Long Day – Glad to be Home

As I mentioned in my last post, our daughter had her tonsils removed this past Tuesday.

As family is not close by I took a few moments to recount the event,  Thank-you, everyone for your kind thoughts, prayers and support!

*************

The day started at 4:30 am.  Al and I groaned as the alarm went off.  We’d packed a few things the night before so we could leave the house quickly.  So glad we planned ahead!

We left the house at 5:00 am.

Our biggest concern for our daughter’s tonsillectomy was that she had no idea what was about to happen.   It gnawed at us.  As she is autistic and non-verbal her lack of understanding is often a concern for us.

She knew something was up when we pulled into the hospital parking lot.  We were there the previous week for a pre-op appointment.

Dressed in her hospital gown, Mija waits, not sure of what to expect.

Dressed in her hospital gown, Mija waits, not sure of what to expect.

She was not a happy camper but she stayed relatively calm.  Still, every time someone came to see us in the pre-op area she said “Bye-bye!”  We said, “No, please sit down.  We’re not leaving yet.”

There is always one thing that soothes her.  She loves to touch the top of Al’s head.  We’re not sure why this works, but it does.  She pulled him over and snuggled against him.

Mija finds consolation by kissing the top of Al's head.

Mija finds consolation by kissing the top of Al’s head.

Al asked if he could be with her when she was anesthetized.

The nurse said, “I can get you a bunny suit.”  This was new!  Al’s been through this before but never had to wear a special get-up!  I laughed and told him he was definitely not the Easter Bunny!

Al the bunny-man waits!

Al the bunny-man waits!

Once the surgery was complete we were off to the recovery room where we waited…and waited…and waited a bit longer…

Al watches and waits as our daughter has just come out of surgery.

Al watches and waits as our daughter has just come out of surgery.

If you saw my last post, you know that I wrote a poem to my daughter as she rested after surgery.  What I didn’t know was that Al took a picture of me as I was composing the poem in my mind.

Cathy composes a poem as she watches and waits.

Cathy composes a poem as she watches and waits.

Later, we settled into her room.  I laughed when I took the picture below because it looked like I was waiting at the airport; instead I was trying to relax and crochet as our Mija rested.  Yes that’s yarn on the left side of my bag!

Cathy tries to get comfortable by stretching her legs.

Cathy tries to get comfortable by stretching her legs.

One of the risks we faced was Mija’s reaction to having an IV.  We advised the staff she’d make every attempt to remove it.  When she was in the hospital a few years ago she woke up unexpectedly in the middle of the night and ripped the IV from her hand.  I was startled awake to see Al and a nurse reacting as blood shot across the room.

This time the IV was quite secure under a red bandage.   She was furious she couldn’t remove it.  She then proceeded to “ask” each person who came into the room, every nurse, every doctor, every technician to remove the IV.  She did this by taking the person’s hand and directing them to the red bandage.  Everyone said, “No, I can’t do that.”  She would give a disgusted look then turn away!

The infamous red bandage and IV were sources of annoyance.

The infamous red bandage and IV were sources of annoyance.

As you can see below the day caught up with us.  As Mija drifted back to sleep Al finally closed his eyes, let go and slept.  No surprise.  I was glad to see the two of them side by side, finally resting.  It made me calm to see them that way.

As Mija recuperates Al finally takes a break and catches a nap.

As Mija recuperates Al finally takes a break and catches a nap.

I was prepared to spend the night at the hospital with Mija.  That said we were happily surprised!  She’d been drinking enough fluids, and was hungry.  After some discussion the doctor decided we could go home!

YES!!!  I happened to be out of the room when this was decided but I can still imagine Al giving a huge sigh of relief.

Her appetite returning, Mija enjoys a snack.

Her appetite returning, Mija enjoys a snack.

It was 105 degrees Fahrenheit outside (41 degrees Celsius) when we walked to the car.  We also hit the highway during the height of traffic.  At 5:00 a.m. it took twenty minutes to get to the hospital.  The way home took more than an hour.  We were exhausted but happy to be heading home.

Even though she had a rough day, and will still be healing over the next couple of weeks, our daughter has once again shown she is resilient and determined.

She gives us a reason to be proud of her every day.

Mija smiles and snuggles.

Mija smiles and snuggles.

Hold your loved ones close to your heart.

Cherish your family every day.

When challenges come, facing them together helps to carry the load.

Red heart

– Cathy

*************

To see the poem Cathy wrote to her daughter, see Standing Watch – She is Resting.

*************

imageTo find out more about Bloggers for Peace, click the link!

Related Articles:

Healing Effects of Self Love

Thank-you Letter to God

Kozo and Cheri asks that you

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2013, Autism, B4Peace, Faith, Family, Personal, Special Needs, Uncategorized
12 comments on “Long Day – Glad to be Home
  1. frizztext says:

    hi Cathy, I admire your strength – and your capability not to lose humor noticing little daily things – like a bunny suit …

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Frizz. I appreciate your kind comment. My little family definitely has its challenges and also its ups and downs. That said we also laugh *a lot.* We find humor in many situations. The bunny suit was a bright spot in our morning! Thanks!

  2. Rosa says:

    glad to see every thing went so well.

  3. Kozo Hattori says:

    I love the photo of Mija touching Al’s head. I get the same comfort when my 3 year old touches my ears. So glad everything went ok, Cathy. Your family is a model for us all–lots of love, resilience, and strength. {{{hugs]}} Kozo

    • Cathy G says:

      Kids often seem to know what brings comfort and calm. 🙂
      Yes, our days are beginning to get back to a somewhat normal schedule…especially in the sleep department!
      We try to take many things one step at a time…strength, resilience, love and laughter, even in the face of something serious…for us these things are often tied together…
      Wow…I may have to go back to that last statement…it may turn out to be an upcoming post!
      Thanks, as always, Kozo, for stopping by and leaving me with a smile! 😀

  4. Is it just me, or so you see yourself in her face in that first pic?
    I’m glad Mija is home and on the mend. She is a trooper for sure, and you are both amazing parents. So much love, all around. 😉 ❤

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Gemma! Yes, there are times when she does look a lot like me! That said she also has a lot of Al’s features, too! 🙂

      She’s had some ups and downs while she’s healing but is definitely on the mend! Thanks so much for all your support!

  5. dorannrule says:

    I love happy endings! Congratulations on handling things so well and for making a difficult event slide by uneventfully.

  6. Beautiful! I am so happy that she has the two of you to smother her in love! tomas ♥

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,413 Views
