Easter Memories

I thought quite a bit about what I should write for Easter.  There are so many facets of this day for me.  I settled on three very different topics that I’ll be posting over this weekend.

Easter1

When we were children my sisters and I always had spring dresses and new hats to wear on Easter Sunday.  My grandmother often made our dresses…and who could be without their Easter bonnet?

Wearing a hat to church was a treat.  When I was in elementary school, many women wore hats or mantillas (lace veils) to church.  As styles changed, fewer women wore head coverings, but a hat at Easter was a must!

Here’s an Easter photo of my sisters and me.  The time frame is around the mid-1960’s.

In case you’re wondering, I’m the little lady tipping her hat!

The Easter egg hunt was always a big deal.  We spent the previous week coloring eggs.  When the family Easter celebration was at our house, the eggs were hidden in the back yard.  Other years we went to my cousin’s house to have Easter dinner and the egg hunt.

We were always very anxious for the hunt to begin!

There was one year that it rained on Easter Sunday.  My five siblings and I were looking out the backdoor thinking about the missed Easter egg hunt.  There was no way it would happen.  As the rain poured we began to talk.Raul1

“…well, maybe we can look for eggs another time…”

“…but it’s Easter!”

“What about Raul?” Our youngest brother was a toddler at the time.

“How would he feel if we didn’t look for eggs?”

“Hey, we could hide the eggs in the house!”

“Yeah! We could still have an Easter Egg hunt!”

Our parents left it to us to hide plastic and candy eggs.  I think they were concerned about hiding hard-boiled eggs in the house and not being able to find all of them!

We decided that my sisters and I would look for the eggs that my brothers hid.  My brothers looked for the eggs that my sisters and I hid.  Most importantly, we all helped my brother Raul to find the majority of them.  We walked him through the house saying, “Look over there!  Here’s another one!”  We had a good time making him laugh.

At the end of the day we knew we’d had a great time.

As the family grew larger with grandkids and great-grandkids the Easter egg hunt became larger as well.

I saw a Facebook invite announcing that the family Easter egg hunt will be at my aunt’s house this year.  Given the distance, I haven’t attended the family Easter celebration for a number of years now.

As an adult, Easter is primarily a spiritual day for me.  I’ll say more on this in an upcoming post.

That being said I imagine the children in my large extended family will have just as much fun as we had.  Let the egg hunt begin!

Easter4

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family, Family history, Musings, Personal, Uncategorized
3 comments on “Easter Memories
  1. What a great post!
    Happy Easter…………
    Best, Jenny

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Hadn't been #swimming in quite some time but I headed to the #water #today  as part of #training by #pt @dan_frick  Worked out some kinks..lol ...but also recognized gains...felt great to be back in the water! 😃 #fitness #exercise #health #fitchick #fitwomen #swim #satx #sanantonio #texas #life lessons from my #little  Who likes wasps? Well there was one my #chile #plant #today ...you see, they pollinate my #plants ! Later when I put away the hose a wasp was buzzing around me. It landed on a blade of grass and drank a water droplet.  It was just thirsty.  We've learned to coexist because we both appreciate my garden! 😃 #lifelessons #satx #sanantonio #texas #insect #insect #bug #chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,586 Views
