When Words are Not Enough – Newtown, CT

I don’t have eloquent words to express the grief that I feel for the loss of life in Newtown, Connecticut.

I think about the number of lives that are lost due to violence every day…and I wonder what it would be like to have a day of peace…

As I sit here considering my own feelings I can only say that I am deeply saddened and humbled. I can only offer prayers for strength, healing and hope to all who are affected by this tragedy.

The magnitude of such a crime must not be diminished.  It is an offense and a desecration.

Life is sacred.

Hold  your loved ones tight. 

Cherish them everyday. 

Do not take time for granted.

Sadly,

The future of which you dreamed may be lost in the blink of an eye.

Lift up one another.

Speak words that edify to all who are around you.

Do not tear each other down.

Sow seeds of peace.

Cultivate love.

Every day.

To my own family,

I never knew the children who were lost or their families.  Still, we are all connected.

When I heard of this tragedy and thought of the children who were lost, a family picture came to mind.  This picture will now have a new meaning for me as it represents a face of innocence.

Those of you who are in this picture are all adults now.  Many of you have you now have your own children whom you love and cherish.

Even though I live far away from you, know that time and distance do not diminish the love that I have for each of you.  Live fully and live well.

God bless you.

Cathy

Nine cousins, all children sit on the stairwell on Christmas Eve.

To my fellow bloggers, please take a moment to leave your thoughts and condolences.

Please also see a lovely post by BiltrixA Prayer, Tears and Embrace.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Faith, Family, Musings, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
29 comments on “When Words are Not Enough – Newtown, CT
  1. We are all saddened even a thousand miles away! Sending my condolences and prayers – from Cam Sur to USA…Best, Jenny

  2. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    When words are not enough, words are all we have.

    I wish you & your family a wonderfully joyous Kwanzaa, Christmas & Hanukkah & a healthy, happy & prosperous New Year.

  3. fgassette says:

    My prayers are with the family and community of Newtown CT. May God comfort and strengthen them during this tragic time.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  4. Biltrix says:

    Peace and God’s blessings to every one. Thank you for remembering the innocent victims and their families in your prayers.

  5. seapunk2 says:

    Peace is a state of mind. Only those who can understand and envelope the concept or feeling of peace, will feel peace-ful. And being peaceful within, transfers to those who are willing to accept it.
    Sadly, the world contains many people who are incapable or have not evolved to understand the big picture. Neanderthals.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello seapunk2. Yes, peace is a state of mind. A way of life that promotes peace can be taught by word and example; it can also be nurtured. A sad time, indeed, but I hope that it’s clear from the world’s response that those who are grieving have much support. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Helia (Chcikie) says:

    Cathy, Your words are comforting and eloquent. I continue to pray for all those concerned. Frankly, I think the whole world is concerned in this case. May God bless and heal us all.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Helia. I think that’s true. Response and support is being sent from all corners of the globe…I hope people will continue to provide their support for years to come. The effects of this trauma are unimaginable. Thanks so much for your comment and for stopping by. God bless.

  7. Gemma says:

    Cathy, no words, indeed. What can you say that hasn’t already been said. Too much grief. Too much devastation.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello Gemma. We can only express what we feel…which shows how we are all more alike than we are different…sad lessons to learn in this way. Thanks for your comment.

  8. bonjovax says:

    Its sad that some of the victims wouldn’t spend their Christmas. 😦

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello bonjovax. So true. I suspect it will be a sad Christmas and New Year for many.I hope many people will receive comfort. Thank-you for your comment, and for stopping by my site.

  9. frizztext says:

    thank you for this post!

  10. Thank you Cathy for sharing your generous thoughts and hopes. I watched this morning while updating the post the images of the victims and their families. When I saw the Emily’s smile and knowing what happened to her, I cried. A cry that I can’t hold back. As a parent, I can not imagine what her parents are going through. My thoughts and prayers to the victims and their families. God bless you my friend. Merry Christmas.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello Island Traveler. Thank-you for sharing your thoughts during this tragedy. What the family members and community of Newtown are experiencing is unimaginable. It will be important to support in the long term as well as the short term. God bless. Have a Merry and Peaceful Christmas.

  11. Thank you Cathy for sharing your generous thoughts and hopes. I watched this morning while updating the post the images of the victims and their families. When I saw the Emily’s smile and knowing what happened to her, I cried. A cry that I can’t hold back. As a parent, I can not imagine what her parents are going through. My thoughts and prayers to the victims and their families. God bless you my friend. Merry Christmas.

  12. Iñigo says:

    My prayers to the victims and their families.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello, Iñigo. I’m sure that prayers are appreciated during such a difficult time. Thank-you for your comment. I hope you and your family have a safe and Merry Christmas.

  13. Sheryl says:

    Thank you for expressing the sentiments so well. It is so sad what happened in Connecticut.

  14. Well said, Cathy. We are still in shock. Such a senseless heartbreaking tragedy.

    • Cathy G says:

      Yes, Naomi, that’s so true, so sad and senseless. It’s understandable that so many are still in shock. Healing will take some time. I hope that all who are affected will receive the support they need not only now but in the future. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Enjoying the new-do and color #today . Time for a slight change in #hairstyle and lovin the color! #haircut #haircolor #enjoy #satx #sanantonio #texas #today #vintage #knit #blouse that Mom gave me.  Perfect condition at least 40 years old.  Simple, yet sophisticated.  So glad Mom passed this along to me! #vintageclothing #satx #sanantonio #texas #yummy !! #bananabread right out of the oven!  The house smells #amazing 😃 #today #baking #happyhubby #smile #goodeats #dessert #bread #satx #sanantonio #texas On the road visiting Mom but still making sure I have time to #workout #today focused on #core and #upperbody ...helps me with jet lag,  too! lol #exercise #health #fitness #fitchicks #fitwomen
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,999 Views
