Summer Bag in Blue

I had some bright blue yarn but wasn’t quite sure how I wanted to use it. When I looked through my stash and realized there was some white yarn I finally settled on a blue drawstring bag with some white stripes!

It’s done in the round. This is the same basic pattern often used for hats as well as bags.

2012-08-14_19-33-31_683[1]       2012-08-04_09-25-34_883

Using a relatively small crochet hook results in a tight stich pattern – it works nicely for a bag!

2012-08-04_09-15-33_624

To create room for a drawstring there are double crochets worked with evenly spaced chains.

2012-08-04_09-17-57_350

A white ruffle with blue striped trim was added as an embellishment.

2012-08-04_09-16-37_706

You can see the difference in the bag with the ruffle turned upward versus when it’s folded down, i. e. how it will look when the bag is used.

2012-08-04_09-27-07_3982012-08-04_09-28-07_136

The drawstring is threaded through the bag then secured.

Now it’s ready to go!

2012-08-14_19-34-13_138[1]

A summer bag in blue!  Practical and fun!

For more detail on how this bag is made, see my crochet blog!

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Crochet, Knit and Crochet, Personal, Uncategorized
20 comments on “Summer Bag in Blue
  1. scrapydo says:

    Beautiful in blue. You are so good at it!

  2. Gemma says:

    Excellent. Nice bright blue 🙂

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    I like the drawstring and the ruffles. I think this bag would be very handy 🙂

  4. Very nice! I like the shade of blue you used. Blessings – Patty

  5. Sheryl says:

    Cool! You are so creative.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Sheryl! I don’t know how much I ever really rated as far as the cool factor, but I appreciate the comment! 🙂
      Crocheting has really been a good creative outlet for me!

  6. You are very creative. Nice bag!

  7. Very summery and fresh-looking! =D

  8. A perfect capture of the blue waters of Summer!

  9. taniamend says:

    My mother, grandmother & I used to crochet during summer. Your blue bag made me smile!
    Right now, im learning to sew.
    You’re so creative and I felt how you love your family

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks so much! It’s funny how many people I’ve met who comment that they recall an aunt, a grandmother or a mom who crocheted. I’m glad I can help someone recall fond memories!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,413 Views
