Celebration!!!

Island Traveler has done it again!  He has provided the excellent theme of CELEBRATION! for the Weekly Image of Life.

While trolling through family photos I came across some fantastic shots taken by my sister Alicia and her family.

To set the scene, my family celebrated my mom’s birthday…dare I say in this particular celebration she was closing out her 8th decade?

Here she is with my dad on her special day.  She had a cake complete with a candle in the middle!

Happy Birthday, Mom!

The festivities included swings at the traditional piñata!!

Mom zeroes in on the piñata!

Mom showed excellent form!

Mom readies her swing - look out  piñata!

The birthday girl always goes first!

Go mom!

The piñata provided fun for all ages!

Note how the piñata was tugged away by someone behind the scenes…

my brother-in-law, Vic!

The piñata swings!Alicia gets ready but Vic jerks the piñata away!

Vic pulls the piñata away!

Until finally…

Bob takes a swing!

The piñata met its match!

It was no surprise that my nephew, Bob was the one to send the pieces flying!

Bob takes care of the piñata!

The guests were dressed….

Alfred stands guard on the festivities!The ladies of the court!

…in all their finery to commemorate this special day!

Mom and Aunt Sheila are decked out in all their finery!Ladies of the kingdom celebrate!

Family, fun and zest for life – a true celebration!

No need to ask for more!

Mom looking fabulous as the birthday girl!

To view additional Celebration posts see:

Celebrating 59 years – Congratulations Mom and Dad!

Splendid – Our Newest Branch!

Hey EVERYBODY!!! Do the Happy Dance! I’m Celebrating My One Year Blogiversary and 100th Post!!!

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family, Personal, Uncategorized
18 comments on “Celebration!!!
  1. What fun, Cathy. And perfect for the theme.

  2. scrapydo says:

    Lovely celebration! 🙂

  3. fgassette says:

    What a wonderful and fun celebration.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  4. Gemma says:

    Mom looks great – and ver happy. Super celebration post.

  5. What fun! Thanks so much for sharing the joy!

  6. Looking at your family made me miss mine. Your mom’s smile is a pure expression of love and joy that only comes from a heart that knows she is well loved, appreciated and yes, celebrated. Her smile reminded me of my mom’s smile whenever all her children are there, celebrating her special day. I agree, “Family, fun and zest for life – a true celebration!

    No need to ask for more!” These are our true treasures in life. As for the Pinata, it is something we also do in the Philippines. Sometimes when we can’t afford it, we’ll improvise and make one from colored paper or even news paper. God bless you and your wonderful family always.

  7. Happy Birthday to your mom and congratulations to her and your dad for 59 years of generous love to each other.

  8. […] Cathy of  https://cpgutierrez.wordpress.com/2012/10/29/celebration/ […]

  9. wow you guys look like you had a lot of fun 🙂

  10. Awwwwwwwwwww she is so beautiful and looks so happy!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Many wishes for your mom Cathy!!!!!!! She is gorgeous! 😀

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Enjoying the new-do and color #today . Time for a slight change in #hairstyle and lovin the color! #haircut #haircolor #enjoy #satx #sanantonio #texas #today #vintage #knit #blouse that Mom gave me.  Perfect condition at least 40 years old.  Simple, yet sophisticated.  So glad Mom passed this along to me! #vintageclothing #satx #sanantonio #texas #yummy !! #bananabread right out of the oven!  The house smells #amazing 😃 #today #baking #happyhubby #smile #goodeats #dessert #bread #satx #sanantonio #texas On the road visiting Mom but still making sure I have time to #workout #today focused on #core and #upperbody ...helps me with jet lag,  too! lol #exercise #health #fitness #fitchicks #fitwomen
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 18,009 Views
