Optimism – From the Couch to a 5k

The weekly photo challenge is “Optimistic.”

I decided to post about a somewhat recent event that taught me how my outlook has changed over the past three years.

About nine weeks ago, I fell and twisted my foot when I walked outdoors to go talk to my husband.

At the time he was with our daughter waiting for her school bus.  My husband said it looked like I fell in slow motion off the landing step.

At first he thought I was playing. Then I told him I couldn’t stand up.

After a slip and fall at home, Cathy's right ankle is "on ice."

After a slip and fall at home, Cathy’s right ankle is “on ice.”

“What?”

“I twisted my foot. I don’t think I stand up. Just help me up and I’ll get into the house while you’re waiting for the bus.”

“No, I’ll carry you into the house. I just need to get back to Mija right away before the bus comes.”

“You don’t have to carry me into the house! I don’t want you to hurt yourself! Just help me up!”

“No, I’ll carry you.”

“Oh, yeah, that’s right! I’m a lot lighter than I used to be! Ha! Ow this hurts!”

Al scooped me off the floor and carried me to the couch while calling to our daughter not to go anywhere.

Then he ran back out to get back to our daughter. Once she was on the bus, he came back in to get ice for my foot

Over the past three years Cathy has become a dedicated gym rat. In this photo she's wearing an ankle wrap since she was recovering from her slip and fall a few weeks earlier.

Over the past three years Cathy has become a dedicated gym rat. In this photo she’s wearing an ankle wrap since she was recovering from her slip and fall a few weeks earlier.

“It took me falling on the ground for you to carry me over the threshold, huh?”

We laughed. Then I winced.

Years ago something like this could have put me into a tailspin. Missing work, other obligations…worry, worry, worry.

Not now.  That was a pleasant eye-opener for me!
If you’re familiar with my story you know that I’ve made a lot of changes over the past three years to reclaim my health.

I typically exercise around 6 hours a week. I realized with an injury that I could be suddenly sedentary.

My concern wasn’t weight gain.

My concerned was conditioning, and, about making sure that my right leg stayed mobile since it gets stiff and weak very easily.

Oh yeah, it was my right foot that was now bruised and swelling even though I knew it wasn’t broken.

The optimist in me surfaced as I told Al, “It’s just a small setback.”

“What do you mean?”

“Well, this isn’t too bad. I’ve definitely been through worse. I mean, just because I can’t be on my feet for a little bit doesn’t mean I can’t stop exercising completely, right? I can do upper body work with the hand weights.”

My husband just laughed and shook his head.

Hand made yoga socks worked well to be sure Cathy's foot had traction while it was wrapped. Slow, steady movement from yoga was a way to focus on recovery while her foot was healing.

Hand made yoga socks worked well to be sure Cathy’s foot had traction while it was wrapped. Slow, steady movement from yoga was a way to focus on recovery while her foot was healing.

Over the couple of weeks I slowly began to use my exercise bicycle to test my foot and keep my legs moving.

I also went back to the gym to do yoga then eventually core work and weights. I just made modifications so that I could keep going.

Fast forward nine weeks.

A few days ago I saw a sign as I walked out of the elevator at work . A company running club advertised their first, and hopefully annual, 5k event.

I immediately thought, “I could do that.  I can really do that!”

 

I previously made a decision that I wanted run a 5k. This was my chance to make that happen!

I logged onto the team web site and registered.

It was time to take on a new challenge! Here's the before and after shot from her first three-mile run!

It was time to take on a new challenge! Here’s the before and after shot from her first three-mile run!

Today I decided to test my legs so that I could start training for the 5k. Based on all my current activities I figured I could run most, if not all of the three-mile route that I generally walk in my neighborhood.

I kept a slow steady pace and ran the entire three miles!

About an hour later my daughter was restless so I went for another walk, this time with her.

Six miles in one day! When it was done my legs were a bit tired but I also felt very satisfied.

I look at the photo with my twisted, bruised foot and while I do see a photo of an injury, I also see a sign of perseverance and optimism.

I was able to put this injury into perspective. It slowed me down from everyday activities, but it didn’t stop me.

It confirmed that I still have more that I more to accomplish!

 

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2016
2 comments on “Optimism – From the Couch to a 5k

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Hadn't been #swimming in quite some time but I headed to the #water #today  as part of #training by #pt @dan_frick  Worked out some kinks..lol ...but also recognized gains...felt great to be back in the water! 😃 #fitness #exercise #health #fitchick #fitwomen #swim #satx #sanantonio #texas #life lessons from my #little  Who likes wasps? Well there was one my #chile #plant #today ...you see, they pollinate my #plants ! Later when I put away the hose a wasp was buzzing around me. It landed on a blade of grass and drank a water droplet.  It was just thirsty.  We've learned to coexist because we both appreciate my garden! 😃 #lifelessons #satx #sanantonio #texas #insect #insect #bug #chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,586 Views
