Arranged – Part 2

Through my daughter’s eyes

Hello, everyone.  This is the continuation of the Weekly Photo Challenge “Arranged.”

As you saw in Part 1, my daughter puts together colorful combinations of objects.  Here are a few more arrangements that will bring you once again into my daughter’s world.Arrange4_040112_thumb

 

I am an M&M fiend!  Every so often my husband surprises me with treats. (A wise man, indeed!)  When I was done with these I gave the empty containers to Mija. 

This nest of M&M’s lies on top of one of her baby blankets.  I love the way the colors match!Arrange9_040112 

 

This little monkey lives on our couch. If he ever moves from his specific cushion she makes sure he is placed right back where he belongs. If anyone chooses to sit there, the little monkey can’t be too far away.

Recently Mija has begun covering him with a quilt. For some reason she doesn’t want to see him right now.  The funny thing is, if we took him away from the couch she would go look for him and bring him back!

 

Arrange10_040112

 

Here is our table setting filled with circular shapes and several matching combinations.  There are two red flowers, two round candles, round white objects, red objects, and, red and green objects.

 

 

 

 

Arrange12_040112

 

Of particular note is this candle.  It used to be a deep red.  It’s been sitting on the table near the window for several years, so it’s faded.  It’s a Christmas decoration that I received as a gift.  Even if it’s 10degrees outside the Christmas candle will be on the table because Mija loves it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

In my post called Teachers, I featured Ms. K.  She was Mija’s middle school teacher.  As much as we love our daughter’s creativity here at home we realize there are times when her drive to arrange needs to be managed.  Ms. K and I were commenting to each other how the classroom had to be Mija-proofed.

For example, if certain papers or objects in the classroom were left out and later put away, she would be driven to look for them so she could put them back where she first saw them.  As you might imagine there are times when this is not appropriate.  Desks and cabinets eventually had to be locked.  There were a few times when she put items away and they were not found for weeks!  While we chuckled about it, we also knew that my daughter could become obsessed and upset because the world is not in the order that she feels is correct.  Eventually she came to accept that certain items were not to be arranged…at least not by her.

Arrange13_040112

Thank-you for visiting my daughter’s space.

I found it interesting that the topic “Arranged” occurred during Autism Awareness Day. 

I hope in some small way I’ve helped you become aware of a world that most people are not allowed to enter.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Autism, Family, Musings, Special Needs, Thoughts, Uncategorized
13 comments on “Arranged – Part 2
  1. seekraz says:

    What an interesting facet of her/your life…one that I understand well…ordering and arranging, making sure things that can be controlled are done so…a predictable world is safer…more comfortable.

    Thank you, Cathy. 🙂

  2. Gemma says:

    Cathy, thank you for arranging the visit. It was very personal and welcoming of you and Mija. Gemma

  3. Cathy – yeah, actually when I started reading post#1 I realized – oh yeah..don’t forget to link the autism poetry blog somewhere because autism awareness day is coming or over! The praying elf was so funny to me, and my favorites photos are the first one, and of course, the last one…Mija’s hat is bueno!

    (I only know sign language and am rusty at that…so I hope I’m remembering that bueno=super) 🙂

    • Cathy G says:

      Thank-you, Kate! Yes, my daughter’s space if fully of surprises! The elf is just one character in a cast of many! She’s had that hat for several years. It’s become the only hat she wants to wear – just not in school! Yes, her hat is a lot of fun…and bueno is good! Super will work, too! thanks!

  4. http://attentiondeficitwhatever.wordpress.com/2012/04/03/the-blues-experiment-part-i/#comment-370

    Cathy…here’s a link to one of the blogs I think you’d enjoy…this one is by a dad who is a poetry teacher and is mostly about his journey to being diagnosed as an adult with ADD, and there is a link to his other blog, which I think you would really enjoy. It has poems he has written as the dad of an autistic young boy.

    Happy Easter – Kate

  5. I’ll bet your daughter has become one of the greatest teachers you’ve ever had in your life, hasn’t she?
    Blessings!

  6. m&m’s…. mmmmmmmm good 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,413 Views
