Peace Challenge: The Woman in the Mirror

Months  ago our friend Kozo challenged us to post about our truest self, our grandest self, or about the self we would like to be.  Who was the person each of us faced in the mirror?  What did that reflection say to you?

Even though I didn’t write a post at that time, the topic has always stayed with me.

I decided it was finally time to post my thoughts as I reach certain milestones and close out (or perhaps start?) some chapters in my life.

Anyone who’s known me for at least a couple of years can visibly see that I’ve physically changed in many ways.  People who haven’t seen me in a while may walk right by me because they don’t recognize me.

That said, the deepest parts of me haven’t really changed.

For me, that’s the interesting part.

Here are photos of Cathy taken on the same date for the 2012, 2013, and, 2014.  She's been through substantial physical changes.  She also had plenty of help to be able to achieve this.  Oh, and yes, she plans on maintaining that support in order to continue her journey!

Here are photos of Cathy taken on the same date for the 2012, 2013, and, 2014. She’s been through substantial physical changes. She also had plenty of help to be able to achieve this. Oh, and yes, she plans on maintaining that support in order to continue her journey!

The way I see it, because my health and stamina have improved substantially, I’ve finally been able to achieve milestones that previously were out of my reach.

Being healthier and stronger has allowed “dormant” parts of me to start coming forward.

Parts of me that are creative….

Cathy finally finished a comfy shawl that she crocheted over a long period of time.  She'd do just a little bit at a time until it was complete!  Good things may not happen overnight!  Sometimes good things come one step at a time!

Cathy finally finished a comfy shawl that she crocheted over a long period of time. She’d do just a little bit at a time until it was complete! Good things may not happen overnight! Sometimes good things come one step at a time!

Fun loving…

Cathy reacts to a love note that her hubby put in her lunch!  Sometimes the best parts of your day are unexpected surprises!  Enjoy those moments, and, be sure to pass the love forward!

Cathy reacts to a love note that her hubby put in her lunch! Sometimes the best parts of your day are unexpected surprises! Enjoy those moments, and, be sure to pass the love forward!

Vibrant…

Cathy takes a private moment to play her guitar and sing!  This is a part of her that resonates very deep within her.  When  you listen closely you'll discover a part of her that often isn't seen or heard.

Cathy takes a private moment to play her guitar and sing! This is a part of her that resonates very deep within her. When you listen closely you’ll discover a part of her that often isn’t seen or heard.

Parts of me that are becoming stronger…

Stronger in body…

As you know from her story, Cathy's been working with a personal trainer to help her achieve numerous fitness goals. She's asked for more challenges, and she hasn't been disappointed! She's now able to reach for, and, achieve milestones that two years ago were not in her line of sight!

As you know from her story, Cathy’s been working with a personal trainer to help her achieve numerous fitness goals. She’s asked for more challenges, and she hasn’t been disappointed! She’s now able to reach for, and, achieve milestones that two years ago were not in her line of sight!

Stronger in mind…

Sometimes when the going gets tough, it's important to take a pause, and, just breathe.  Cathy take a moment to be still during a particularly hectic day...

Sometimes when the going gets tough, it’s important to take a pause, and, just breathe. Cathy take a moment to be still during a particularly hectic day…

Stronger in soul and spirit…

Cathy, her daughter, and husband share a family moment in church.

Cathy, her daughter, and husband share a family moment in church.

Parts of me that are able to dream and enjoy a sense of wonder.

Cathy takes a second to just dream, to be grateful, and, to wonder about all that's happened.  In the midst of a hectic world, it's important to take the time to do this.

Cathy takes a second to just dream, to be grateful, and, to wonder about all that’s happened. In the midst of a hectic world, it’s important to take the time to do this.

It’s  been hard work, but it’s been worth it.  I can’t express that any other way!

My blog byline is still true.

Yes, I’m still sipping tea…

Cathy's favorite teapot.  Wonderful aromatic beverages are brewed there!

Cathy’s favorite teapot. Wonderful aromatic beverages are brewed there!

…and I am still learning from the past, looking forward to the future, and learning to be still in every day life.

Cathy balances in "star pose." The photo is significant not only to represent a sense of balance, but to show that Cathy is able, after many months of work, to balance for short periods of time on her right leg which was injured quite some time ago!

Cathy balances in “star pose.” The photo is significant not only to represent a sense of balance, but to show that Cathy is able, after many months of work, to balance for short periods of time on her right leg which was injured quite some time ago!

To find out more about Bloggers for Peace, click the badge!

p. s. I noted that you’ll get a message about the site when you click the badge.  The content can still be viewed!

🙂

forpeace6

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2014, B4Peace, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,416 Views
