December 24th – Remembering the Day We Met

I posted this story one year ago.  As it’s one of my favorite stories I’ll tell it again after making an adjustment for the timeline.

********

It was Christmas Eve, 1977.  I was nineteen.

Earlier in the week I was preparing to play music at Midnight Mass.

Your sister and I had become close friends, having met at the church youth group.  She invited me to Christmas Eve dinner, mentioning your mother made her famous home-made tamales, and, oh, her brother would be there.

“Brother?  Your older brother and his family?  You have another brother?  Really?”

I arrived, guitar in hand.  I wasn’t planning on singing anything, but I definitely didn’t want to leave the guitar in the car.

I rang the doorbell and you answered.  I said hello and introduced myself.  I thought, hey, nice eyes…nice smile…nice looking!

Al, 1976

Al, in 1976, the year before he and Cathy met.

The evening went quickly because I had to get to church early.  Everyone was trying to visit with you since you were on leave from the Air Force.  I know we only spent a few minutes talking.

Your sister asked me if I would sing something.

As much as I’ve sung in public I was always shy about singing in a close-knit setting.  Most people are surprised when I say that but it’s true.  After a little bit of prodding I broke out the guitar.  Knowing your parents spoke Spanish, I decided to sing Silent Night because I could sing it in Spanish and English.

I didn’t realize that my voice was part of what made you take notice of me.

I said my good-byes.  You asked me if you could carry my guitar to the car.  I said sure.

It’s funny how decisions that ordinarily are so minor can make a huge impact on our lives.

Cathy, in the late 1970's

Cathy, in the late 1970’s

Normally I would say no when people asked me if they could help. I was always my own roadie.

It was a short walk to the car.  Once the guitar was in the trunk you said the most memorable line of the evening.

“Aren’t you going to give me a tip?”

I was thinking of making joke,”Here’s a tip.  Take this one from me!” but I couldn’t think of a punch line that quickly.  Instead, I looked at you, smiled, said thank-you and gave you a quick kiss on the cheek.  You smiled at me, wished me a Merry Christmas and we said good-bye.

I knew you were on leave from the Air Force, so I wasn’t sure that I was going to see you again.

Little did I know that we would go out later in the week while you were still on leave.

On that night I certainly didn’t expect to become engaged, break up, get back together, and finally marry you seventeen years later!

We met 35 years ago on Christmas Eve.  I’m glad I said yes to your sister’s invitation as it turned out to be one of the most important nights of my life.

Happy Anniversary, Al.

Love, Cathy

A colorful bouquet with roses in shades of red and pink, with touches of lavender and white.

Cathy’s wedding bouquet.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Christmas, Family, Family history, Personal, Uncategorized
13 comments on “December 24th – Remembering the Day We Met
  1. Gemma says:

    Impact indeed! What a lovely love story. Happy Anniversary and enjoy the holidays. Be safe and have fun. 😀

  2. The best kind of Christmas Eve memory — one that lasts a lifetime. Happy anniversary, Merry Christmas and mazel tov for good measure!

  3. creative pixie says:

    Happy anniversary and happy Christmas.

  4. jakesprinter says:

    Great Christmas topic Cathy, Merry Christmas my friend 🙂

  5. fgassette says:

    Happy anniversary and Merry Christmas. What God has joined together, no man can tear apart. Continued blessings for the both of you.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  6. Northern Narratives says:

    Great story. Merry Christmas 🙂 Judy

  7. What a lovely Christmas story! Happy Anniversary and Merry Christmas to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
#great time #today - company #5krun privileged to #sing the National Anthem at the event.  PR... constantly #amazed to think a few years ago I had difficulty walking up the stairs in my house due to a chronic injury. Hard #work and dedication continue to pay off! #grateful #happy #fitwomen #fitchicks #satx #sanantonio #texas #trainhard #exercise #motivation late day at the office...late day at the #gym time to get it done! #today #fitness #fitgirls  #fitwomen #health #motivation  #exercise #training #goldsgym #satx #sanantonio #texas #crocheting a new mat made of plastic bags #today - part of a #project to make sleeping mats for homeless veterans. Sad that this needs to be done but happy to do my part..and also happy to take the plastic bags out of circulation!  #volunteer #recycle #rrr #diy #handmade #madeit #crochet #satx #sanantonio #texas Our neighbors surprised us with rice and potatoes with mild #curry - Mija really enjoyed it! Background is that over the years she has slowly (very slowly) learned to try new foods...this was a big deal...and we were #happy to see it! #autism #autismawareness #satx #sanantonio #texas #smile
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,212 Views
