Signs

The Weekly Photo Challenge is Signs.

A few years ago I made a visit to my folks house with the intent of scanning family photos.

I came across a unique piece of family memorabilia.

When I asked my mother about it I was astounded to learn what it was.

There, in an envelope was a little piece of cloth tape with writing on it.

How little?

About one-inch square (two and a half centimeters).

There was a lot of information written on its tiny surface!

A little sign with large significance to Cathy's family!

A little sign with large significance to Cathy’s family!

My mother explained at the time when she was born, the nursery staff would write pertinent information on a little piece of cloth tape, then they’d stick the tape on the babies’ backs in order to identify them!

Apparently all the babies had these little signs on them to show who they were, and to whom they belonged!

There were no hospital bracelets, just the little pieces of tape!

Here is my mother’s information:

#121- 685

Lopez, Female

Wt. 6# 6oz.

Mother, Carmen

#121- 681

Born, 1:02 p. m.

8-31-30

A one-of-a kind miniature sign with special significance for my family!

Cathy's grandmother, Carmen, and her mom, Mary, early 1930's.

Cathy’s grandmother, Carmen, and her mom, Mary, early 1930’s.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in 2014, Family history
7 comments on “Signs
  1. Tina Schell says:

    😊how sweet! Love that they saved it!

  2. chmjr2 says:

    That was a great find. A family keepsake for sure.

  3. Cathy, this is fascinating! Today we’re lucky they don’t imbed chips in our backs! Whoa! This tape is a keeper for sure.

  4. What an amazing part of history you have, all on a piece of tape! That photo and the tape would make a wonderful scrapbook page 🙂

  5. How very interesting. I love it!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Hadn't been #swimming in quite some time but I headed to the #water #today  as part of #training by #pt @dan_frick  Worked out some kinks..lol ...but also recognized gains...felt great to be back in the water! 😃 #fitness #exercise #health #fitchick #fitwomen #swim #satx #sanantonio #texas #life lessons from my #little  Who likes wasps? Well there was one my #chile #plant #today ...you see, they pollinate my #plants ! Later when I put away the hose a wasp was buzzing around me. It landed on a blade of grass and drank a water droplet.  It was just thirsty.  We've learned to coexist because we both appreciate my garden! 😃 #lifelessons #satx #sanantonio #texas #insect #insect #bug #chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,586 Views
