Reflections – A Personal Transformation

The Weekly Photo Challenge this week is Reflection.  The topic couldn’t be more timely.

Over the past fifteen months I’ve worked hard to regain my health and become physically stronger.

After re-writing this post umpteen times, I finally decided the best way to share my personal transformation is to simply share some of the mirrored selfies that I took over the past year.

I’ll start with the photo I took when I first decided to record the milestones I experienced.

I started this journey in November 2012.  By April 2013, I had lost about 30 pounds.

Even though I  had a long way to go I knew I was headed in the right direction!

In April, 2013, Cathy logs a thirty pound weight loss! She's on her way!

In April, 2013, Cathy logs a thirty pound weight loss! She’s on her way!

By August 2013 I’d lost 50 pounds!

I celebrated by taking a walk and short run in my neighborhood.
I commemorated that achievement, and said thank-you to a number of people in this post!

Cathy celebrated a fifty pound weight loss in August, 2013.  Here she is after she's just returned from a walk in her neighborhood.

Cathy celebrated a fifty pound weight loss in August, 2013. Here she is after she’s just returned from a walk in her neighborhood.

By September 2013 I was becoming a bit more lean.

In September 2013, Cathy reflects that she is becoming leaner and stronger.  Her journey is continuing at a steady, consistent pace.

In September 2013, Cathy reflects that she is becoming leaner and stronger. Her journey is continuing at a steady, consistent pace.

I was still going strong by the end of 2013.

I had been exercising for over a year, and had been working with a trainer for ten months.

It was amazing for me to look back on 2013 with gratitude to the people who supported me, and, to consider all that had taken place.

Winter in Texas is on the mild side.  Nonetheless, Cathy bundles up! She also begins to look back on 2013.

Winter in Texas is on the mild side. Nonetheless, Cathy bundles up! She also begins to look back on 2013.

I started January 2014 with a new outlook.

I felt strong, and I was excited to see how much more I could accomplish!

Cathy starts 2014 with a new outlook.  She's feeling healthy, stronger, and, more confident!

Cathy starts 2014 with a new outlook. She’s feeling healthy, stronger, and, more confident!

I took this photo today…

The transformation I experienced is reflected in my body, mind, and, spirit.

When I see this reflection lined up against the previous ones I can now understand why some people haven’t recognized me recently!

I still have to do a double take every once in a while!

This photo was taken on  3/27/2014, the day Cathy wrote this post.  Is that really the same person who was shown in the first photo?  Yes...it's the same person, and yet that person is now very different!

This photo was taken on 3/27/2014, the day Cathy wrote this post. Is that really the same person who was shown in the first photo? Yes…it’s the same person, and yet that person is now very different!

As you can see quite a bit has happened over the past fifteen months.

I’m looking forward to setting new goals and meeting new challenges!

My journey is still continuing.

Thanks to all of you for your support!

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2014, Personal, Uncategorized
6 comments on “Reflections – A Personal Transformation
  1. fgassette says:

    WAY TO GO! Nice reflections of change.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. Kay Parker says:

    Cathy, I am so inspired by your personal journey of the past 15 months and the transformation you have undergone – physically, mentally and spiritually! You are an encouragement to me as I try to grow stronger through more faithfulness to exercise and healthy living. Mija is an inspiration to us every Sunday, as are you and Al. Thank you for being a blessing !
    Kay

    • Cathy G says:

      Kay!!! You have definitely been one person who has seen me go through changes! Thank-you so much for all your support and encouragement. Thank-you for sharing your own journey! As we know these changes take time, so stay steady. I’ll be there to support you! Thank-you for taking good care of our Mija as she learns to grow in faith and God’s love. God bless, Cathy

  3. […] Reflections – A Personal Transformation | Comments from Cathy […]

  4. Great job. So nice to know you achieved your goal.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,413 Views
