Sheila’s Scarf

Glenn Sheila Etc My lovely Aunt Sheila sent me a box of yarn! 

How great is that!?!

I decided to say thank-you by making her a scarf!

The yarn I chose is from my own stash; I’ve been experimenting recently with different weights and colors.

My aunt is such a vibrant lady.  I decided a light-weight yarn with variegated colors in purple, peach and white would suit her very well.

The climate where she lives is not too extreme; the weight of the yarn should do nicely in fall and in spring.

2012-08-12_12-22-27_164

When I was done I thought the contrasts in the color were interesting.  The ends have the same stitch pattern, but the color scheme looks different because of the variation in the yarn!

2012-08-12_12-22-33_756_thumb 

In addition, the stitch pattern presents varying textures.2012-08-12_12-22-52_363_thumb

It was fun to make and didn’t take very long. 

The finished scarf is 5 1/2 inches wide and more than seven feet long.

My Aunt will be able to tie it in a variety of ways!

2012-08-12_15-43-51_98[1]

People have asked me where I find the time to do this. 

There are plenty of moments when I catch some time to crochet! 

For instance, guess what I was doing a few weeks ago when I was watching the Olympics…you got it! 

  2012-08-12_15-40-07_176[1] 

My Aunt Sheila is very precious to me.

When I opened the box of yarn I thought it was very sweet of her to think of me.

I know the scarf is just a small thank-you.

I hope she enjoys it!

In a later post I’ll share an item using the yarn she sent. 

In the meantime to find out more about how this scarf is constructed, see my crochet blog!

For a post featuring Aunt Sheila see Two Subjects, Two Sisters.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Crochet, Family, Personal, Uncategorized
18 comments on “Sheila’s Scarf
  1. Hi Cathy, the scarf is beautiful. I think it’s very clever the way you use the door knocker to display the scarf as it would look when worn.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Naomi! It was a challenge to photograph as the scarf is light-colored. I had a lot fun once I settled on the door handle against the dark background. Thanks!

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    Guess what I was doing when I watched the Olympics. I am sure your Aunt will love the scarf.

  3. Gemma says:

    The scarf looks soft and so pretty. I like that it appears long. I love to really have something to wrap around me. Love it.

  4. scrapydo says:

    This is so sweet of you, to make a delicate scarf like this for your favorite aunt. It is beautiful.

  5. I be she loves it – perfect for a not too cold climate, and the colours are lovely. Great job! =D

  6. Sorry, that should have read – ‘I BET she loves it’ … <=)

  7. Very nice work. What type of yarn did you use? I am going back to doing crochet and am even learning to knit…the yarn looks nice and soft.

  8. Iñigo says:

    nice one! aunt sjeila is so thoughtful 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,416 Views
