Tenderness – Water Dance

When I’m at the gym I’m focused on becoming stronger and healthier.  I must admit I become very self-centered.  It’s “me time.”

On Saturday my usual routine is to head to the gym early in the morning for a session with Dan, trainer extraordinaire.  I’ll be writing more about this in an upcoming post!

Cathy views the world through her rose-colored goggles.

Cathy views the world through her rose-colored goggles.

After working out with Dan I head to the pool to swim for an hour.

Well, every now and then something happens that draws me out of that self-centered time; something that humbles me so completely, leaving me utterly breathless.

At the gym?  Really?

Oh  yes, really.

You see the gym, like any place where you find people of all ages and backgrounds, is a microcosm of everyday life.  Everyone has a story on how and why they’re there and what they hope to achieve.

Welcome to the gym - a whirlwind of activity is always happening there!

Welcome to the gym – a whirlwind of activity is always happening there!

Recently I was on a treadmill, winding down a session with Dan.  I saw a man pushing a woman in  a wheelchair.  I noticed they headed toward the swimming pool, my next stop that morning.

Well, the pool was crowded; there wasn’t a full lane where I could swim so I started with water exercises and treading to warm up.

After a short time I was able to move into my favorite spot, the center lane.

I started my laps.

Swimming...one of Cathy's favorite activities.

Swimming…one of Cathy’s favorite activities.

In the far corner of the pool were the man and the woman I’d seen previously.

I saw he was helping her exercise.  I also saw how tenderly he treated her.

A few times she grimaced. One side of her body didn’t move very well; had she suffered a stroke?

He moved her arms through the water, gently voicing words of encouragement.

“There!  You’re moving better!  Don’t be afraid… I have you…can you move your arm this way?  …remember what the therapist told you?”

For those with mobility concerns a chair lift offers the opportunity to access the pool.

For those with mobility concerns a chair lift offers the opportunity to access the pool.

I was overwhelmed by this man’s expression of love and care for his wife.

At one point they faced each other.  He asked her if she could move her leg.  They bobbed and moved as if they were slowly dancing.

I was privileged to witness this moment of enduring love.

After a time he brought his wife to the pool’s chair lift.  He lowered the lift and gently secured her into the seat.  Once out of the pool, he secured her in her wheelchair, dried her off, and placed a jacket around her shoulders.

When the gentleman finished caring for his wife he took a few minutes to replenish himself by swimming a few laps.

I paused to change my gear from a kickboard and fins to a leg floater.  As I took off my fins I saw her watching her husband.  Her face displayed the most incredible look of love and peace.  In so many ways I felt like an intruder watching this moment where she clearly cherished her husband.

Humbling indeed.

Cathy's swim gear...a leg floater, kick board, goggles and fins...

Cathy’s swim gear…a leg floater, kick board, goggles and fins…

He swam for a short time then exited the pool.  They left a few minutes later.

Cathy's husband, Al.

Cathy’s husband, Al.

I thought of my own husband and how much he loves and cares for me and our daughter.

I’ve often been overwhelmed by his expressions of care.  I considered how Al’s been there for me as I’ve worked my way through my own physical challenges.

I am so blest.

I learned so many lessons that day that it took me a few weeks to write this post.  How would my words ever do justice to what I witnessed?

I’ve thought about this couple as I’ve headed to the pool on other days, hoping she is doing better, and so grateful to have witnessed their powerful expression of love that has endured through sickness and health.

As she logs another lap Cathy once again discovers that the pool is an amazing place...

As she logs another lap Cathy once again discovers that the pool is an amazing place…

********

forpeace6

To find out more about Bloggers for Peace, click the link!

Related Articles:

Keep Calm, Spread Peace

And Then She Said

Kozo and Cheri asks that you

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2013, B4Peace, Personal, Uncategorized
11 comments on “Tenderness – Water Dance
  1. rupacoach says:

    I feel wonderful reading about all the expressions of love in this post!

  2. Justice served. *smiles and chills*
    Be well. Take good care and always feel blessed. 😉 G

  3. Sandy says:

    What a wonderful blessing to both witness, and increase awareness regarding love in it’s many forms. Great blog, thanks for sharing.
    As well, thanks for the pingback!
    Much Love, Sandy

  4. “How would my words ever do justice to what I witnessed?” They DID, Cathy…many times over. Thank you for not only witnessing to this beautiful scene, but allowing us all in to experience the moment. Made my day! Blessings to this wonderful couple….to you and your honey…and all who witness to the gift of true love!

    • Cathy G says:

      HI Isabella! Your words have warmed my heart. It’s amazing that everyday scenes can provide us with such depth…and we so often miss this! Looking forward to more dialogue! God bless. 🙂

  5. Sindhu says:

    Hi Cathy, this is my first time to your blog… and this piece was so lovely. What an expression of true love. It is humbling, to say the least.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello Sindu. I’m very pleased to meet you. 🙂
      Thank-you for stopping by my site and for your lovely comment. It was a humbling experience for me as well.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,413 Views
