“Let’s Remember 12/10/49”

In times before social media, how did we capture significant moments?

We would tell stories, passing them down for all to remember.

Sometimes the stories become embellished blurring the lines between what we imagine and what really happened.

This was “back in the day.”  There was no instant way to take a picture or send a message.  A friend was someone with whom you socialized, not a verb signifying a social media action.

Back in the day, dressing up to go out meant a young lady wore an elegant dress, and a young man wore a suit and tie.

Music was typically performed by a big band or orchestra.  Dancing could take place in a ballroom.

One such ballroom was the Hollywood Palladium.

Cover for souvenir photo from the Hollywood Palladium.  The raspberry colored cover depicts a man and woman in formal attire as they slowly dance.  The cover also has a white art-deco outline of the Hollywood Palladium.  The caption states "Souvenir Photo of a marvelous evening."

Cover for souvenir photo from the Hollywood Palladium featuring “America’s finest orchestras.”

When I was scanning family photos I came across a piece of memorabilia that I had seen before but hadn’t really studied.

It was a photo inside a paper frame.  The cover showed it was taken at the Palladium.

The date was December 10, 1949; sixty-three years ago today.

There are four couples in the black and white photo.

My parents, Mary and Louie, are in the bottom right corner.

Behind my parents is my mom’s friend, Rae, and her future husband, Lupe.  Next to my mom is another close friend, Lucille.

Eight young people celebrate an evening of music and dance at the Hollywood Palladium on December 10,  1949.

Four couples celebrate an evening of music and dance at the Hollywood Palladium. Although not all of the names are known, Cathy’s parents, Mary and Louie, can be seen in the bottom right corner. Next to Mary is her friend, Lucille. Standing in the back row behind Mary and Louie are friends, Rae and Lupe, who will also marry.

Most people may look at the photo and  see eight young people having a great evening.

That’s true!  But for my family this was an event that was significant.

My parents met at a church youth group.  It’s where they first came to know each other.

Well, my mom looked at this picture, smiled, and told me this was the first time my father had asked her to go out dancing!  I was looking at a picture of my parents’ first serious date!

I can imagine my mom asking her girlfriends what they were going to wear.

I can see my dad looking in the mirror, straightening out his tie, combing his hair just so.

They loved the sounds of big band music.  They would have danced the swing.

Back cover of the Hollywood Palladium souvenir photo.  In 1949 you could obtain a reprint by requesting it in writing.  You would reference the photo number and the date.  The cost was $1.25.

Back cover of the Hollywood Palladium souvenir photo. In 1949 you could obtain a reprint by making a written request. You would reference the photo number and the date. The cost was $1.25.

There are a couple of other items that are interesting.  The cost of a reprint  in 1949 was $1.25.   To obtain another copy you would  write to the Palladium and ask for a copy!  It’s another indication of changes over time.

There was one side of the photo that I didn’t print  here.

The photo was my mom’s.  Most of the people who are in the photo autographed the inside cover, writing a sentiment to my mom.

There were some precious words from my dad.

Mary,

It was simply wonderful dancing with you all night and it would be a lot of fun doing it again.  Let’s remember 12/10/49.

Louie

Sixty-three years have passed.  It was very evident from my mom’s reaction to this photo that they haven’t forgotten that evening.

Mary and Louie enjoy a night to remember on December 10, 1949.

Mary and Louie enjoy a night to remember on December 10, 1949 at the Hollywood Palladium.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family, Family history, Personal, Uncategorized
22 comments on ““Let’s Remember 12/10/49”
  1. It looks like a beautiful evening and it was a beautiful story. Thanks for sharing it, Cathy.

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    Truly a romantic evening.

  3. gingerbreadcafe says:

    What a great story, I like to collect tickets of events I have been to as a momentum, especially if it’s somewhere you can’t take pictures.

  4. Yes, I agree truly a romantic evening!

  5. Mom says:

    Fab post! I wonder what scraps our future family historians will have of us. I think I need to start printing out my blog posts at the very least. And maybe I should pin a label to my pressed coursage from 8th grade dance 🙂

    • Cathy G says:

      Pleased to meet you “Mom!” Yes, I’d also like to start printing my blogs. Funny…I have a collection of pins and other things from grade school…I wonder how many stories I could write from that! Thanks for stopping by my site! 🙂

  6. This is wonderful, Cathy…as always! My Mama and Tato have photos like this. Money was scarce, but everyone looked so elegant. If I have one regret growing up when I did, it was the horrid clothes of the 70’s and 80’s. No formal wear for us. Now, my daughters wear lovely, elegant gowns for graduations and weddings. It seems like elegance skipped a generation. Sigh….I suppose this middle-aged gal is still wanting to play dress-up! 😉

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Isabella! I understand about the time period! I have some clothes and accessories from my mom that are really in good shape. They are lovely pieces and the craftsmanship are amazing! When I look at the photo in the blog I love the women’t dresses, but the suits and ties are also very sharp! They definitely dressed for the occasion! Thanks!

  7. A beautiful story that will inspire us all always.

  8. Iñigo says:

    What a feel-good story 🙂

  9. Hi Cathy,
    This is a great post. I can sure see your resemblance to your mom!

  10. dorannrule says:

    What a wonderful romantic love story. I love reliving the past with “props” like you found – evidence of the way things were. Thanks so much for sharing this Cathy. 🙂

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Dor! Romantic stories are fun. I think it’s helped my family to see a side of my parents that they hadn’t always considered. It was also a fun look to the past – definitely a different era! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Hadn't been #swimming in quite some time but I headed to the #water #today  as part of #training by #pt @dan_frick  Worked out some kinks..lol ...but also recognized gains...felt great to be back in the water! 😃 #fitness #exercise #health #fitchick #fitwomen #swim #satx #sanantonio #texas #life lessons from my #little  Who likes wasps? Well there was one my #chile #plant #today ...you see, they pollinate my #plants ! Later when I put away the hose a wasp was buzzing around me. It landed on a blade of grass and drank a water droplet.  It was just thirsty.  We've learned to coexist because we both appreciate my garden! 😃 #lifelessons #satx #sanantonio #texas #insect #insect #bug #chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,586 Views
