The Late Night Intruder (Revisited)

In celebration of my brother David’s birthday, I’m reposting one of my earliest stories.  It’s a true family favorite that takes place when my brother and I were in college.

*********

Cathy's brother David, 1980'sMy brother and I were in the kitchen burning the midnight oil, studying.  This night was particularly intense.  We weren’t even speaking.  The only audible sounds were rustling pages, and our groans.  At least, those were the only sounds I heard.

“What’s that noise?”

“What are you talking about? I don’t hear any noise.”  I went back to my books.

“That noise!  Don’t you hear it?”

“No David, I don’t.” I also thought, “Now will you please let me get back to this?”

David wasn’t deterred.  He got up, pacing, determined to find the mysterious noise.  I was convinced he needed a break.

He stopped by the center drawer of the pantry, bending over at the waist, listening.  Yeah, David lost it alright.  School must be too much for him.

He looked at me and pointed. “It’s coming from in there!”

Cathy, 1980's“What are you talking about?”

“That noise!  Don’t you hear that noise…that tick tick tick tick?”  He imitated the sound, pinching his thumb and index finger together a few times.

“David, I think you’ve had enough.”

Now on a mission, he pulled out the entire drawer and shook it.  It didn’t take long for the intruder to stir.  A mouse jumped out of the drawer, onto the floor then dashed into the dining room.  David yelled, dropping the drawer. It went crashing to the floor.

“AAAAAAUUGH! A rat!” He ran off and quickly came back with a baseball bat.

The rest of the household was now awake.

Lou (David and Cathy's dad) “What’s going on here?”

“Dad, there’s a rat!”

“What? Where?”

“It jumped out of the kitchen drawer and ran into the dining room!  Look, it’s there under the china cabinet!”

My dad got on his hands and knees.

“That’s not a rat! That’s a mouse!  What are you going to do with that baseball bat?”

“I was going to get it.”

“Not with that! Go get a broom!  He’s probably more upset than you are!”

My dad and brother got on their hands and knees, peering under the china cabinet to corner the mouse.   One swift whack and it was stunned.

“Okay, now what do we do? It’s not dead.”

My dad answered, “Well, why don’t we just put it in the dust pan and toss it over the fence (into the lot) across the street?  It’ll have to take its chances with any cats that come by.  At least it won’t be in here!”

David agreed.  As planned, the stunned mouse went across the street.

David and Cathy's grandmother, Carmen, also known as Abuelita.Unbeknownst to us, my grandmother, Abuelita, was watching the late night antics.  Before shuffling slowly and softly back to her room she looked around and said only one thing.

“I tol’ you we had mice!”

David and I looked at each other and laughed until we almost cried.

It was obvious we weren’t studying any more that night!

Cathy and David, 1990's

Happy birthday, David!

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family, Family history, Personal, Uncategorized
10 comments on “The Late Night Intruder (Revisited)
  1. fgassette says:

    Wonderful story. Happy Birthday, David.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    David must have great hearing. Happy Birthday.

  3. scrapydo says:

    Wonderful story. Thanks for teling it

  4. Gemma says:

    Funny story. Mice! YIKES!
    Today is my husband’s birthday. I’ll be looking for mice 😆
    Happy Birthday, David.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Gemma! Happy birthday to your husband! Amazing how some events just stick with you. It might have been my first experience with a mouse…definitely the funniest! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
#great time #today - company #5krun privileged to #sing the National Anthem at the event.  PR... constantly #amazed to think a few years ago I had difficulty walking up the stairs in my house due to a chronic injury. Hard #work and dedication continue to pay off! #grateful #happy #fitwomen #fitchicks #satx #sanantonio #texas #trainhard #exercise #motivation late day at the office...late day at the #gym time to get it done! #today #fitness #fitgirls  #fitwomen #health #motivation  #exercise #training #goldsgym #satx #sanantonio #texas #crocheting a new mat made of plastic bags #today - part of a #project to make sleeping mats for homeless veterans. Sad that this needs to be done but happy to do my part..and also happy to take the plastic bags out of circulation!  #volunteer #recycle #rrr #diy #handmade #madeit #crochet #satx #sanantonio #texas Our neighbors surprised us with rice and potatoes with mild #curry - Mija really enjoyed it! Background is that over the years she has slowly (very slowly) learned to try new foods...this was a big deal...and we were #happy to see it! #autism #autismawareness #satx #sanantonio #texas #smile
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,212 Views
