More Creations!

My last post Create caused a bit of a stir when my family saw it.

They had a good time remembering what’s now known as

the Great Christmas Stocking Caper of 2011!

Here’s my sister Alicia, distributing the stockings as people picked them!

stockings4_2011

Alicia also sent me a couple of pictures from a previous give-away.

They just had to be shared!

For Christmas 2010 I sent a box full of scarves and hats to my family.

For once, I was actually present when the box was opened.

Here is baby Zoey surrounded by scarves as she was lying on the bed.

She enjoyed holding one particular dark blue scarf, brushing it repeatedly against her cheek.  She seemed to be really puzzling over it.

The hat she’s wearing is rolled up a bit…but you can see it more clearly in the next photo.

Em_Zoey3

Here are my nieces Emmy and Zoey enjoying trying on some of my creations!

Em_Zoey

I’ll make items all year round…then at the end of the year the give-away begins!

My husband loads up scarves and hats for my daughter’s teachers, bus drivers, assistants, medical providers and the many people who help her throughout the year.  The scarves also go to co-worker’s, friends, family, churches and anyone else we happen upon.  Curious people who wonder what’s in the bag  have been known to receive a scarf!

Here are a few items that will be going into this year’s give-away…

…a prayer shawl, scarves and hats!

2012-06-24_20-46-23_318     2012-06-24_20-54-16_758

2012-06-24_20-58-20_897    2012-06-24_20-47-54_625

The year is already half-way over!  What am I waiting for?  There’s so much more to do!

Thanks for following along for the Weekly Photo Challenge Create!

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Autism, Christmas, Crochet, Family, Musings, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
19 comments on “More Creations!
  1. fgassette says:

    More beautiful creations. I wish I had such a wonderful creative talent. I know joy is brought to all who receives one of these creative pieces. Thanks for sharing more of them.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Francine. I didn’t realize I had this in me until I gave myself permission to be free with it! I’ve been blessed to know how much people appreciate handcrafted items. 🙂

  2. scrapydo says:

    Awesome, I love the idea and the goodies

  3. jakesprinter says:

    Great work my friend 🙂

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    That looks like a lot of fun and great memories 🙂

  5. dorannrule says:

    Great idea! Maybe I’ll start a great big scarf collection for giveaways at the holidays. I’m good at crocheting straight lines. Used to do hats too and I think I can relearn that. Thanks for inspiring me – once again. Now to the yarn shop…

  6. seekraz says:

    Beautiful work, Cathy. 🙂

  7. You have a beautiful and happy family. The Great Christmas Stocking Caper of 2011 is a fun and unforgettable event. Love the hats, scarves and the impressive prayer shawl. You have a good soul that brings a happiness and hope to others. Wishing you all the best.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi island traveler! I am very fortunate…my family consists of four generations, and everyone is very close. I don’t live close by. Even though we stay in touch because of emails, posts, Skype etc, sending a care package with stockings, or, hats and scarves keeps me connected in a different way! Thanks for your kind and thoughtful comments.

  8. seapunk2 says:

    Awesome, and yes, I did enjoy this one!! I like your style, woman! 😀

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
#chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy In my #garden #today #pepper clockwise from top left - #jalapeño, poblano, Anaheim, and coolapeño ( a jalapeño hybrid) 😄 #peppers #plants #green #satx #sanantonio #texas #happy #peaceful #eat #healthyfood My #little #garden is growing! #today I arranged all the cinder blocks and then the #plants ...the #chilepeppers and #tomatillo are blossoming! My #daughter helped  by watering. last #picture is #yourstruly #beforeandafter #gardening lol  #satx #sanantonio #texas  #jalapeños #peppers #happy #peaceful
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,577 Views
