The Old Football Injury

Many people find this time of year reflective.  I’m no different.

This week I happen to be off of work, so I’m enjoying some writing time.

That being said, over the past few weeks I haven’t written my typical two posts a week.  As often happens, life sometimes has a way of redirecting us, even if only for a short while.

I’m not immune to that.

Overall, 2012 has been a good year.  One thing that occurred this year was my recent decision to return to an activity that I really missed, namely, swimming.

I love the water!  I’ve never seen myself as a dolphin.   I’m more of a sea turtle; slow and steady but I can go the distance.

I always felt my lack of speed was due to what I call “an old football injury.”  Twenty years ago a car accident left me with a very weak right leg. I was very active at the time (swimming, cycling, aerobics) but the accident took that away from me.

From the viewpoint of a swimmer this means my right leg has very little “kick.”  I can do the breaststroke, backstroke, side stroke, use a kickboard and a leg float.  Crawl stoke is challenging even though I have good form.

So getting back in the pool is one thing that’s happened recently…but wait!  There’s more!image

During this same time, I also had a long conversation with a doctor about the old football injury.  As a result I’ve recently been working with a physical therapist to see what can be done to strengthen my leg.

In the short time I’ve worked with the physical therapist I’ve learned that the reason my leg is weak may go beyond the old football injury.  I may have had issues with my leg that pre-dated this.  What?!?!

I have to be honest. It’s been a bit of an emotional journey for me to process all this.

I was the kid who always said I couldn’t run well, but always felt no one believed me.  I was the kid who struggled to keep up when everyone else ran ahead.  Was this the reason why?

Well, I can’t go back and re-run any of those races;  I can’t go back and explain that my leg is a little bit crooked.  What I can do is keep on working with  the PT, and later I can work with a personal trainer.

I can also be thankful that I have the chance to correct something that I never knew could be corrected.

I’ve been diligent to continue swimming when I can.

Swimming is a very different activity from my other passion, crocheting.

2012-09-09_13-35-16_334

Nevertheless, like crocheting, swimming calms me. The water is refreshing.  There’s a steady rhythm that takes place when your breathing is in sync with your stroke. Very frankly, swimming becomes a contemplative, if not prayerful activity for me.  I feel renewed.

Since I’m trying to balance a few additional activities into my schedule you may not see as many posts from me at the start of 2013.  I know I have a lot more stories to tell about my family.  That will continue.

It’s just like swimming.  I may not go as quickly as I would like but just wait and see.

I’ll go the distance.

1355152559869

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
15 comments on “The Old Football Injury
  1. Gemma says:

    Oh, Cathy. I wish you luck with the PT and hope it’s good for what ails you. I, too am having issues and I can totally empathize. I really do wish you well. And that crocheted piece! I love it. What’s that stitch called and can I get directions for it on line? I am an extreme novice, but would like to give it a go. Luck and prayers. G

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Gemma. Thanks for the good wishes. So far so good with the PT. I figure it’s a start!
      The crochet piece is deceptively easy! Start with a chain 4. then do three double crochets in the first chain. This makes a little shell. Then you chain three again, and put the hook into the SIDE of the last double crochet that you made. This makes another shell. You turn your work depending on how you want the shells to lay… continue the chain three and the three doubles…have fun playing around with it! Thanks again!

  2. Thank you for sharing your story, Cathy. Best of luck.

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    Good luck with your training. I like swimming. I am also a turtle in the pool.

  4. You will do great Cathy! 🙂
    Happy new year to you and your family! 🙂

  5. seapunk2 says:

    I’m happy for you!!

  6. fgassette says:

    Wishing you well and praying for good health.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  7. […] December  I wrote about addressing an old injury.  I was working with a physical therapist to strengthen my […]

  8. […] A number of months ago I wrote that I made a commitment to improve my health. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,413 Views
