Accepting the Challenge

Hi everyone!

Just Cathy, taking a pause from another busy day!

Just Cathy, taking a pause from another busy day!

A few months ago I mentioned I’d be off-line for a while.

Well, I’ve been quite occupied…but I have to say I’ve really missed the writing and the interactions I’ve had with all of you!.

I decided to write a post to share what’s been happening.

I’ve been on a journey of sorts.  One of the things I continue to learn is that the road to peace can involve taking the time you need to care for and strengthen yourself.  Yes, there are struggles, but there are also many rewards!

Thanks, as always for your support.  I look forward to your comments!

– Cathy

**************************

Last December  I wrote about addressing an old injury.  I was working with a physical therapist to strengthen my hips.

I was also enrolled in a program to help prevent diabetes by making lifestyle changes. I was not diabetic, but nearly so. (There are ranges – Normal – Pre-Diabetic – Diabetic.)

Well, in January while at the gym, I ran into Inga, the Sr. Fitness Manager.  I said I was ready to make an appointment with her.

The pool is a favorite hangout!

The pool is a favorite hangout!

She asked how I was feeling. Much better than when we first met a couple of months ago!

Did I work with a physical therapist?  Yes, we were nearly done.  How about my eating?  I can eat less, and better, and be satisfied!  Anything else?

I was still swimming!

She told me about a 12 week fitness challenge.  It was the last day to sign up!

Hey!  If I could make a commitment to this I could continue working on my  hip.  It could help me move forward to be stronger, healthier…it could compliment everything I’d been doing!

Dan takes a moment to demonstrate form.

Dan takes a moment to demonstrate form.

I inhaled, paused, then said I had to do this!  For me, there was so much as stake.

We talked about training.  Inga said, “Other than myself, there are a couple of trainers that I would allow to work with you.”  I was appreciative of her observations.

I asked about her top choice.  The next week I met Dan.

He listened to my story and my concerns.  I showed him the exercises I’d done with the physical therapist.  We talked about my limitations.  My hips had been unstable; I was still in pain, but the exercises were helping to alleviate this.

Over the next 12 weeks Dan encouraged me and challenged me, all the while being aware of my previous injuries.

Fast forward after check-in. Twenty pounds lighter…several inches smaller at the waist, hips and thighs…and…wait for it..three clothing sizes smaller!  …a dramatic drop in hip pain…and recent blood work was very close to normal – tremendous progress!

The stairs aren't so hard to climb anymore!

The stairs aren’t so hard to climb anymore!

Even though the challenge ended, I knew I had to continue.  When I started the challenge I was struggling to walk up stairs.  Now, my husband (my strongest supporter, and also the family cook) looks at me and says it’s refreshing to see me going up stairs with a spring in my step.  …and I love it when I try on new clothes, ask him how he likes it and he says, “WOW!”

So….I decided it was important to take a moment to say thank-you.

Inga – Thank-you for listening to me, encouraging me to get started, and, for referring me to Dan!

Dan – Thank-you for challenging and encouraging me, and, for listening to my concerns.  Thank-you for your sense of humor, and most importantly for  treating me with respect and dignity.  It’s hard to come back from  injuries not only physically but psychologically and emotionally.  This has been a real journey for me and I’m glad you’ve been here to help me.  Working with you has made a difference in my life!

Hey – let’s keep going!  I have more to do!

To find out more about Bloggers for Peace, click the badge!

forpeace6

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2013, B4Peace, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
33 comments on “Accepting the Challenge
  1. Helia says:

    Wow, Cathy! Strength, perserverance and determination run in the Perez Familia. Your older brother Louie, is amazing with that same determination on his diet and exercise. You both have my utmost admiration! Three clothing sizes! Girl, you Rock!!

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Helia! Yes, Louie inspires me as well – a definite example of persistence and perseverance! As I’ve told others, it’s taken a small village to get me here – and I’m really grateful! 🙂

  2. Cathy, I am so impressed! Congratulations on turning your life around and taking control of your health.

  3. Gemma says:

    Cathy, how wonderful for you. You look fabulous and I’m I so very happy that you are feeling better. Keep moving forward. Congratulations.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Gemma! It’s so good to hear from you! Yes, I’m happy to say I’m doing much better – but I know I have to keep going – the work continues! 😀

  4. Kozo Hattori says:

    Wow, Cathy, you look amazing. I expect to read a post about your triathlon in the future. 🙂 Welcome back. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  5. electronicbaglady says:

    Go you! What a great result for you and I’m so glad you feel so good 🙂

  6. Patty B says:

    Cathy you did a great job! It is amazing what a lifestyle change can do for us. WOO HOO – way to go!

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Patty, but I’m not done yet; there’s still more for me to do! 🙂

      • Patty B says:

        And you can do it too – I am rooting for you. It is hard but I have been able to keep my diabetic numbers down and after 2 yrs still only taking 1 medication a day, at first the doctor thought he would have to work me up to taking 4 a day (2 at breakfast and 2 at dinner). So I will be praying for you…as the kids used to say..”You Go Girl”!! 🙂

      • Cathy G says:

        Thanks, Patty! I haven’t been diagnosed with this yet, so I have to do my best to keep this at bay for as long as possible! 🙂

      • Patty B says:

        With your attitude you will do it.

      • Cathy G says:

        I hope so – but it’s something that I will always have to watch, I’ve learned some really good habits, and I have good support, so this will help as well! 🙂

  7. Welcome back, Cathy…it’s so good to hear your voice again. AND CONGRATULATIONS!!! You look marvelous, woman!!! 🙂

  8. Great job, Kathy. And great encouragement. Although I have not been injured, I am beginning to experience hip pain. I believe that it would improve greatly if I lost some weight and exercised. You have inspired me to take action.

    • Cathy G says:

      Susan, I’m touched. 🙂 All of this started with a very candid conversation with my doctor. I made sure that I expressed all my concerns. As you can see it hasn’t always been easy but it’s been worth it! I hope that you’re able to take the steps you need so that you can move forward! Please let me know how you’re doing. Best wishes!

  9. Glenn Z says:

    That’s so great Cathy! Oh, BTW, I added you to the “family launch page.” Thought I’d let you know, so you can know, and also just in case you’d rather not be there so you can let me know. Keep up the great work! 🙂
    http://zucman.com/

  10. Sheryl says:

    Welcome back! . . . and, Congratulations! You look great. I’m impressed with how to stuck with your goals.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Sheryl! One thing that I learned is be sure and have support! Somewhere else in this strings of replies I said it’s taken a small village to get me here! It’s been a real plus – I know that I can continue moving forward! Thanks!

  11. dorannrule says:

    Cathy, you are surely incredible! Congratulations on your phenomenal progress. I am so impressed and hope to hear more from you….. ~Dor

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Dor! You are too kind! It’s been an adventure and I’m fortunate that I’ve had so much support. I do hope to write more about this as I continue forward. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  12. Lori says:

    Keep it up, you will never regret it!

  13. […] I also wrote about working with a trainer to help me safely achieve my health and fitness goals. […]

  14. […] Early in the year I wrote that about making changes in my lifestyle with the goal of improving my personal health. […]

  15. […] Hi everyone!  If you’ve followed my story you know I decided to work with a trainer to help me safely regain my health. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,413 Views
