Vehicle

This week Jakesprinter Weekly Sunday Post is Vehicle…what a great topic!

Here is my father, stationed in Germany during the Korean Conflict.  I’m glad that my father often had a camera with him.  I decided to leave the shot as is for a few reasons.  It was scanned into a computer border and all.  I like the effect of that.  The shadow of the unknown photographer can be seen in the lower left corner.  I wonder who he was!

I’m glad my dad felt so free to pose with this beauty of an automobile and have the moment captured.  Why not?

Germany 12

This is the oldest photo of a vehicle in the family photo gallery.  I also used this same photo in my post called Journey.  For a time during the 1920’s and 1930’s, my grandparents followed the harvest in order to support themselves.  They traveled to several states in the American Southwest.  Here is my grandfather, uncle and cousins in the vehicle known as “the air-conditioned car.”  Can you hear them saying, “Are we there yet?”

Jose Lupe Pete David

Teenage drivers and family gatherings! There was a time in my household when there was a car in the garage, another car parked right behind it in the yard, two cars in the driveway, one on the lawn and one or two parked on the street!   My dad used to get up early every morning so he could move out all the vehicles because his was the one in the garage. It was always musical vehicles at my house!

This topic brought back many other memories…

I thought about my uncle’s Cougar, the Mustang driven by my sister’s father-in-law, the family station wagons, trucks, campers, a blue 1967 VW bug and my brother’s metallic purple sting-ray bicycle!  I remembered climbing into the back seat of my grandfather’s large old Chevy. My feet barely reached to the end of the seat!

Moving to a new generation, here are a couple of alternative vehicles that brought a smile to my face!

My niece and nephews are ready for action on their scooters.  Always full of energy they stopped for a quick shot at my parents house.  I get a chuckle of how serious they look.  It’s as if they’re on patrol!

I’m sure there was a lot of noise and laughter once they all took off!

Scooters 2000

Linda 3

Last but not least here is my niece (the same young lady pictured above) on her favorite vehicle when she was a toddler.

She’s giving her dolly a ride.  Only the two of them knew the destination.

A lovely little lady on a lovely rocking horse…a vehicle that is limited only by the imagination!

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family, Family history, Musings, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
15 comments on “Vehicle
  1. cobbies69 says:

    fabulous pictures..thanks for share

  2. Dor says:

    I like the way you transition from the oldest car in the family to the rocking horse! Great post Cathy! And lovely family. 🙂

  3. genealyn says:

    Interesting blog Cathy. Like your family history sections. Thanks for visiting mine and leaving a like.
    Lynda

  4. I love the memories behind it all. Great stuff, Cathy. 🙂

  5. Great memories, Cathy. Makes me nostalgic for my grandfather’s old Chevys, circa 1930’s and 1940’s.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Susan. Yes, I’ve had family members commenting on other vehicles as well. My parents also talk about cars with rumble seats…what a great topic! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  6. Sheryl says:

    The pictures are wonderful. I love the “air conditioned” car.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
#chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy In my #garden #today #pepper clockwise from top left - #jalapeño, poblano, Anaheim, and coolapeño ( a jalapeño hybrid) 😄 #peppers #plants #green #satx #sanantonio #texas #happy #peaceful #eat #healthyfood My #little #garden is growing! #today I arranged all the cinder blocks and then the #plants ...the #chilepeppers and #tomatillo are blossoming! My #daughter helped  by watering. last #picture is #yourstruly #beforeandafter #gardening lol  #satx #sanantonio #texas  #jalapeños #peppers #happy #peaceful
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,577 Views
