What a Great Week – and Giving Out Awards!

Okay, one doesn’t have to associate awards with a great week.  That being said I decided to incorporate this week’s happenings into this award post. Just wait – you’ll see!

It’s always a surprise to be notified of an award nomination. I am gratified and humbled to know that my words have an impact.   I’m also happy to accept awards because it means I also get to pass it forward!

There are rules to awards including thanking the blogger who nominated you, providing links to their sites and sharing seven things about yourself.  You then nominate 7 other bloggers, and notify them of the nomination!

You also get to post the award badge to your site!

I have to admit I’ve fallen behind in keeping up with these, so I’m doing my best to get caught up!

So…here we go!

One Lovely Blog Award

Crazy Train to Tinky Town nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award.   If you haven’t seen her blog please check it out!!  You are in for a treat!  She writes about the “Adventures of a single woman living in Altinkum, Turkey.”

One_lovely_blog_award

Versatile Blogger Award

Trudi, who writes Gingerbreadcafe nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award.  She saw that I already received it, but wanted to say thank-you for her appreciation of my blog.  How thoughtful!  Trudi makes lovely crafts.  She also loves to travel and cook.  Definitely a versatile blogger.  Go check her site!!

versatile2        versatile

I mentioned that I’m supposed to share seven things about myself.  I’ve decided to share seven things that happened to me this week!

1.  I traveled from San Antonio, Texas to Des Moines, Iowa for a business trip.  There was a layover in Dallas.

2.  During the leg from San Antonio to Des Moines I started crocheting.  After beverages were served the flight attendant asked me what I was making. That will be the topic for another post!  She then showed me what she just finished – a slouch hat!  She also gave me the pattern for the hat!  How nice!

3.  During the leg from Dallas to Des Moines another flight attendant asked what I was making!  She proceeded to tell me about a couple of items that she crocheted.  She also drew me a small pattern on an airline napkin!

4.  The car rental company in Des Moines ran out of certain vehicles.  The agent asked asked if I would like to drive an Orange Camaro!  Really?!?  For the same price as the car I requested?  Okay, I’ll take it!  Talk about a smooth ride!  I had a blast!

Camero1

5.  When I ran a quick errand I found a penny next to the Camaro.  It was my lucky day!  To those who may not be familiar with the reference, there is a saying, “See a penny, pick it up, all the day you’ll have good luck!”

6.  I had a great business trip.  ‘Nough said!

7.  During the the return, a flight attendant once again stopped by to ask what I was crocheting!  She mentioned that she sometimes couldn’t get the edge straight when crocheting.  I proceeded to show her how to do that!

Now for the nominations…this is really tough as there are so many great blogs!

I decided to nominate the following seven bloggers for both of these awards.

dorannrulehttp://countryliving4beginners.wordpress.com

island travelerhttp://thismansjourney.net/

Monahttp://monahoward.wordpress.com

Gina’s Professions for PEACEhttp://professionsforpeace.wordpress.com

Subhan Zeinhttp://subhanzein.wordpress.com

stitchedupmamahttp://stitchedupmama.wordpress.com

Scott’s Place …Images and Wordshttp://seekraz.wordpress.com

Please be sure to visit their sites!!!

 …and thanks again to Crazy Train to Tinky Town and  Gingerbreadcafe for the nominations!

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Award, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
32 comments on “What a Great Week – and Giving Out Awards!
  1. fgassette says:

    CONGRATULATIONS on your awards. Love coming to your site.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. cobbies69 says:

    So deserved….top drawer posting and enjoy it as always.;)

  3. gingerbreadcafe says:

    I am terrible at crochet, I like to knit every now and again but I am always jealous of people that crochet I have never picked up the technique!

    • Cathy G says:

      Funny that you say that because I could never handle knitting needles! I may try to pick it up again but I know that I seem to have found a niche with a crochet hook! 🙂

  4. adinparadise says:

    Congratulations on your lovely awards, Cathy. I used to love crocheting. Maybe I’ll take it up again one day……..when I give up blogging. 😆

  5. Congratulations – You deserve these awards – always a bright encouraging spot in my day. Blessings ~ Patty

  6. eof737 says:

    Congratulations! 🙂

  7. toemailer says:

    Wat to go!!:)

  8. seekraz says:

    Congratulations, Miss Cathy…well deserved! And thank you for sharing your treasures with me…very touching. 🙂

  9. The Smile Scavenger says:

    Congratulations Cathy! 🙂 Keep up the good blogging. I’m sure you’ll get many more!

  10. Biltrix says:

    Congratulations! You are really racking ’em up, Cathy. One more coming your way real soon.

  11. Biltrix says:

    Hello, Cathy. I just wanted to let you know I nominated you for the Reader Appreciation Award: http://biltrix.com/2012/08/01/reader-appreciation-cause-youre-the-best/.

  12. Yeah! Yahoo! Yippee! & Congratulations! Now I’m off to click on your nominee links.

  13. Congratulations my friend. You do have a lovely blog that inspires us all. Thanks for sharing these awards. Truly a reason to smile and feel inspired. God bless you and your family.

  14. Subhan Zein says:

    Congratulations on this, very well deserved! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
#great time #today - company #5krun privileged to #sing the National Anthem at the event.  PR... constantly #amazed to think a few years ago I had difficulty walking up the stairs in my house due to a chronic injury. Hard #work and dedication continue to pay off! #grateful #happy #fitwomen #fitchicks #satx #sanantonio #texas #trainhard #exercise #motivation late day at the office...late day at the #gym time to get it done! #today #fitness #fitgirls  #fitwomen #health #motivation  #exercise #training #goldsgym #satx #sanantonio #texas #crocheting a new mat made of plastic bags #today - part of a #project to make sleeping mats for homeless veterans. Sad that this needs to be done but happy to do my part..and also happy to take the plastic bags out of circulation!  #volunteer #recycle #rrr #diy #handmade #madeit #crochet #satx #sanantonio #texas Our neighbors surprised us with rice and potatoes with mild #curry - Mija really enjoyed it! Background is that over the years she has slowly (very slowly) learned to try new foods...this was a big deal...and we were #happy to see it! #autism #autismawareness #satx #sanantonio #texas #smile
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,212 Views
