Arranged – Part 1

Through my Daughter’s Eyes

When I saw that the the Weekly Photo Challenge was Arranged, I knew I would be taking photos of my daughter’s space.

You may have heard that autistic individuals will arrange items till their heart’s are content, and once arranged, it’s difficult to break the pattern of said arrangement.

Well, my daughter is no different!  Mija takes great care to arrange items that most people, including me, would never think to group together.

Arrange3_040112

The first photo is a blueback-scratcher, a green toy cup, a pink butterfly and a blue toy similar to a large Lego. To look at it in the span of the entire room, it may not make sense…but she see’s symmetry and color where we may overlook it…and she is not afraid to display it.

I get a big kick out of the next arrangement: a blue turtle, a pink, flowered rubber ducky, a little red cup and a blue-green wrist wallet that I can no longer seem to use when I want to go exercise!

They are arranged in a square-like setting with blues and reds along the diagonals.  Note how the items touch.  It makes sense until you take a step back and to really see the  entire arrangement in the next photo!

Arrange1_040112

I have no idea why the Christmas elf is facedown and away from everything else in the room.  I’m sure Mija has her reasons…and I just laugh and wonder about the poor elf!

Arrange2_040112

The last photo has a string of items where the outer rings are grouped as you might expect.  On the other end are two CD covers of with muppet characters.  In case you don’t recognize them they are from the Spanish-language version of Sesame Street known as Plaza Sesamo.

What fascinates me are the shiny party decorations that join both sets!  There are pastels to match the CD covers, and green stems to match the outer green ring.  Oh, yes…one more thing…did you see that  the colors from the rings are also contained in the CD covers? …an arrangement that I probably wouldn’t have done on my own!

Arrange6_040112

When things are in disarray she may repeatedly say one of the few phrases that she speaks clearly, “No, it’s not!” as if she’s scolding her belongings.

Keeping items grouped together in the manner of her choosing makes my daughter happy, and calm. It’s a way for her to express herself.  Yes, she certainly has her limits, but in other ways she has insight into a world that most of us will find unfamiliar.

I hope you enjoyed my daughter’s arrangements as much as I enjoyed sharing them with you!

I took so many examples of my daughter’s arrangements, that I’ve decided this is part 1. Stay tuned for part 2 in the next day or so!

To see more pictures of my daughter’s space, see my post titled Peaceful.

2012_January 010

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Autism, Award, Faith, Family, Musings, Personal, Special Needs, Spirituality, Thoughts, Uncategorized
22 comments on “Arranged – Part 1
  1. she has a real eye for colour – like you =)

  2. Gemma says:

    Yes. I did enjoy. The arrangements are special and unique to Mija. She has a talent and flare for art and color. Well done.

  3. Isabella says:

    Mija is awesome….and so is her Mama! Cathy, I love how you search into the depths of these arrangements, into the depths of Mija. Thanks for sharing her beautiful sense of order with us! 🙂

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Isabella! I often state this is her world, but, in truth, it has become mine – but I am not the engineer! Funny how that reminds me something grander! Have a blessed week! 🙂

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    This is a great post and I truly enjoyed looking at each arrangement.

  5. Iñigo says:

    Awww…. cute and colorful! I love toys 🙂

  6. atothewr says:

    Nice.

    I think the poor elf might have worked too hard during the Christmas season.

  7. Thanks for sharing! The mind is an amazing thing.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Maria! Yes, it certainly is! My daughter is considered vocal but not verbal…yet her arrangements can tell us a lot about her! Thanks for stopping by my site!

  8. Your daughter’s arrangements show a great deal of logic. In almost all cases a system can be seen. Even the elf might be averting his gaze to avoid watching the duck (who is situated by blue water!) swim into a trap!

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi John – When my daughter starts on some arrangements she takes a great deal of time to figure out how the pieces fit together. I love your thoughts about the elf! He ‘looks like he’s either asleeep, or, as you’ve said, he’s somehow not able or allowed to see what the duck is doing! Stay safe little ducky!

  9. Ms. K says:

    I always loved her unique arrangements even though I never understood them. I would love to get inside her head for 1 minute so I could see the world from her viewpoint so I could understand her better. She is an artist in her own right. I remember she always wanted a green and red lego on our rug. Of course in the same exact spot always-first thing in the morning they were there. I still miss tripping over them and think of her often when I look at that rug. It looked prettier with her colors added to it. Just like my life was richer with her in it.

    • Cathy G says:

      Ms. K you are so sweet! I have to laugh and think…just because she is no longer in your classroom doesn’t mean the legos have to get moved! lol…it’s great to know how she and others have allowed us to be a part of their world. Stay tuned for part 2!

  10. Love the perspective you decided to go with 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Enjoying the new-do and color #today . Time for a slight change in #hairstyle and lovin the color! #haircut #haircolor #enjoy #satx #sanantonio #texas #today #vintage #knit #blouse that Mom gave me.  Perfect condition at least 40 years old.  Simple, yet sophisticated.  So glad Mom passed this along to me! #vintageclothing #satx #sanantonio #texas #yummy !! #bananabread right out of the oven!  The house smells #amazing 😃 #today #baking #happyhubby #smile #goodeats #dessert #bread #satx #sanantonio #texas On the road visiting Mom but still making sure I have time to #workout #today focused on #core and #upperbody ...helps me with jet lag,  too! lol #exercise #health #fitness #fitchicks #fitwomen
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,999 Views
