2013 – Year of Change

For me, there’s one word that describes 2013.

Cathy, a California girl in a Texas Winter!

Cathy, a California girl in a Texas Winter!

That word is CHANGE!

Early in the year I wrote that about making changes in my lifestyle with the goal of improving my personal health.

Periodically I posted that changes were in progress, and that I was making strides!

Well, here I am, a year later, and I’m been astounded by all that’s occurred!

At the end of last year…

I went to the doctor because my body was giving signals that it was changing in ways that could lead to long-term health issues.

As a result of that appointment I started physical therapy to begin strengthening my legs and hips.

In January of this year…

Al, Cathy's husband. Cathy's so grateful for all that he does!

Al, Cathy’s husband. Cathy’s so grateful for all that he does!

I attended a program to make lifestyle changes to prevent the onset of diabetes.  This was also a recommendation from my doctor.

Fast forward…

I’ve stayed with the changes from the diabetes prevention program.

Al, my husband (and family cook) has continued to prepare meals in the way that best helps me.

I’m so grateful for him!  I know I wouldn’t be as successful as I’ve been without his support and partnership!

After physical therapy, I started working with a personal trainer.

Dan has been a key person in many of the changes that have taken place with me this year.  He’s challenged and encouraged me, while tracking and monitoring everything along the way!

Dan, personal trainer and motivator! He's kept Cathy focused and on track. Thanks, Dan!

Dan, personal trainer and motivator! He’s kept Cathy focused and on track. Thanks, Dan!

When I’m not exercising with Dan, I swim, attend exercise classes, use other exercise equipment at the gym, go for a walk or exercise at home.

I’m definitely not bored!

More on working with Dan in a future post!

A few weeks ago…

I returned to the doctor, who eliminated two prescriptions and reduced the dosage of another!  My blood work is normal!

She said, “Well done!  Keep up the good work!!!”

Something else that’s happened…

I’ve also stepped out of my shell a bit to talk more about these changes.  This has happened in one-to-one settings as well as other forums.

I’m doing this as people told me that I inspired them to make changes in their lives.

How humbling…

That has meant more to me than I can ever express.

Being realistic and keeping it real…

When people have asked me what I’ve done I don’t sugar-coat anything.

Cathy, December 2013.  She's just returned from a jog and walk in her neighborhood!

Cathy, December 2013. She’s just returned from a jog and walk in her neighborhood!

I suggest that they speak to a doctor, if they haven’t already done so.  Know what it is that you really have to tackle!  Get educated so you understand the challenges!

I also had to admit I couldn’t do this on my own.  It’s the reason Al came with me to classes.  I need his support!

It’s the reason I started physical therapy, and, the reason I work with Dan.

In short, making this type of a change takes planning, dedication and commitment. 

There are no shortcuts!

Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise!

Admittedly, there were times when I was in a fair amount of pain as my legs and the rest of me worked to become stronger.

Dan kept me focused while I was exercising through all of that.

Al always loved and encouraged me.

Today, the degree, frequency and intensity are so much less.  It’s FINALLY manageable!

Hallelujah!

Cathy, December, 2013. The last time she wore this dress was about 10 years ago! Hooray, it fits!!!

Cathy, December, 2013. The last time she wore this dress was about 10 years ago! Hooray, it fits!!!

2013 has been a challenging year.  It’s been emotionally and physically demanding.  It’s been a time for me to reflect intensely on how I’ve perceived myself, and to be at peace with many changes that have taken place over time.

It’s also been rewarding…and often fun!  I can now perform some activities that I truly thought I’d never achieve.  I still have a long way to go to reach other milestones but that’s okay.

There will always be new goals to achieve!

Still, at the end of 2013 I have a changed perspective.

It’s a fresh outlook!

Thanks to all for your comments of support throughout this year!

I’m looking forward to achieving more in 2014!

*************************

Bloggers for Peace

To find out more about Bloggers for Peace, click the link!

Here are some related articles:

Monthly Peace Post – Some Inspiring Quotes

November Peace Challenge: Love Thy Enemy

Kozo and Cheri asks that you

 

**********

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2013, B4Peace
14 comments on “2013 – Year of Change
  1. ~meredith says:

    that’s awesome. way to live!
    ~meredith

  2. Oh Cathy! Look at you! Stunning, and of course, healthier! You go, girl! Impressive! Congratulations.

  3. Sheryl says:

    Congratulations on all of your successes in 2013. You look great.

  4. djmrakiey says:

    Beautiful … Happy Holidays !!!

  5. […] As my health improved and my pain decreased I began to have more energy and more confidence. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Enjoying the new-do and color #today . Time for a slight change in #hairstyle and lovin the color! #haircut #haircolor #enjoy #satx #sanantonio #texas #today #vintage #knit #blouse that Mom gave me.  Perfect condition at least 40 years old.  Simple, yet sophisticated.  So glad Mom passed this along to me! #vintageclothing #satx #sanantonio #texas #yummy !! #bananabread right out of the oven!  The house smells #amazing 😃 #today #baking #happyhubby #smile #goodeats #dessert #bread #satx #sanantonio #texas On the road visiting Mom but still making sure I have time to #workout #today focused on #core and #upperbody ...helps me with jet lag,  too! lol #exercise #health #fitness #fitchicks #fitwomen
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 18,009 Views
