Journey

In my previous post I introduced you to my great-grandmother and how she had children with different last names.  One of them was my paternal grandfather, who was born in born in Guadalajara, Mexico in 1900.Don Jose  4 17 1918_2

Around 1916 my grandfathers and his (half) brothers decided to come to the United States.

At the immigration office they said they were brothers wanting to cross.

The immigration officer noticed all the last names were different on the paperwork.  He questioned them about it.  Didn’t they say they were all brothers?  Why were their names different?

Rather than complicating things with stories of their mother and all their fathers, the oldest one told them they would use his name, because, well, he was the oldest!

As a result, my grandfather changed his name.  This became my father’s last name, and my maiden name.

The brothers traveled to Kansas City, Kansas.  Some descendants still live there today.

The photo above happens to be taken in Kansas City, Missouri.  Interestingly, the date of this story is only three days from the anniversary of the photo.Jose G Perez_3

When my grandfather was a young man a horrible misfortune struck.

At the time people commonly traveled by hopping aboard moving trains.  Once when he did this, he slipped and fell.  The train badly injured one of his legs.  He developed gangrene and the leg was removed.

My grandfather also journeyed to El Paso, Texas where he met my grandmother.

After they met he tried to get her attention by throwing pebbles at her window.

She didn’t know who was doing this, and she wasn’t really thrilled, so one night she decided to find out.  Jose Lupe_3

She took a large rock and decided to throw it back!  She hit my father in his injured leg, which hadn’t fully healed.  My dad says she felt really bad and felt sorry for him!  Talk about a way to start a romance!

They eventually married.  My grandmother gave birth to my dad’s older brother in El Paso.

To have employment, they traveled to different states in time for the harvesting seasons.

For instance, this photo shows my grandparents and my uncle in Colorado sitting on a pile of sugar beets. My grandmother is also expecting my aunt.

sugar beets4

Here, my grandfather, uncle and cousins are also in Colorado with ”the air conditioned car.” Jose Lupe Pete David

They journeyed to New Mexico, where my dad and aunt were born. Eventually they came to California where more children were born.

12 1938The journeys didn’t end there.  At one point the family went to Mexico.  When World War II began, my uncle decided to enlist.

Some of the family stayed in Mexico with my grandmother, and some went with my grandfather and uncle to the U. S.

Eventually they re-united in California.

Some of my grandfather’s siblings returned to Mexico then changed their names back to their original names, even though my grandfather never did.  He did keep his original name as a middle name.

One things I find interesting is that both of my dad’s parents had a changed last name!  For the story behind my grandmother’s name, see my post called Unusual.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family history, Thoughts, Uncategorized
17 comments on “Journey
  1. Northern Narratives says:

    It’s great that you know your family stories. Thanks for sharing 🙂 Judy

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Judy! I didn’t know some of the details until yesterday! I had a great conversation with my dad as he tried to fill in some of the blanks. A real treasure! Thanks! – Cathy

  2. cobbies69 says:

    Wonderful, absolutely wonderful…;)

  3. Love your tales from yesteryear. Always fun to read. Thanks.

  4. gingerbreadcafe says:

    These are such great stories, I like your blog style as it’s like reading a journal.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi gingerbreadcafe! I really appreciate that because I kept a journal for a lot of years. Every now and then when I travel I prefer to write my post in a journal, then transfer it to a blog! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Dor says:

    Cathy – thanks so much for sharing. I think it’s terrific that you know so much of the family history and that you are sharing the stories with us now. Good idea to journal as you go…

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Dor! I’m fortunate that there are a couple of people who can still give some of the details! …and yeah, whenever I travel, on particular, I keep a tablet (of paper) with me…you never know when an idea will strike!

  6. Cathy – I hope your family appreciates the wonderful legacy you are creating for them about their family on this blog.

    ~Anne

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Anne. I’ve received some lovely comments from my family. Some of them have never seen some of these photos, so I think there have been some wonderful surprises! Thanks!

  7. nelson RN says:

    Thanks for sharing your family story! I love the old pictures!

  8. 2e0mca says:

    This is a really fascinating history with great images of the past.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello, 2e0mca! I’m fortunate that my father took the time to scan this library of family photos. Also, he and my aunt have passed the story forward. I’m glad that I’m able to share it. Thanks for stopping by my site!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Hadn't been #swimming in quite some time but I headed to the #water #today  as part of #training by #pt @dan_frick  Worked out some kinks..lol ...but also recognized gains...felt great to be back in the water! 😃 #fitness #exercise #health #fitchick #fitwomen #swim #satx #sanantonio #texas #life lessons from my #little  Who likes wasps? Well there was one my #chile #plant #today ...you see, they pollinate my #plants ! Later when I put away the hose a wasp was buzzing around me. It landed on a blade of grass and drank a water droplet.  It was just thirsty.  We've learned to coexist because we both appreciate my garden! 😃 #lifelessons #satx #sanantonio #texas #insect #insect #bug #chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,586 Views
