Create

The Weekly Photo Challenge is “Create.”

This is an enjoyable post for me as I get to showcase a few items that I’ve created!

A few years ago I was facing a layoff.  I was one of a a few people tasked with closing a department while everyone else was let go.  As our work dwindled, those of us who were left behind needed to “stay occupied.”

As you might imagine, I had a lot of nervous energy.

Long story short, I re-discovered crocheting as a way to keep my mind occupied, and, also to relax.  I learned  how to crochet when I was in grade school but over the years I had set it aside.

It took a pending job loss to get me focused on my creative side!  Ironically, I was able to obtain a new position with the company.

 I’ve been crocheting ever since!

Here are a few of my creations…

A gift bag…it’s holding a baby blanket that I also crocheted!

Camera_gallery 573

A shawl for my mom…I can’t recall the pattern source, but I just had to share the crocheted flowers.  They’re made individually then stitched to the shawl.

shawl_yellow

Crocheting has turned out to be a source of joy for me. I love to make gifts for people.

I have an annual scarf give-away.  I believe everyone deserves to have a warm neck!

At the end of last year I sent over 50 Christmas stockings to my family. The first batch hung on a bannister on Thanksgiving day.  The second batch arrived in time for Christmas!

I love this picture of my sister-in-law, Stacy, as she’s holding her stocking!

stockings_and_Stacy_2011

Here’s yours truly test driving a warm and cozy shawl, also for my mom.  It turns out the other shawl in this post is draped over the chair behind me!

Camera_gallery 362

At the beginning of this year, I started a blog for crocheting.  I have a number of posts there.   Ironically because I’m in the middle of a *very large* crochet project, I’ve stalled at making updates!  I’ve been considering bringing the posts into this blog, but I haven’t decided yet.

If you’ve been following my blog, you know my posts are generally about my family and it’s history.  Nevertheless this craft is also a big part of who I am.  I’ll continue to post my “finished objects.”  I just haven’t decided yet if that will be on the separate site or here on this one!

I hope you’ve enjoyed my creations!

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Crochet, Family, Family history, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
73 comments on “Create
  1. Madelaine says:

    Beautiful handwork!

  2. scrapydo says:

    Lovely knits. My mother was always knitting when ever she had a moment

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi scrapydo! Thanks! These are actually crocheted items! 🙂
      My aunt used to knit very beautiful items, too. I still have a couple of them tucked away in a cedar chest!

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Scrapydo! Your comment made me think of my aunt throughout the day, and all the lovely things she created. I may just go take a nother look at the lovely sweaters I have tucked away! Thanks! 🙂

  3. fgassette says:

    You do beautiful work that will ve treasured forever. They will be passed down from one generation to the next. Thanks for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Francine! I’ve received wonderful messages from people who have received my creations. That means a lot to me. It’w heartwarming to know that people love and appreciate handcrafted items.

      By the way. I’m going to be picking up my Sisterhood Award from you in the next week or so! I hadn’t forgotten! Thanks! 🙂

  4. topher79 says:

    Those look great, I envy people who have talent to do projects like this, or knitting and sewing. My grandmother tried to teach me how to knit and crotchet when I was younger, I just could not get a handle on it

  5. Cathy G says:

    Hi topher79! I understand that! Early on, I learned both knitting and crocheting. I could never really get that hang of the two needles, so I stayed with crocheting. I still think I may try to learn to knit. It’s never to late to learn! Thanks for your comment!

  6. dorannrule says:

    I love your crochet blog Cathy! I’m a “basic” crochet-er – great at scarves and afghans, but not good on reading intricate patterns. Would love to learn more and you are already inspiring me! If you include your entries on this blog, I will be delighted. I’m also trying to follow you on the other blog but this computer keeps putting me off.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Dor! Thanks for the feedback! There are a lot of patterns that I admire but I admit I never tried! The stockings were from a basic sock pattern…once I understood it, I was able to alter it to get the variety that I wanted. I learned a lot from that! As for the blog, my other option is to keep the separate blog, then every now and then reblog to this site! We’ll see! Thanks again! 🙂

  7. livvy30 says:

    The Santa socks are fab!

  8. I love the picture with the stockings!

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi cynkingfeeling! I was really excited when my family posted them on FB. There are several pictures of 4 generations gathered in the living room, looking upwards and pointing! Thanks!

  9. Very nice! I enjoy seeing other peoples creations! I actually have a friend who knits and crochets and she belongs to a group called “The Happy Hookers”!! 😀 I am still a novice with crochet but you are right it is relaxing, I may be picking it up again since I too will soon to be unemployed (app 1 yr down the road) Do you do any other crafts/sewing?

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Patty! I’ve heard of that group on other bloG sites! A message from my sister reminded me that I also used a knitting loom for a while. Very easy to learn! Remember macramé? I used to that when I was in hign school – at the time I made some money selling items I’d made! I know how to sew, but really only use that for mending now. 🙂
      Best wishes to you re: your work situation. My family was amazed at how many scarves I made while I was concerned about my job…it was a combination of nervous energy plus the amount of time I had! Now, I make the time to crochet in between blogging and eveytihng else!

  10. eof737 says:

    You create beautiful pieces and I love the color combinations you use. Excellent addition to this week’s challenge. 🙂

  11. Northern Narratives says:

    I love your creations! I learned how to knit and crochet at the same time and for some reason I liked knitting better.

  12. Creativity from the heart. 🙂
    Beautiful.

  13. Gobetween says:

    There was a time when I enjoyed crocheting, unfortunately I don’t have the time for it anymore. Great examples of creating.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi, Gobetween. I understand what you mean! There are times when I don’t want to start something because I’d be frustrated if I couldn’t finish it. Fortunately I manage to have the time! Thanks!

