of water shoot high into the air!

8-18-2012 5;46;49 PM

These mists can be seen from miles away!

8-18-2012 5;45;04 PM

The falls are located in the sub-tropics.  Accompanying the sounds of the falls were the sounds of wildlife.

8-18-2012 5;26;57 PM

Birds are often seen “flying into the falls.”  Amazingly, these birds live in the cliffs behind the falls. They fly through the water in order to go home!

8-18-2012 5;41;41 PM

Witnessing the beauty and grandeur of Iguazú Falls was also calming. There was so much to see and yet I was often transfixed, grateful to be in the presence such a glorious spectacle.

8-18-2012 6;17;44 PM

Witnessing the merging of three rivers was a privilege.

It was also an important a reminder to me that this earth is a treasure.

It is a gift  that we must cherish and protect. 

8-18-2012 5;42;50 PM

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Musings, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
44 comments on “Merge
  1. Hi Cathy, we went there for the first time last summer and it was AWESOME, even though it was pouring rain at the time and we were soaked to the skin the whole time.

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Naomi! AWESOME – so true! I’m so glad to hear that it is still being preserved and protected.
      When I was there it rained one night – a storm in the jungle! We had just turned off the lights when my friend ran outside. I yelled “What are you doing?” She yelled back, “My towel is on the chair outside!” I said, “Leave it! It’s not worth it!” She stepped back in, completely soaked after having only been outside for a few seconds…amazing!

  2. Sheryl says:

    Awesome pictures! I’ve been to Niagara Falls several times and have always been really impressed with the them. But Iguazza Falls look much more powerful. Maybe someday I’ll get to South America . . .

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Sheryl. Thanks! I’ve never been to Niagara Falls. Other travelers commented that Iguazú is larger, possibly because it extends for a number of miles. I do feel that I was fortunate to visit! 🙂

  3. scrapydo says:

    Wow now you take me way back to December 1971! My sister and I had the opportunity to visit the Iguazo Falls. It is undiscribable beautiful! I have taken some photos in the air also. Your photos are awesome

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, scrapydo! These photo are from November 1988. Seeing the mists from the air with the area surrounded by jungle is amazing. Awesome and unforgettable!

  4. skinnywench says:

    Nice photos Cathy – I loved this place as well 🙂

  5. Gemma says:

    Cathy, absolutely breathtaking. I would love to see and hear that water rumbling along. Thanks for sharing. These photos are simply amazing!

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Gemma! All your sense become engaged. Funny thing about the photos. They were taken with my little 35mm quite some time ago…nothing fancy! When I saw the topic I knew what I wanted to write. I decided to see what would happen when I scanned them. I was pleased with the result…it was the first time I’d seen them on a large monitor! So glad I could share the experience!

  6. eof737 says:

    Truly beautiful shots Cathy! 🙂

  7. fgassette says:

    Splendid photos of the merging of nature. Love how you captured the force of the falls. BEAUTIFUL!

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  8. Jeff Sinon says:

    Your photos do an excellent job of capturing the power of the falls. I would love to see them in person one day.

  9. I love the way you have framed your shots. Really good pov’s.

  10. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman says:

    WOW – stunning.

  11. Great images of this water merging. The size of these falls is really impressive!

  12. Truly a breathtaking, beautiful, and yes powerful Nature’s wonder. I’m like, “Wow!” Thanks.

  13. taniamend says:

    Beautiful! I like the mist most they add softness and magical feeling. Great pics!

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, taniamend! It was amazing to see it from the sky. There is jungle all around then a mist rising into the air…magical looking and amazing! 🙂

  14. ginamkd says:

    I’ve seen this big waterfalls only on photos and your are great.

  15. Iñigo says:

    Very beautiful photographs, Cathy! I haven’t personally seen real waterfalls. I wish I could on my next trips 🙂

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Iñigo! I hope you’ve been well! Waterfalls are amazing! I was very fortunate and blessed to have seen this. Perhaps someday you will, too. If you do, I would look forward to seeing your post about it! 🙂

  16. gingerbreadcafe says:

    Wow! These are amazing pictures, I can imagine how loud the water must be when you are close enough.

  17. Bams Triwoko says:

    Stunning images… love them… 🙂

  18. It must be awe inspiring to witness this, Cathy!

  19. Biltrix says:

    Breathtakingly gorgeous! I would love to have the chance to go there and see it all for myself.

  20. I love waterfalls, and these are fantastic pictures! One more stunning example of God’s creation declaring His glory. The sound of the falls must be incredible too. Breathtaking in person, I’m sure.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics

No Instagram images were found.

My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 22,807 Views