Wall of Fame

The weekly Photo Challenge is “Wall.”

The Wall of Fame at Cathy's local gym.

The Wall of Fame at Cathy’s local gym.

There’s a wall at my local gym that acknowledges the achievement of a few individuals who rose to the challenge to take control of their health and personal fitness.

I’ve walked by that wall four to six times a week, every week, for the past twenty-seven months.

It’s called the Wall of Fame.

Many of you are aware that over the past two years I battled a number of obstacles in relation to my own health.

Yes, Cathy's been through quite a few changes in the past two years!  She's wearing a shirt that is two year old!

Yes, Cathy’s been through quite a few changes in the past two years! She’s wearing a shirt that is two year old!

I’ve changed so much during this time. That’s the understatement of the day!

If I didn’t have the photos to prove it, some folks don’t believe my story. I’m saying this because some individuals who have just met me remark that I must not have any idea what it’s like to struggle with my health, with my weight, or with my level of fitness.

When that occurs I respectfully beg to differ, and I take the opportunity to share my story.

I’ve come a long way from the time when I walked with a significant limp, my leg sometimes buckling out underneath me. I moved slowly, deliberately, often painfully. I wanted to be active but, frankly, I was limited. My health was beginning to show other signs of decline in a number of areas.

Making a conscious decision to regain my health was one of the most significant decisions I’ve made in recent times.

In order to execute this decision, I made a commitment to strengthen my leg(s) and to gain improvements in my blood work. Anything else that resulted from this would be gravy.

This entailed working with a trainer to help me improve my level of activity, and, making changes in my eating habits. Note, I’ve never called it a diet. For me, this is not what it was; still isn’t.

Cathy and Al enjoy an afternoon out!

Cathy and Al enjoy an afternoon out!

Committing to these actions had a domino effect into numerous aspects of my everyday activities.

My husband was completely onboard with my decision.

He took an active part in my journey by participating in nutrition classes with me, especially since he’s the family cook. More importantly, he encouraged me, and always let me know that he loved me. It didn’t matter if I was tired, achy, cranky, exhilarated or contemplative. He’s always been there for me.

Honestly, it was a long, hard haul, especially during the first year, peppered with a lot of discovery and motivating moments.

The results have been more than worth it. More on that in a bit.

Meet Dan, the trainer who worked with Cathy for nearly two years, and, who nominated her to be on "The Wall."

Meet Dan, the trainer who worked with Cathy for nearly two years, and, who nominated her to be on “The Wall.”

There are many vignettes that flash through my mind.

Dan, the trainer who guided me once joked, “It took a small army to get you where you needed to be!”

He was right. In addition to his services, I was monitored by my doctor and a chiropractor.  I also consulted with nutritionists and other service providers.

Oh yeah, folks, I was serious about this!

Dan’s services were beyond significant. He compiled a rather thick file on my progress, altering workouts based on need and progress. I have an incredible amount of respect for his skill and expertise. I will always be grateful for his role in my journey.

One day Dan mentioned to me that he had his own goal in mind for me. He told me that he was going to submit a request for me “to be on the wall.”

Really? Me? His statement took me aback but I also appreciated that in addition to my own accomplishments, it would also be a way to recognize our partnership, teamwork and commitment to my own progress.

Cathy and Dan's Photo has been added to the Wall of Fame at her local gym!  It was quite an achievement!

Cathy and Dan’s Photo has been added to the Wall of Fame at her local gym! It was quite an achievement!

Well, I now look at that wall a bit differently than before.

There are still very few stories there, but mine happens to be one of them!

For me, this wall is a concrete reminder of hard work, dedication, consistency, passion, diligence, resolve, determination, and frankly, the mettle to see this journey reach its next level.

It’s also a reminder of specific results.

I no longer take several medications…My blood work is now normal…My body is stronger…My mind is more at peace than it’s been in a long time…

You see, I’ve never been one to take short cuts.  Good things, and great things, take time.

Oh yeah…and that gravy I mentioned earlier?  I’ve lost 8 clothing sizes…I don’t know (and don’t need to know) where they went! I’m not planning on finding them any time soon!

I’m appreciative that Dan took the time to recognize this success, and I am grateful to my husband and the small army that helped me to attain this milestone.

I also know the journey doesn’t end here because there is still so much to do!

*********************

Cathy took this photo on the day she wrote this blog.  She's come a long way and is looking forward to continuing her journey!

Cathy took this photo on the day she wrote this blog. She’s come a long way and is looking forward to continuing her journey!

If you’d like to read more about Cathy’s journey to regain her health, here’s a link where you can find more posts.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2015
6 comments on “Wall of Fame
  1. sheila Zucman says:

    Cathy, what you have done is admirable, and actually quite incredible! I wish I had a tiny little bit of the determination that you have………..keep up the good work!!! aunt Sheila

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Aunt Sheila! I somehow think you have a bit of that determination! You have often inspired me to try new things – like blogging! 🙂 Thanks so much for all your support. Love, Cathy

  2. You mentioned “gravy” and “peppered” and they made me chuckle. You look fantastic, Cathy. I respect you so much for what you’ve accomplished. I enjoy you your fortitude. I wish you continued success. Best wished, Gemma

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Gemma! Thanks so much for all your support. I’m glad I decided to write about the journey. There’s more to come – I’m looking forward to it! Take care, Cathy

  3. […] (wall)” The San Francisco Scene–Seen!The Wall at Land’s End @ Sunset, 15 March 2015. Comments from CathyWall of Fame Eighteenth.OblivionLocal Market Bliss thechangingpaletteStudio 365: Day 75 Wanderlust and […]

  4. You have so much to be proud of, Cathy! Congratulations on your great success!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
#great time #today - company #5krun privileged to #sing the National Anthem at the event.  PR... constantly #amazed to think a few years ago I had difficulty walking up the stairs in my house due to a chronic injury. Hard #work and dedication continue to pay off! #grateful #happy #fitwomen #fitchicks #satx #sanantonio #texas #trainhard #exercise #motivation late day at the office...late day at the #gym time to get it done! #today #fitness #fitgirls  #fitwomen #health #motivation  #exercise #training #goldsgym #satx #sanantonio #texas #crocheting a new mat made of plastic bags #today - part of a #project to make sleeping mats for homeless veterans. Sad that this needs to be done but happy to do my part..and also happy to take the plastic bags out of circulation!  #volunteer #recycle #rrr #diy #handmade #madeit #crochet #satx #sanantonio #texas Our neighbors surprised us with rice and potatoes with mild #curry - Mija really enjoyed it! Background is that over the years she has slowly (very slowly) learned to try new foods...this was a big deal...and we were #happy to see it! #autism #autismawareness #satx #sanantonio #texas #smile
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,212 Views
