Happy Anniversary – So Glad We Are Together!

The Weekly Photo Challenge theme is Together.

This is an easy theme for me.  I already had a specific subject in mind that fits right into this.2012-04-29_10-11-21_997

Today, Al and I are celebrating our seventeenth wedding anniversary!

When we married we had already known each other for seventeen years.

During that time we were engaged.  We broke up and went our separate ways.

We met again a number of years later.

I had a career, living first in Southern California, then Northern California.

Al was in the Air Force, serving overseas and stateside.

We stayed in touch at a time when their was no e-mail. 

I had very larger phone bills!2012-04-29_10-00-20_910

Al eventually came home.  We were married a few months later.

Finally together, we are best friends, partners, and parents to our special Mija.

Happy Anniversary, Al!

Love,
Cathy

As you may imagine, this is the condensed version of the story.  For more on how Al and I met, see my post, aptly called December 24th – The Day We Met.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family, Family history, Friends, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized
46 comments on “Happy Anniversary – So Glad We Are Together!
  1. Sweet! Congratulations!

  2. fgassette says:

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! What blessed togetherness!

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. Iñigo says:

    Happy anniversary to both of you! What an inspiring story! Congratulations!

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    Congratulations and hope you have many more years together 🙂 Judy

  5. A lovely story. Congratulations on your anniversary.
    ~Anne

  6. Congratulations. Your smile hasn’t changed, or apparently lessened, one bit 🙂

  7. Imelda says:

    How sweet. Happy anniversary. Love conquers all indeed. 🙂

  8. *Congratulations*! What a lovely story. Really enjoyed reading it. I’m so glad it worked out as a happy ending! Brilliant! 😀

  9. Dor says:

    A lovely story Cathy! Thanks for sharing.

  10. livvy30 says:

    Aw, that’s just lovely!

  11. gonerustic says:

    lovely romantic story – thanks so much for sharing this =D

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello, gonerustic! There is a bit of romance! It was fun for my husband and me to look back on this. Thanks for stopping by my site. :).

  12. Happy Anniversary to you and Al ❤
    I'm a sucker for a good love story 😉

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Ellen! It is a story with twists and turns…and as you can imagine, Al and I are very happy with the way it all turned out!

  13. pix & kardz says:

    congratulations and happy anniversary (a bit belated). yours is a perfect story for this post. thank you for sharing> 🙂

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi pix & kardz! I already had this story in mind when I realized what the topic was! You’re right. I couldn’t have planned it that way if I tried!

  14. gingerbreadcafe says:

    It was mean’t to be! Congratulations.

  15. Isabella says:

    Hi Cathy! Sorry I’m late….but a very happy and blessed anniversary!!! Newlyweds make every one smile, but oldie-weds are the best!!! 🙂

  16. samestoy says:

    Hi,
    I am writing a book called “So…How Did You Meet Anyway?” It is a collection of all types of people’s “how we met” stories.
    I have posted the stories which have been sent in on;
    So…How Did You Meet Anyway?
    http://wwwsohowdidyoumeet.blogspot.com/
    I am always shopping for stories and I would like to add yours. Please check out the site, and if you would like to contribute your “how we met” story contact me at;
    susan.amestoy@gmail.com
    And if you would like any more information about the blog or the upcoming book, here is a link to a television interview I did recently.
    http://www.wcax.com/story/14708398/author-collecting-love-stories

    Take care and…congratulations!
    Susan

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello Susan. What a nice surprise! I’ll check the site and will give this some consideration! Thank-you so much for your comment and for stopping by my site! – Cathy 🙂

  17. Seventeen is a prime number, so you can say you’re doubly in your prime now.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

  18. fgassette says:

    Hi Cathy, Thank you for liking the post on Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. I hope you will accept and pick up the award for you and your blog. It is given to all women who visit or subscrib to my blog in the spirit of sisterhood and appreciation.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello Francine! I’ll be happy to pick accept the award. Since I posted on awards recently I may wait a little bit before posting. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Hadn't been #swimming in quite some time but I headed to the #water #today  as part of #training by #pt @dan_frick  Worked out some kinks..lol ...but also recognized gains...felt great to be back in the water! 😃 #fitness #exercise #health #fitchick #fitwomen #swim #satx #sanantonio #texas #life lessons from my #little  Who likes wasps? Well there was one my #chile #plant #today ...you see, they pollinate my #plants ! Later when I put away the hose a wasp was buzzing around me. It landed on a blade of grass and drank a water droplet.  It was just thirsty.  We've learned to coexist because we both appreciate my garden! 😃 #lifelessons #satx #sanantonio #texas #insect #insect #bug #chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,586 Views
