Friendship

The weekly challenge topic is friendship.  It just so happens there are some photos in the family gallery that I am really excited to share!

How many of us can say that we’ve had a friend that we’ve known for as long as we can remember?

Not many of us, I suspect…

Well, my mom, who happens to be a lovely octogenarian, is able to say this!

You see, she and her best friend Rae have known each other since they were toddlers!

Here they are! 

My mom, Mary, is the little curly haired girl.  Rae has the sweet little smile and polka-dotted dress.

Mom3Rae 3

They’ve known each other through childhood, high-school and into their twenties.

  Mom2Rae2

Rae stood by my mom’s side as her maid of honor.

Mom_and_Rae_2

They’ve watched all of their children grow up over the years…

Mom_and_Rae_3

…and have remained close friends to this day.

I can’t think of a better example of a friendship!

Mom_and_Rae_1

They were friends long before “social media.”

Best Friends Forever?

Oh yeah!

If you’re talking about Mary and Rae

You can be sure of it!

 

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family, Family history, Friends, Musings, Personal, Spirituality, Thoughts, Uncategorized
37 comments on “Friendship
  1. What a great friendship example – thanks for sharing!

  2. scrapydo says:

    Awesome! Thanks for sharing this is real friendship.

  3. cobbies69 says:

    There can be nothing better, and to have pictures to prove it is magical. 😉

  4. dorannrule says:

    What a beautiful pair they are and how wonderful is their forever-friendship! The pictures are terrific. What a grand post you have shared with us and I thank you!

  5. Northern Narratives says:

    Such a wonderful friendship and I enjoy your photos 🙂

  6. I absolutely love this! Friends forever. Oh yeah 🙂 Nothing could be more precious.

  7. Iñigo says:

    An inspiring story of friendship tested by time!

  8. Mary and Rae, a perfect model of a rare, precious and beautiful friendship that transcended time and life’s trials. A friendship we all hope to have. I truly enjoyed seeing the photos from when they were kids to now. Brought me a lot of wonderful memories of friends from childhood to know as well. Thanks for sharing their inspiring story.

  9. musenwrite says:

    Hello, I loved your post on Friendship. It isn’t easy to have a true friend , but having a true friend over a long time from childhood until old age who stands by us every step of the way is treasured and cherished forever 🙂 I am a writer and an avid reader. Your post on friendship reminded me of a few words of poetry that I have written about friendship. It is in my ebook Memoirs:The Soulful Recollection Friendship and Life. I invite you to visit my blog http://musewithcoffee.wordpress.com where you can have a look at my 2 books Memoirs: The Soulful Recollection and 12 Precious Anecdotes from Life, if you wish to. Thanks 🙂 Have a lovely day!

  10. fgassette says:

    An perfect example of friendship. I bet these two friends feel more like sisters as a result of their friendship. Thanks for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  11. snitch21 says:

    There’s nothing more beautiful than a friendship that lasts through time. Great post!

  12. What a wonderful example of true friendship . Thank you for calling by my blog otherwise I might not have found yours

  13. What a great post Cathy!

  14. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks! Looks like my first comment to you didn’t take so I’ll try it again! I can see you spent some time at my site and I really appreciate that. Thought I’d share that one of my favorite spots is San Diego. I’m originally from SoCal. I used to cycle on Mission Bay as a way to relax when I was in college. Looking forward to checking out more of posts esp of San Diego!

  15. Friends are truely a blessing to have. hank God for lasting friendships. They are heaven sent. Thank you for sharing a beautiful story and I appreciate you stopping by My Journal of Praise and liking posts.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
#chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy In my #garden #today #pepper clockwise from top left - #jalapeño, poblano, Anaheim, and coolapeño ( a jalapeño hybrid) 😄 #peppers #plants #green #satx #sanantonio #texas #happy #peaceful #eat #healthyfood My #little #garden is growing! #today I arranged all the cinder blocks and then the #plants ...the #chilepeppers and #tomatillo are blossoming! My #daughter helped  by watering. last #picture is #yourstruly #beforeandafter #gardening lol  #satx #sanantonio #texas  #jalapeños #peppers #happy #peaceful
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,577 Views
