Easter – Rejoice!

As I’ve previously written, there I’ve experienced many facets of  Easter.

Easter_OLG7  For me, Easter is a spiritual day to reflect on God’s great love for his people; a day that Christians around the world celebrate as their most sacred day, the day of Jesus’ resurrection.

My personal expression of Easter is best demonstrated in song.

Exultet, the Easter Proclamation is a centuries old prayer telling of God’s love throughout all of history, calling on all creation to give praise for the resurrection.

It’s sung only once a year, during the Easter Vigil Mass on Holy Saturday.

I’ve been privileged several times to sing Exultet.  The first time I was in my twenties.

I was going through some personal struggles.  I hadn’t been active in music ministry for a time.

I attended Palm Sunday mass and was last in line for Communion. Easter_OLG1 When I turned to go to my seat I heard the priest call my name.  He asked me to come see him after mass. I said okay.

When we met he said he had a request.

“Cathy, it’s the week before Easter and we don’t have anyone to sing the Easter Proclamation.  Will you do it?”

I was astonished…and he must have seen this.  How would I do this in a week?  …was I even worthy?

“I know you can do this…your voice will fill this church…will you come to the Rectory?  I’ll walk you through it.”

The following week I was privileged to sing this prayer for the first time.  It gave me an important lesson during difficult times. You see, the first word of Exultet is REJOICE! 

This is what we are called to do.

The last time I sang Exultet I once again faced struggles.

My special needs daughter had a number of medical issues. I had other personal concerns, too. In all, it was a difficult, exhausting time.

I rehearsed but was very distracted. How would I focus?

I contemplated one of its many lines.

Let this place resound with joy, echoing the mighty song of all God’s people.

I thought of John, a wonderful young man who doesn’t speak.  He is vocal, however.  He sings in church with a groan that comes from deep within.  He inspired me.

Many people think special needs individuals like John and my daughter don’t have a voice.  This is so untrue. We often need to listen in a different way.

I thought, if every person everywhere sang like John we would hear the mighty song of all God’s people!

How would John sing this?  He would sing joyfully and allow the song to come forward freely.  I began to rehearse anew.

On the night of the Easter Vigil I voiced the ancient prayer that was being sung by cantors around the world.  A prayer that connects people through the ages.

Once again, I sang the word REJOICE!

Ever since then, during Lent I recall the Exultet. It comes naturally to me at this time of year.

I remember the call to rejoice!

Have a happy and blessed Easter!

Easter_OLG12

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Autism, Faith, Family, Musings, Personal, Religion, Special Needs, Spirituality, Thoughts, Uncategorized
13 comments on “Easter – Rejoice!
  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Happy Easter 🙂 Judy

  2. the Easter celebration is so much more than chocolates … thank you for showing us the deeper – and personal – significance of this time =)

  3. Isabella says:

    Oh, Cathy, you have so beautifully captured the spirit of the Exutet, the spirit of Easter. Truly glorious! May Easter peace and joys continue to fill you heart amid all the challenges that life throws at us. 🙂

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Isabella! Your comment is very precious to me. I must admit I shuddered when I read it. To put this in context, I commented on your series about introverts. This post was deeply personal, and probably not something I would ordinarily express. That being said, after writing all my other posts about Easter, how could I not write about this most important aspect? Thank-you, my friend. Peace and blessings, Cathy.

  4. fgassette says:

    Beautiful post. Thank you for sharing. Happy Easter.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  5. fgassette says:

    Hi Cathy, I have nominated you for the Sunshine and the Genuine Blogger Awards for you to post on your site. You can find them here: http://wp.me/p23TG1-zX
    There is no hurry in responding, I just wanting to acknowledge your blog.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  6. Rejoice, indeed! Great post, Cathy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,413 Views
