Carmelita

Hello everyone.  I was away for a couple of weeks, but now I’m back!

When I recently asked my mom about my grandmother’s history I discovered there were bits and pieces of information written down on scattered pieces of paper. My mom relayed as many of the fragments as she could recall during our conversation.

Here are a few of those fragments.

******************************

My grandmother Carmen was born in 1904 in Zacapu, Michoacán, Mexico, at least that’s what the records say…meaning, she may have been born in 1906, but various records say 1904!

People who were close to her called her Carmelita.

She would have celebrated her birthday today, July 15th.

Carmen 1930s 2

When I asked my mother how my grandparents met, she said she didn’t know the details, but she assumes that my one of my grandmother’s brothers introduced them.

My grandfather Antonio and great-uncle Albert were around the same age. Since they came from a small town it’s likely that they were friends.

This is the only picture that I have of my uncle Albert at a young age.

uncle_albert_1

My mom also speculates that World War I opened many opportunities for employment.  Because of new opportunities my grandmother’s family, and other friends, including my grandfather came to the United States in 1916.

The family would have come through El Paso, Texas. They decided to make their way to California.

Carmen Maria

My great-grandmother was said to be very strict. My grandmother wanted to be free of her rules and restrictions. She “always wanted to go dancing”  but my great-grandmother wouldn’t let her.

My grandparents eloped in 1920. They were later married in the church in 1927.

Carmen & mary 1930s

My mother was born in 1930.

Don Antonio Mary & Carmen 1933

My mom said that Rae (her best friend) gave her a couple of books to document a family tree.  Mom said it’s one of those things she wants to do;  she needs to “simply sit down and do it!”

I told her the next time I visit California, which I’m hoping will be in the next month or two, we’ll set a side a day to compile this.

When I started blogging I didn’t realize that I would be writing all these vignettes of my family.  Now, I realize if I don’t capture these stories, they are at risk of being lost.

I’m looking forward to spending time with my mom to be sure we capture what is dear to all of us.

I’ll let you know what I find out.  I already have some of the fragments.  I just need to make some sense of them!

******************************

For additional posts featuring my grandmother, Carmelita, and my grandfather, Antonio, see Simple and Memories of Antonio.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family history, Musings, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
17 comments on “Carmelita
  1. I can’t wait to read what you find out! It is great that you have such a good record of your family. Blessings ~ Patty

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Patty! Mom has bits and pieces. Some are “best guesses” as opposed to facts. In any event there isn’t much order to it yet, so I’m looking forward to finding out more! 🙂

  2. Enjoyable post! And I love those old photos. Thank you for sharing these parts of your history. I look forward to learning more. Hugs, Gina

  3. Blogging is a perfect way to preserve and share your family stories. I really enjoyed this, Maggie.

  4. Oops! Excuse me, Cathy! I got my blogs mixed up–I know you are not Maggie! I love your use of photos, too. I am finding that family members who follow my blog are glad that I have taken the time to preserve the stories. Here is a connection to a family story from my archives. I look forward to more of your posts on family history!

    http://naomibaltuck.wordpress.com/2012/05/28/remembering-uncle-lewis/

    http://naomibaltuck.wordpress.com/2012/05/12/mom-always-said/

    • Cathy G says:

      Lol. No worries! I receive the same feedback from my family as well. Often people are surprised by the photos, as they may be seeing them for the first time. I look forward to reading your post. Thanks!

  5. Northern Narratives says:

    I enjoy your photos and your stories. They are important to your family and also important for the history of people. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. dorannrule says:

    Capturing the stories of your ancestors is a wonderful project Cathy. You will cherish the records and stories. 🙂

  7. Iñigo says:

    I look forward to your coming posts! I think this is something I should do also – to trace back a family tree. When I lost my grandfather last year, it seemed I lost one link. I hope it’s never too late to start 🙂 Good luck on your quest to document family history 🙂

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Iñigo! It’s not too late to get started! I’m glad I will have the chance to do this. I’m sure I’ll learn a lot, too! I hope you’ll enjoy doing this! 🙂

  8. gingerbreadcafe says:

    Great family resemblance in the photos. Looking forward to more stories.

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, gingerbreadcafe! My niece made the comment how her mom (my sister) looks a lot like my grandmother. I’d always thought that, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,416 Views
