Dreaming

The Weekly Photo Challenge is Dreaming.

This was a challenging topic for me.  You see, I kept coming back to a certain photo.

I couldn’t take my eyes away from it.

I don’t post my daughter’s picture very often, but this one is significant.

As you can see she’s just fallen asleep, glasses and all…

Mija_dreamimg

This photo was taken in 2008 as she was recovering from a planned surgery.  She is lying in a hospital bed.  At this point she is in a regular room and not in intensive care.

Sometimes a parent or caretaker of a special needs person may experience frustration in the area of communication. This can be ”challenging” to say the least.

There are times when Al and I wonder what she’s really trying to say.  Even though this has improved over the years, our daughter will never be able to completely express herself.  This is who she is.

Since she is vocal, but not verbal, our daughter couldn’t tell us what was on her mind.  We tried to be sure she was comfortable…as if you can really be comfortable after surgery.

During her hospital stay we made sure she had her favorite blanket and hat, plus one of her favorite toys.

Is she dreaming?  I hope so…and to this day I hope her dreams are pleasant.

I’ll end by saying what Al says every night.

“Sweet dreams.”

100_1334

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Autism, Faith, Family, Personal, Special Needs, Spirituality, Thoughts, Uncategorized
27 comments on “Dreaming
  1. Dear Cathy,

    I was so touched by your post. Thank you for sharing this part of your life. My twin was a special needs child. He is a dear man, living independently near me, and he can support himself, but he still needs a lot of emotional support and we are the major part of his social life. One of the things that drew me to my husband is how kind and gentle he is with his big brother, who will never be able to live independently. I was sure he would be a loving father, no matter what, and I was right. I think your daughter is very, very, very fortunate to have you for her mother. Warm wishes for your whole family.

  2. scrapydo says:

    This is a lovely picture. Thanks for sharing and also giving her all your love you have. She is special and you too

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks scrapydo. My husband took a number of pictures of her in all stages of recovery. In this photo she finally looks more “like herself,” as opposed to hospital patient, i. e. hooked up to various gizmos. 🙂

  3. Special kids have special parents, super hero parents….

  4. fgassette says:

    Inspiring and encouraging post.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  5. Gemma says:

    Cathy, your daughter looks like she could possibly be dreaming the sweestest of dreams here. What a precious picture! Continued sweet dreams, indeed.

  6. What a lovely post – and I was going to also say I thought your daughter looks like you – very pretty. God bless her – and may all of her dreams be nothing but sweet dreams! Patty

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Patty – My husband will really agree with you on that! We have other pictures where she really looks like him. Thanks for hopes and blessings. 🙂

  7. dorannrule says:

    Cathy, your girl is very beautiful and what beautiful parents she has. Your wishes for her sweet dreams are surely getting through. And your post is awesome!.

  8. Sheryl says:

    Great picture! She looks so happy and like she’s dreaming such sweet dreams.

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Sheryl. I have to admit that it was a tough week. I focused on this picture because she finally looked like she was relaxing. She was also happy because we were nearby. She knew she wasn’t alone…and she could finally have sweet dreams. 🙂

  9. Your love for your daughter is expressed beautifully through this post. Very sweet.

  10. Cathy, this post is written with love and hope. So moving and filled with tender, touching thoughts.”Even though this has improved over the years, our daughter will never be able to completely express herself. This is who she is.” A mother’s love is like no other and I could so much in your words. I wish too for her beautiful and happy dreams…take care.

    • Cathy G says:

      Thank-you, island traveler for your beautiful comment. Yes, I believe my daughter is very precious. My husband and I always tell her to have sweet dreams.

  11. Thank you for sharing your personal story. You are a good mother and she is so lucky to have you in her life. All the best, Jenny

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
#great time #today - company #5krun privileged to #sing the National Anthem at the event.  PR... constantly #amazed to think a few years ago I had difficulty walking up the stairs in my house due to a chronic injury. Hard #work and dedication continue to pay off! #grateful #happy #fitwomen #fitchicks #satx #sanantonio #texas #trainhard #exercise #motivation late day at the office...late day at the #gym time to get it done! #today #fitness #fitgirls  #fitwomen #health #motivation  #exercise #training #goldsgym #satx #sanantonio #texas #crocheting a new mat made of plastic bags #today - part of a #project to make sleeping mats for homeless veterans. Sad that this needs to be done but happy to do my part..and also happy to take the plastic bags out of circulation!  #volunteer #recycle #rrr #diy #handmade #madeit #crochet #satx #sanantonio #texas Our neighbors surprised us with rice and potatoes with mild #curry - Mija really enjoyed it! Background is that over the years she has slowly (very slowly) learned to try new foods...this was a big deal...and we were #happy to see it! #autism #autismawareness #satx #sanantonio #texas #smile
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,212 Views
