Memorial Day – the Family Member I Never Knew

When my husband, daughter, and I lived in Northern California, we were able to visit the Vietnam Memorial Traveling Wall. 

It is a beautiful but sobering reminder of those who were lost.

We saw the name Peguero.  I  wondered out loud who was memorialized, as Peguero was my grandmother’s maiden name.

When I got home I called my mom.  I asked her if we had any family members who served in the Vietnam War. 

She said yes.

CPL RICHARD PEGUERO
“Richy,” was a cousin who lost his life in Vietnam on April 13, 1968.

Cousin, I never knew you.

I can see by the comments that were left on your dedication page

that you are loved and missed.

Now that I know you are forever on this wall

I hope that my simple page will help to share your story.

**********************

Thank-you to all who have served our country.

************************

Because of copyright rules, I am not able to provide a link directly  to my cousin’s page.

From the main page on the

Vietnam Veteran’s Memorial Wall Page

  there is a search function where his name can be entered.

************************

Always remember.

************************

In addition to search information, the web page for Vietnam Veteran’s Memorial Wall Page contains numerous other links that I hope you will visit.

 

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family, Family history, Personal, Spirituality, Thoughts, Uncategorized
13 comments on “Memorial Day – the Family Member I Never Knew
  1. Isabella says:

    As a Canadian, I’m touched by the dedication shown for Memorial Day. This is a lovely reflection, Cathy, and such a concrete way of showing love for all who are gone. Thank you!

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Isabella. To my knowledge, my cousin is the only family member who lost his life in the service of his country. I have a number of family members who served in the Armed Forces, including my husband who retired from the Air Force. I’m grateful for their dedication and sacrifice. Thank-you so much for your comment. Blessings.

  2. fgassette says:

    Thank you for sharing your story.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. Roxie says:

    lovely that you shared this story, Cathy. how many of our families don’t talk about our relatives who’ve passed, because that’s just what they do, until we ask…
    good for you for asking! two decades ago I asked my grandmother about a family member, she gave me letters from him and his memorabilia, treasures of mine to this day
    namaste 🙂

  4. wonderful share, thanks for doing so

  5. I went to your cousin, Richard’s page. He was married. He was so young – 21.
    We all are so fortunate to be among so many brave ‘children’ – of mother’s, of God, – that sacrifice to keep us safe.
    You always share so much of yourself, Cathy. Thank you for all the beautiful posts.
    Happy Memorial Day.

  6. Sheryl says:

    What a wonderful story–and to think that you’d never have known about this cousin if you hadn’t happened upon the name at the Vietnam Traveling Wall Memorial.

  7. My thoughts and prayers to your Uncle Ricky and all the heroes who lost their lives for our freedom. May we always remember their sacrifices and make sure it does not go in vain. Wonderful post.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Hadn't been #swimming in quite some time but I headed to the #water #today  as part of #training by #pt @dan_frick  Worked out some kinks..lol ...but also recognized gains...felt great to be back in the water! 😃 #fitness #exercise #health #fitchick #fitwomen #swim #satx #sanantonio #texas #life lessons from my #little  Who likes wasps? Well there was one my #chile #plant #today ...you see, they pollinate my #plants ! Later when I put away the hose a wasp was buzzing around me. It landed on a blade of grass and drank a water droplet.  It was just thirsty.  We've learned to coexist because we both appreciate my garden! 😃 #lifelessons #satx #sanantonio #texas #insect #insect #bug #chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,586 Views
