A Chance Encounter

For the past few weeks my Saturday morning routine has been rising early and heading out to the gym to enjoy a workout with a trainer, and then a swim.

As usual, one recent training session was challenging but also very satisfying.  Afterwards I changed into my swimsuit and headed for the pool.

I wasn’t sure how much I was going to swim since my legs were tired from the workout.  Still, swimming calms and revitalizes me.  I might not complete an hour of laps but I’d still enjoy whatever time I spent in the water.

image

Goggles on, I pushed off the wall, extended my arm overhead and began the backstroke, my breathing in sync with the rhythm of my strokes.

When I was finished I didn’t want to get out of the water.  It was cool, soothing and relaxing.

I looked at the  whirlpool, so inviting.  I hadn’t been in one in ages.  Because of some medical limits I’m not able to immerse myself fully in the heated water.  I decided to sit on the top step.

Ah…the hot water felt wonderful on my legs!

2013-02-23_10-49-34_142

Soon two gentlemen entered.  We exchanged polite greetings and made small talk.  Apparently the two men knew each other from time spent at the gym.

Suddenly one gentleman started talking about hard times and being unemployed.  Then the topic changed.

image

“Lonely.  I just feel so lonely.  My wife said she was moving out…I asked her why…she really didn’t say too much…I asked her if she still loved me…was there anyone else?  She said she needed space.”

  “I really miss her.”

He went on to say that he was staying busy by applying for jobs, and that, he was recently hired to work a night shift.  He said it wasn’t full time but perhaps if he was busy it would take his mind off his troubles, and his loneliness.

I sat there quietly, simply listening, then as I got up to leave I wished him well.

His response was surprising.  He said, “It’s nice people like you who wish me well that help me to keep going.  Sometimes when I start talking people look very uncomfortable and they just walk away.  I appreciate that you listened, and I appreciated your good thoughts.”  I just smiled and said I was glad that he felt it was helpful.

I got out of the pool to get my towel.  I heard his companion say, “I’m going to pray for you.”  …and as I gathered my thoughts and belongings I turned and saw the gentleman, dripping wet, kneeling outside of the pool.  He laid his hand on his friend, and began to pray.

imageIt was a powerful, visible gesture of one individual reaching out to help lift the burden of loneliness from another human being.

It was a chance encounter as I ordinarily head home after a swim.  As I left the gym I looked around and saw people of all ages, shapes and sizes.  People were pumping iron, running or walking on treadmills, stretching gingerly, riding bicycles and using other equipment.

As I looked around at all the activity I considered that each person has their own story.

It was an important reminder not to be judgmental.

I was fortunate that a stranger chose to share his story with me.

I was grateful to listen.

**********

To find out more about Bloggers for Peace, click the badge!

forpeace6

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2013, B4Peace, Musings, Peaceful, Personal, Spirituality, Thoughts, Uncategorized
12 comments on “A Chance Encounter
  1. Colline says:

    Such a moving story. And it shows that we may be helpful to a stranger no matter where we are.

  2. Kozo says:

    A beautiful story, Cathy, about the power of simple acts of kindness. I love how you were dealing with your own issues, yet you still had the time to give your love and attention to someone in need. God definitely has a purpose for you. Thank you for the love and kindness you bring to the world. {{{hugs]}} kozo

    • Cathy G says:

      What a touching comment, Kozo! I will reflect on your statement. Every day gives an opportunity to touch another human being. I can’t say I’m perfect, but every day is also an opportunity to learn! God bless. – Cathy

  3. Gemma says:

    I can’t even imagine you turning away. Thanks for sharing and reminding us all to take the time to listen and show kindness and compassion.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Gemma! That’s so sweet of you…
      I’m just as human as the next person…but I’ve learned that we are all connected in ways we never imagine…more food for thought! Thanks for your comment, and for stopping by! 🙂

  4. fgassette says:

    It often takes the kindness of one person to ignite kindness in others. I am sure your example of kindness encouraged the other man to pray for his friend. God bless you Cathy!

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  5. Helia (Chcikie) says:

    Oh, Cathy! What a powerful encounter. I don’t believe in coincidences. You were at that place at that time for a reason. You reached out and eased the soul of someone who needed it badly. And you also started a little chain that the other gentleman linked on to. I, too, will add him to my prayer list. And your chain just got a little bigger! Helia

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Helia – thank-you so much! Yes, since that day I’ve thought of this gentleman and others who may experiencing similar situations. It really puts things into perspective. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Mona says:

    Powerful story

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,413 Views
