Silhouette

The  Weekly Photo Challenge is Silhouette.

The family photo gallery offers a very unique offering.

What I’m about to share is one of the most important images that exists in the gallery!

In my post, The Treasure Chest I shared that my mother possesses two tin photo plates.

One of the plates showed the image of my great-grand father, Arcadio Lopez.

The other plate has surprising images!

After the tin was scanned, and the photo was lightened, there are visible silhouettes of a woman and child.

The tin is not in good condition, but I decided to see what would happen if a “negative” effect was used to edit the image.

Tin photo plate circa 1895, Antonio Lopez and grandmother.

As a negative image, the silhouettes reveal my grandfather, Antonio, as a toddler.

He is standing next to his grandmother, my great-great grandmother!

It is another rare photograph in my family.

Her name is not known.  This is the only image that we have of her.

Based on my grandfather’s age in the photo, we can determine that the photo was taken around 1895.

Antonio Lopez and Grandmother, negative image from tin photo plate, circa 1895.

Even though the picture is of poor quality, there is one thing that is certain.

My grandfather’s silhouette shows a strong resemblance to my brother Raul at that same age!

My mother and I were astonished to see this!

Antonio and his grandson Raul

There are a few other instances of family resemblances across the generations.

This instance was particularly striking because we’d never been able to compare the photos.

We’re fortunate to have images of them at the same age!

When I finished scanning the tin plate and began to play with the image, my mother was looking over my shoulder.

I can’t really capture the words to describe the surprise we both experienced.

I enjoyed being able to share the moment of discovery with her.

*************

So friends, there are more treasures to come!

Stay tuned as I continue to make my way bit by bit through the photos and other items from my mother’s treasure chest!

***************

To view another post featuring my brother Raul, see Ready.

To view more posts featuring my grandfather, Antonio see Simple and Memories of Antonio.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family, Family history, Musings, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
29 comments on “Silhouette
  1. seekraz says:

    Very nice, Cathy…and what a treasure. 🙂

  2. Wow, Cathy….so cool! Your love of family and passion for its history continues to shine through your posts. What a gift for your whole family. (I had to google tin photo plates to find out what they are. So, I also learned something new today. Thank you!) 🙂

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Isabella! I didn’t even think to put a link for that! After I read your comment I also ran a search. I may go back a bit later today and add a link for “tintypes.”

      This experience has made me think not only about my family but the places where they lived, and so much more. It’s difficult to put it into words…suffice to say that I was on information overload when I finished my trip. The beautiful thing about blogging is that I now have a way to express what I’ve learned…and I can share it with others!

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

  3. seapunk2 says:

    I’m stunned. What a wonderful treasure. These are the things I look for, to stitch together a bit of ancestry. I have found very little to nothing. Perhaps my folks on all sides were just too poor to have a photograph taken. I actively seek photographs and have found photos of other families, which I have turned over to the families who they properly belong to.
    The photos are fantastic. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi seapunk2! Your comment is very astute. We take for granted that people can take pictures today with smart phones at any time, then share them immediately.

      This is the only photo that my family has of my grandfather as a child. After that the next photo was taken when he was in his late teens or early twenties. There are a few other rarities that I’ll share in the coming weeks.

      I also appreciate that you have turned over photos to families. I have no doubt that people are appreciative. What a service!
      Thanks so much for stopping by!

      • seapunk2 says:

        My pleasure.
        As to the photos that I gave to the family – it was more than that, actually, a large body of documents, including a will, letters, business information and advertising related to the family business, and a copy of what is ordinarily (or used to be) family history of births, deaths and marriages tucked into family bibles.
        There was no way that I could disregard this. If this happened to me, I’d cry a thousand tears of joy.
        Looking forward to more of your posts.
        Peace.

      • Cathy G says:

        Wow – impressive…I can only imagine the response of a grateful family! Best wishes on your searches. I look forward to reading more from you as well! 🙂

  4. Helia (Chickie) says:

    Oh my gosh, Cathy. Raul does look just you’re grandfather! I also saw a picture of Annie (as a child) in a prior blog and I was struck by how much Elisabeth looks like her. Love seeing the pictures and I so remember ‘guelita. So patient and sweetness itself. Love your mom and dad so much, too! Helia

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Helia!! Yeah, the comparisons are rather stunning! It’s good to reminisce about our loved ones. I’m glad my parents are able to pass along these stories. There’s so much to learn from them! I really appreciate that you stopped by – Thanks so much!

  5. Chillbrook says:

    Family is so important. My mother is compiling our family tree and like you, she has found many resemblences through the generations. Nice post.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi chillbrook! We’ve had some obvious resemblances, then we have some surprises! It will be interesting for us to continue this discover for upcoming generations. Thanks for stopping by my site! 🙂

  6. adinparadise says:

    This must be so exciting for you and your family, Cathy. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  7. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, that is so cool and very interesting.

  8. gingerbreadcafe says:

    What a great keepsake, a personal link to the past.

  9. Biltrix says:

    Good morning Cathy!

    I hope this is an OK place to make an announcement:

    Biltrix has tagged Comments from Cathy for the Blogathon Award. If you wish to partake, please check out our post for details. God bless!

  10. This is so cool! Thanks for sharing the picture and the story. Wonderful. And thanks for stopping by and “liking” my blog. See you again!

  11. ElizOF says:

    This is unusual … and I love it. 😉

  12. What an amazing, priceless discovery. It is always exciting to discover our family history through the old photos and to share them to the new generation. The resemblance of your brother and grandfather is truly “wow!” Thanks….

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi island traveler! The few days I was scanning photos were filled with discoveries! I’ll be sharing more discoveries in the coming weeks, so stay tuned! 🙂
      It was a WOW moment to see my brother alongside my grandfather. I’m glad I was able to show them side by side. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
#chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy In my #garden #today #pepper clockwise from top left - #jalapeño, poblano, Anaheim, and coolapeño ( a jalapeño hybrid) 😄 #peppers #plants #green #satx #sanantonio #texas #happy #peaceful #eat #healthyfood My #little #garden is growing! #today I arranged all the cinder blocks and then the #plants ...the #chilepeppers and #tomatillo are blossoming! My #daughter helped  by watering. last #picture is #yourstruly #beforeandafter #gardening lol  #satx #sanantonio #texas  #jalapeños #peppers #happy #peaceful
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,577 Views
