Weekly Image of Life: A Lifetime of Memories

Island Traveler, who writes This Man’s Journey, has given us another great theme – The Weekly Image of Life:  A Lifetime of Memories.

This topic has left me thoughtful.

A flood of memories returned to me…

…thoughts of gatherings filled with laughter…children running and playing…aromas of cookies, tamales, salsa  and chili beans…shredded gift wrap and ribbon…visiting my cousins…my grandfather’s piano playing…my grandmother’s narcissus flowers…too many memories to recount.

When I went to the family photo gallery I saw a picture that is very precious to me. It’s a picture of my father, his siblings and his parents…a one of a kind picture.

The photo was taken at my aunt’s house during the 1970’s.  I decided not to crop the photo because of the ledge at the top where my aunt and uncle displayed their own family photos.

La Familia Perez 4

Featured in this photo from left to right are:

Aunt Esther

Esther Saticoy   Aunt_Esther

Aunt Sheila

Sheila 1936  Sheila Bride 2

Grandma Josie

Mom First Comm  1  Josie Mary Jose

Grandpa Jose

Don Jose 6 16 1918   Dad  1935

Uncle Lupe

unlce_Lupe    Lupe WWll

Dad (Lou)

Louie Football  Louie 1954 Germany

Uncle Abe

Abe Saticoy  a be2

Uncle Chito (Joe)

Chito 1943  Chito 5

Of all who are pictured, only my father and Aunt Sheila remain.

All the other have passed.

Still, this post has given me an opportunity to pause and remember them, to pause and think about all they’ve meant to me.

The memories of eight lifetimes are heartfelt.

The memories of eight lifetimes are enduring.

I’m grateful that I was able to take the time to remember them.

As I sit here and smile I know they are all still with me.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family history, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
25 comments on “Weekly Image of Life: A Lifetime of Memories
  1. scrapydo says:

    Beautiful! You are so creative to put it together like this.

  2. fgassette says:

    Your photos are wonderful and they are so important because they help you to bring back memories of times spent together with your family. Thank you for sharing them with us.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. Gemma says:

    Really nicely done. 🙂

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    Such a nice post 🙂

  5. Yes, my friend, their memories and their presence remains alive in your heart. Looking through the photos, I am too reminded by the family I shared my life with who are no longer in this lifetime but I still remember they way they smiled, laugh, the warmth of their hug, the stories they tell. I felt a mixture of joy and sadness. Joy that they will always be with me in thoughts and prayers and sadness knowing I will never physically see and touch them. Thanks for Cathy for sharing these, “The memories of eight lifetimes are heartfelt.

    The memories of eight lifetimes are enduring.

    I’m grateful that I was able to take the time to remember them.

    As I sit here and smile I know they are all still with me.” Beautiful post.

  6. Lovely tribute to those you hold in your heart. My mother had an old German saying that went something like this ~ when we remember our loved ones they never die and will live on in our hearts….I have it written down somewhere, just can’t find it. But this is basically the idea….Blessings – Patty

  7. billgncs says:

    thank you for sharing that

  8. dorannrule says:

    Cathy, this is a priceless collection! I love the Before & After shots too and the fabulous shot of the group under the ledge. Be sure to print this post out and save it in hard copy for those who come later and want to know more about the family! And thank you so much for sharing. Luv, Dor

    • Cathy G says:

      Thank-you, Dor! What a lovely comment…and great suggestion! I’m happy to say that these posts have occasionally generated discussions as family members want to find out more! Thanks, as always, for stopping by my site! 🙂

  9. gingerbreadcafe says:

    I think that was a good choice to not crop the photo, it really adds to the family feel.

  10. Sheryl says:

    Wondferul post! I really like the way you paired the photos.

  11. Wow, Aunt Sheila looks just like Geena Davis! Gorgeous!

  12. This is a wonderful post, Cathy. I love the way you put it all together.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Hadn't been #swimming in quite some time but I headed to the #water #today  as part of #training by #pt @dan_frick  Worked out some kinks..lol ...but also recognized gains...felt great to be back in the water! 😃 #fitness #exercise #health #fitchick #fitwomen #swim #satx #sanantonio #texas #life lessons from my #little  Who likes wasps? Well there was one my #chile #plant #today ...you see, they pollinate my #plants ! Later when I put away the hose a wasp was buzzing around me. It landed on a blade of grass and drank a water droplet.  It was just thirsty.  We've learned to coexist because we both appreciate my garden! 😃 #lifelessons #satx #sanantonio #texas #insect #insect #bug #chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,586 Views
