Collectibles

Jakesprinter has another really great challenge – Collectibles!

I have an item that I would say is collectible, a copy of John Wooden’s Pyramid of Success, autographed by Coach John Wooden.

2012-07-22_08-24-39_171

I received it in February of 1974. Here is the postmark from the original envelope.2012-07-22_09-09-16_311

My father was a big fan of the UCLA Bruins during the John Wooden years.

“Before the days of cable and even VCR’s” the Bruins would broadcast a recording of their games on what was called “tape delay.”  When a game was played, a replay of that game would occur at 11:00 o’clock at night.  The games were broadcast live on the radio, but to see the game you would have to watch the replay.

2012-07-22_09-08-11_783

When I was in high school, my father would actually wake me up to watch the games with him!  I guess he wanted some company, and he must have thought I would enjoy the games.  He was right!  I became a big fan.  I knew all the team stats and the upcoming schedules.

I also enjoyed spending time with my dad.  We had a lot of fun watching the games!

After seeing stories about Coach Wooden’s Pyramid of Success, I decided to write to him.  I wasn’t expecting anything in return, but he sent back an autographed copy of the pyramid!

I treasure it to this day.

2012-07-22_08-24-55_731

To find out more about John Wooden and the Pyramid of Success, here is the link to the official web site.

2012-07-22_09-07-00_83[1]

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family history, Personal, Spirituality, Uncategorized
16 comments on “Collectibles
  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, very cool, that is a collectible 🙂

  2. fgassette says:

    A great collectible.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. scrapydo says:

    This is really cool!

  4. jakesprinter says:

    Great Collection Cathy ,Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. Great story, Cathy! With wonderful visual aids!

  6. other sports fans will be envious, 🙂

  7. A collectible with life changing message. A great definition of success. Thanks.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi island traveler! That’s true! Coach Wooden’s definition of success and his pyramid were inspirational to the people he coached and so many others. Thanks!

  8. Jo Bryant says:

    So interesting…lucky you

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
#chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy In my #garden #today #pepper clockwise from top left - #jalapeño, poblano, Anaheim, and coolapeño ( a jalapeño hybrid) 😄 #peppers #plants #green #satx #sanantonio #texas #happy #peaceful #eat #healthyfood My #little #garden is growing! #today I arranged all the cinder blocks and then the #plants ...the #chilepeppers and #tomatillo are blossoming! My #daughter helped  by watering. last #picture is #yourstruly #beforeandafter #gardening lol  #satx #sanantonio #texas  #jalapeños #peppers #happy #peaceful
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,577 Views
