A Thank-you to Veterans

Today is a day set a side to honor our veterans.

On this Veterans Day please pause for a moment to remember those who have sacrificed so much for our country and for us.

My father and his brothers served in World War II and the Korean Conflict.

Uncle Lupe, US Army Air Force, WWII

My Uncle Lupe served in the US Army Air Force in World War II

Louie 1954 Germany during the Korean Conflict (Dad)

My Dad was stationed in Germany during the Korean Conflict.

Uncle Abe during the Korean Conflict

My Uncle Abe served in the Army during the Korean Conflict.

Uncle Chito (Joe) during the Korean Conflict

My Uncle Chito (Joe) served in the Army during the Korean Conflict

To all my family members who have served our country, thank-you.

***

To my husband, Al,

Thank-you for your eighteen years of service and dedication.

I’m very proud to tell others that my husband served our country.

***

To all who are in the service of our nation,

Thank-you for all that you do to serve and protect this country.

***

As a small token of thanks please accept my humble version of one of my favorite patriotic songs.

God bless you.

– Cathy

Just a girl with her guitar playing America the Beautiful.
About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Music, Uncategorized
19 comments on “A Thank-you to Veterans
  1. scrapydo says:

    Beautiful! Thanks for sharing

  2. Gemma says:

    God bless America. 🙂 and thanks, Cathy.

  3. fgassette says:

    I am so glad you sang and played for us again. A very fitting tribute. Beautifully played and sung. Thank you for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  4. dorannrule says:

    A lovely tribute Cathy! And you sing so beautifully. Thank you!

  5. The Smile Scavenger says:

    🙂 beautiful. Keep doing this!

  6. As a Veteran I thank you for the remembrance. Also, THANKS for visiting my “pun-ny” photoblog and leaving a “like.” I can’t help hearing plants, animals, and objects “talk.”
    –John R.: http://TheDailyGraff.com

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello John. It’s my absolute pleasure to give that tribute. The thanks are to you and all who have served! Love your site and am always glad to stop by!

      • No fair! A stealth visit! I’d be embarrassed that “Cathy G” didn’t alert me, except that you’ve changed your Gravatar! Just visited some of your latest projects. You do beautiful work.

      • Cathy G says:

        Hi John! Yeah, I just did this recently. Debated for quite a while about it, too! Thanks for stopping by – I’m glad you enjoyed my projects! 🙂

  7. Biltrix says:

    Dear good friend, I just wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the coveted Food For Thought Award. Please, check out the post for details. God bless!

  8. Wonderful post, Cathy. Those photos are a treasure.

  9. Thank you to your dad, your uncles and all the heroes who everyday offer their lives so others can have theirs. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    • Cathy G says:

      Thank-you, island traveler. There are so many who still sacrifice today. I wish them all the best.
      May you and your family have a merry and blessed Christmas.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Hadn't been #swimming in quite some time but I headed to the #water #today  as part of #training by #pt @dan_frick  Worked out some kinks..lol ...but also recognized gains...felt great to be back in the water! 😃 #fitness #exercise #health #fitchick #fitwomen #swim #satx #sanantonio #texas #life lessons from my #little  Who likes wasps? Well there was one my #chile #plant #today ...you see, they pollinate my #plants ! Later when I put away the hose a wasp was buzzing around me. It landed on a blade of grass and drank a water droplet.  It was just thirsty.  We've learned to coexist because we both appreciate my garden! 😃 #lifelessons #satx #sanantonio #texas #insect #insect #bug #chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,586 Views
