Raising Compassionate Children

Kozo has once again challenged us with a timely Bloggers for Peace topic.

He focused his post on raising compassionate boys, and has started an video series about this topic.

As I grew up in a large family, I decided to expand this to thoughts on raising compassionate children.

I thought about the generations of my family.

Generations of Cathy's family.  Her father, his parents, and, siblings.

Generations of Cathy’s family. Her father (third from the right), his parents, and, siblings.

Cathy (middle left), most of her siblings, and her parents.

Cathy (middle left), most of her siblings, and her parents.

Despite all the ups and downs that my family has faced, there is a consistent display of humor,  strength of character, compassion, faith, and love.

Cathy's  sister Rose, brother Louie, and Louie's son Jason share a light moment at a family gathering.

Cathy’s sister Rose, brother Louie, and Louie’s son Jason share a light moment at a family gathering.

When I took a step back to consider this, I realized there were a few recurring themes.

Each of these themes could be a post on its own, so I’ll just present them, and let you consider what each of these may mean to you.

Love begins with each of us.

Cathy's brother David, and his son, Matthew.

Cathy’s brother David, and his son, Matthew.

If you want children to be compassionate and loving, then you must show them the way.

Annie is showered with kisses from Aunt Sheila and cousin Jim.

Annie is showered with kisses from Aunt Sheila and cousin Jim.

Children will repeat behavior that you and others model.  (What is it that you are modeling for your children?)

Cousins Mia and Elijah enjoy a little critter that was found outside the pool.

Cousins Mia and Elijah enjoy a little critter that was found outside the pool.

Teach kindness and gentleness. (This does not mean that you are a pushover.)

Joe and Linda share a quiet moment.

Joe and Linda share a quiet moment.

Teach tolerance.  (It’s okay to disagree with someone.)

Cousins Victor, Phil, Matthew, Eric and Joe play for high stakes!

Cousins Victor, Phil, Matthew, Eric and Joe play for high stakes!

We must protect those who are vulnerable.

Al keeps Mija calm on the way to hospital tests.

Al keeps Mija calm on the way to hospital tests.

Dad's hand is strong and reassuring.

Dad’s hand is strong and reassuring.

We must love, respect and treasure those who have so much to teach us.

Annie and her great-grandmother Josie.

Annie and her great-grandmother Josie.

Bob and great-grandmother Carmen.

Bob and great-grandmother Carmen.

We must continue to teach these lessons to those who come after us.

New generations of Cathy's family.

New generations of Cathy’s family.

To find out more about Bloggers for Peace, click the badge!

forpeace6

Here are related B4Peace articles:

Finding Beauty Amongst the Trash

Happy Birthday Little Dinosaur

Kozo and Cheri asks that you

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in B4Peace, Spirituality
4 comments on “Raising Compassionate Children
  1. Kozo Hattori says:

    Love this, Cathy. {{{Hugs}}} to you, Al, and Mija. Email me at everydaygurus@gmail.com and I’ll send you a link to the audio series. I’m interested in what you think. Kozo

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Kozo! Thanks! So nice to be blogging again. I hope to go back and write about previous challenges! I’ll be sure to send an email your way – I look forward to seeing the series!
      Bless you, Cathy 🙂

  2. Terry says:

    Love, Love, Love this Cathy!!! Photos and sentiments make beautiful memories come alive!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
#chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy In my #garden #today #pepper clockwise from top left - #jalapeño, poblano, Anaheim, and coolapeño ( a jalapeño hybrid) 😄 #peppers #plants #green #satx #sanantonio #texas #happy #peaceful #eat #healthyfood My #little #garden is growing! #today I arranged all the cinder blocks and then the #plants ...the #chilepeppers and #tomatillo are blossoming! My #daughter helped  by watering. last #picture is #yourstruly #beforeandafter #gardening lol  #satx #sanantonio #texas  #jalapeños #peppers #happy #peaceful
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,577 Views
