Easter – The Day You Told Me You Had AIDS

The early 1990’s were a challenge.  At the end of 1990 and beginning of 1991 I was injured in two car accidents.  The first one wasn’t too bad, but I wasn’t fully recovered when the second, more severe accident happened.  Between those two accidents I was away from work for nine months.

It was Easter.  I was at my parents’ home.  imageAfter coming back from church my mom mentioned that she wanted to visit friends.  Honestly, I didn’t feel like visiting.  I often felt very tired.  Perhaps I was also feeling down because in the past I had been very active.  The injuries took that away from me. I was still adjusting.

We went to see our friends.  This was a family whose kids went to the same elementary school and church that we once attended.  Essentially we kids grew up together.

I hadn’t seen them in a few years.  Two of their three adult children, Jack and Diana, were there.

We spent time getting caught up.  Jack looked great.  He talked about taking care of himself.  When he said he’d been going to the gym I wasn’t surprised.  He looked fit.

We went outside on a beautiful spring day.

As we talked Jack told me very simply that he had AIDS.  He was focused on taking care of himself.  He was feeling alright but knew that could change at any time.   New drugs were being developed, but life expectancies at that time were Jack4_Paintingonly a few years after diagnosis.

When we said our good-byes we hugged each other tightly.  I kissed him on the cheek.

In 1993, Jack and I spoke before I moved to Northern California.  My body had reasonably recovered and I had a new job with my company.  We spoke very candidly.  When we said good-bye we both knew it was a real good-bye.  We were never going to see each other again in this life.

Jack was very talented. He had a great singing voice. He loved practical jokes and was quick-witted. In high school he helped me come out of my shell so that I had a part in a school play.  I couldn’t have done that without his encouragement.

In November of 1993 my mom called me to tell me Jack had died. Over the years I had sung at many funerals.  I sang for him, too, from the privacy of my apartment in Northern California.

Growing up, I saw Easter as a time to celebrate life and resurrection after the death brought by Good Friday. On that Easter Sunday, even though I had my own challenges, here was Jack living with a deadly disease.

It was probably the most unique Easter that I had ever experienced.  It was a profound time that still touches me to this day.

***********************************************************************************************************

This is my second post on the subject of Easter.  In case you didn’t see it, I also posted Easter Memories earlier today. I’ll finish this series tomorrow, on Easter Sunday.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Faith, Family, Family history, Friends, Musings, Personal, Religion, Spirituality, Thoughts, Uncategorized
17 comments on “Easter – The Day You Told Me You Had AIDS
  1. I’m out of words. Thanks for sharing Cathy.

  2. Gemma says:

    It’s hard to ‘like’ a post when it’s so sad, but it was a moving post, all the same. Thanks or shaing.

    • Cathy G says:

      Thank-you, Gemma. While it’s sad, I also know that Jack live a very vibrant life. I’m glad we were able to speak and say our good-byes while he was still alive. Even though I didn’t say it specifically, it’s a reminder to connect wit those we love and cherish while we have the opportunity to do so. Peace – Cathy

  3. gingerbreadcafe says:

    Very moving post, thanks for sharing.

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    A very meaningful story, thank you for sharing.

  5. thank you for sharing this – the true meaning of Easter and the sacrificial love shown to us … also special memories of family and friends =)

  6. Cathy, thank you for sharing that story of bravery and God’s love for us. And thank you for dropping by my blog.

    ~Anne

  7. So moving…beautiful post.

  8. Wow! What a powerful reflection on Good Friday and Easter, and a very moving tribute to your friend. Thank-you for sharing this. And I am moved that you sang for your friend, in a deeply heartfelt and personal way.

    • Cathy G says:

      Thank-you, perceptionoverjudgement. As you might imagine, these posts were deeply personal. It’s humbling to know they are appreciated. Even though I am not very active musically at the moment, I’ve discovered over the years that in quiet times I may express myself in song. Thanks again for stopping by. Blessings. – Cathy

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Enjoying the new-do and color #today . Time for a slight change in #hairstyle and lovin the color! #haircut #haircolor #enjoy #satx #sanantonio #texas #today #vintage #knit #blouse that Mom gave me.  Perfect condition at least 40 years old.  Simple, yet sophisticated.  So glad Mom passed this along to me! #vintageclothing #satx #sanantonio #texas #yummy !! #bananabread right out of the oven!  The house smells #amazing 😃 #today #baking #happyhubby #smile #goodeats #dessert #bread #satx #sanantonio #texas On the road visiting Mom but still making sure I have time to #workout #today focused on #core and #upperbody ...helps me with jet lag,  too! lol #exercise #health #fitness #fitchicks #fitwomen
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,999 Views
