This One’s for You, Dad…Happy Birthday!

 

Louie Pony

 

In my family the month of May means numerous celebrations.

In addition to Mother’s Day, there are birthdays and anniversaries.

One of the noteworthy events is my dad’s birthday, which is being celebrated today.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Louie 1936

As I mentioned in my post Journey, my father’s parents followed the harvest in order to support themselves.

As a result, the family was living in Hanover, New Mexico at the time he was born. 

Due to the due to lack of a hospital in Hanover, he was born in Silver City.

The year was 1929.

In addition to New Mexico, he lived in Mexico and California.

 

 

Germany 13

 

My father served in the army during the Korean Conflict

He was stationed in Germany where he was a training instructor.

He and my mom were married when he was on leave from the service.  (More on Mom and Dad in an  upcoming post!)

Once his tour of duty was complete he returned home to my mom and to brother, who was born when my father was overseas.

 

 

 

Lou

When he returned from the service he also had the opportunity to attend college.

I remember even when I was in high school and college he was always studying, reading, learning.

Over the years my dad had a number of hobbies and passions.

He grew the most amazing orchids (cymbidiums) and roses.

He also loved photography.

When my father retired he asked my brother and nephew to set him up with everything he needed so he could scan family photos.

 

Louie 9

These may have been photos he took or, photos he had in his possession.

I can’t even imagine the number of hours he spent scanning, cropping and uploading.

A few of those pictures were taken more than a century ago.

Last year I asked if I could get a copy of his library.

Looking at all the photos has given me hours of enjoyment and memories.

Luis

 

If you’re familiar with my blog you know that many of my posts are about my family history.

The photos from my father’s library have been the primary basis and inspiration for these stories.

On a couple of occasion I’ve called my father and asked him if he can fill in the blanks about the story behind the pictures.

I couldn’t have written some of these posts without him.

 

 

 

DadyCat3

In many respects I feel that I share this blog with him.

I’m delighted that all the photos my father compiled can now be shared with so many people.

Even though we are celebrating his birthday, he is the one who has given an incredible gift to his family: a gift of his time, his talent and his history.

Happy Birthday, Dad!

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family, Family history, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
8 comments on “This One’s for You, Dad…Happy Birthday!
  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Happy Birthday and many more 🙂

  2. Love the old photos. Happy Day to your Dad.

  3. Happy Birthday to an amazing man who gave his family his unconditional love and devotion. Such a beautiful post that comes from a heart that is filled with love , joy and gratitude.

  4. How wonderful to have all these phtos to spark the memories!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Enjoying the new-do and color #today . Time for a slight change in #hairstyle and lovin the color! #haircut #haircolor #enjoy #satx #sanantonio #texas #today #vintage #knit #blouse that Mom gave me.  Perfect condition at least 40 years old.  Simple, yet sophisticated.  So glad Mom passed this along to me! #vintageclothing #satx #sanantonio #texas #yummy !! #bananabread right out of the oven!  The house smells #amazing 😃 #today #baking #happyhubby #smile #goodeats #dessert #bread #satx #sanantonio #texas On the road visiting Mom but still making sure I have time to #workout #today focused on #core and #upperbody ...helps me with jet lag,  too! lol #exercise #health #fitness #fitchicks #fitwomen
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 18,009 Views