  14. Jo Bryant says:

    Wow Cathy…you are prolific in your handiwork. Love the test drive shawl

  15. […] Photo Challenge: CREATE… | Mirth and Motivation Create « Cathy’s Crochet Corner Create « Comments from Cathy WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Create « North Highlands Art Weekly Photo Challenge: Create | […]

  16. Wonderful pieces you’ve created. A very sweet baby gift. And such a variety of stockings! Did anyone fight over which one they wanted? 😉

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Kate! I wasn’t there when there were given out. There was a bit of a lottery to see who got to pick. A few times people said, “Oh, that was the one I wanted!” My dad and my sister-in-law worked together! My sister-in-law picked the one my dad wanted, then he later picked the one she wanted. Then they swapped! From what I hear it ws quite an event! 🙂

  17. Wow Cathy, great creations. Love the crocheted flowers!!

  18. melouisef says:

    You will have to teach me, I can only admire your work
    🙂

  19. Love the stockings hanging from the stairs! Beautiful picture! 🙂

  20. When the weather turns cooler, I love to crochet!
    Love the shawls!

  21. nelson RN says:

    Great creations! You have a pair of talented hands!

  22. rutheh says:

    Wowee is all I can say. What a lot of creations! Your handwork is lovely.
    A wonderful post.
    Best,
    Ruth in Pittsburgh

  23. Ruth Bailey says:

    You are not only creative, but resourceful! I am not surprised that you were one of the team that the employer kept. Tackling these projects shows that you are forward thinking, resourceful, and flexible. And you make pretty things!

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Ruth! This made me smile, as those who worked with me in the past used to call me (depending on the generation), “Radar” and “McGyver!” Yes, I’m definitely known for being resourceful and flexible! Glad you enjoyed my creations! 🙂

  24. cocomino says:

    They are great jobs. My wife will love it.

  25. I hopped over to say thanks for taking the time to visit my blog and comment. I also wanted to see your post for the weekly photo challenge. Your work is excellent!!! It reminds me so much of work my mother used to do. She was so very creative and “crafty” (in the good sense.) Crocheting was one of her loves, and she made just about every kind of thing you can imagine. Some of my favorite sweaters — ones that got loads of compliments — were her own work. And even though she’s been gone many years now, I still have a hat that she crocheted for me. It is still one of my favorite garments.

    I think you should include some of the posts from the other site on this one as well. I often do that. I have three blogs, and I’m the administrator for the “Healing From Jesus” blog, so just every once-in-a-while, I post something that I think is relavant on two or three of the sites. Or I re-blog from one site to the other. That way, it encourages people to actually visit the other site. And the more I think about it, maybe that’s what you should do. Go to some of the posts on the crochet blog and re-blog them. That way, it will show up here, but the people will need to click on the link and go to the other site to finish reading the post, and they will see what all is on there.

    I also love your subtitle: “Sipping teak, being cozy, learning from the past, looking toward the future.” I often think that poeple get confused, thinking that it’s negative to keep looking back to the past. But I’ve learned that it’s often the past that still provides the wisdom and the right influences that make us strong and wise enough to move into the future. There’s a scripture that says to seek the old paths to learn from them, and one that says if we would seek righteousness, we need to look back to the “rock” from which we were hewn — specifically Abraham and Sarah. So I often find myself reaching back to re-capture the positive things that I know I need in order to move forward.

    And I love a cup of tea. In fact, I often read English novels just to enjoy the scenes where they are enjoying their afternoon tea — or using it to restore and strengthen themselves in the midst of a crisis — as is their habit.

    Keep up the good work.
    Sandra

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello Sandra! I’m so pleased to meet you! Yes, based on the feeback I’m thinking about reblogging as you’ve mentioned. My subtitile does really sum things up for me. I sip tea while I’m relaxing and when I’m concentrating. My blog is often composed of stories about my family, these are from my family’s past, what goes on in the present, and hopes for the future. Thanks!

  26. Colline says:

    These things are just too beautiful! I love them 🙂

  27. jakesprinter says:

    Great post my friend 🙂

  28. You’re so talented Cathy! I loved crocheting when I was still in High School but the digital age caught up with me and my interest soon shifted! My daughter does wonders with her crocheting…I remembered her first project which was the hanger of a dishtowel!

    I think crocheting projects are more intricate looking and daintier than knitting, don’t you think so?

    @))–>>—–

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Magdalene! I’ve seen some beautiful knitted creations that I’ve really admired. Crocheted lace can also be very intricate. I have a lovely crocheted tablecloth that has been in my family a long time. I can only imagine how long it took to make!

  29. Cathy, you have a generous heart. Such hand made gifts are priceless. Beautiful creations that brings warmth, joy and lots of wonderful memories. It is one amazing Christmas. God bless you and your family always…

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, island traveler! I’m glad that hand-crafted gifts are appreciated. I’m glad to know that items that I’ve made are used year after year, and even handed down to others! 🙂

  30. Definitely, what a great site and illuminating posts, I definitely will bookmark your site.Best Regards!

  31. Great photos. I especially enjoyed all the stockings!

  32. I knit stockings, but I can’t imagine making 50 in one year. I may have made a total of 50 over the past 40 years. They are beautiful and I’m certain your family loved them.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Susan! I have to admit I surprised myself! It was a fun surprise for my family…and yes, they’ve told me how much they enjoyed them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,416 Views
