“Down” Memory Lane

The WordPress theme was “Down.”   I mulled over this theme for a while.  I didn’t really have any photos that had to do with heights, or, with the emotions that occur when one is down.  I finally settled on taking a walk down memory lane.   I hope you enjoy my little stroll.

Louie & Mary_2

My parents met at a church youth group in Southern California in 1949. They were married in 1953 when my dad was on leave from Fort Ord, California.  He had just finished basic training. He was later stationed in Germany during the Korean conflict.

Don Antonio 2_2 Carmen 4_Painting

My mom’s parents lived with us about half of the year.  During the other half of the year they would visit family in Mexico. The trips to Mexico occurred regularly until my grandfather had a change in health and could no longer travel.

I was accustomed to having three generations in the household.  We used to say the family consisted of my parents, grandparents, six kids and a dog (or two).

Louie David Rosemarie & Cathy 1961_2   Alicia_4_Painting Raul_2

I happen to be the fourth of the six of us. As you might imaging we had a very active family. Like any home we had our ups and downs. That being said it was generally noisy, hectic and happy.

When I was in high school someone gave me a very large postcard in honor of my family. It said: “Welcome to the House of Perpetual Commotion.”

It was perfect.   We displayed the postcard proudly for years.  Everyone who saw it agreed that it fit!

The photos below were taken on the last Thanksgiving that was spent in the house.  The family had grown to include daughters and sons-in-law plus grandkids.

The children in the last photo are grown.  Some of them now have children of their own.

I know this is just a small glimpse of my family and its history.   My walk down memory lane brought back a lot of fond memories.  I had a good laugh thinking about ideas for future stories.

I hope it also causes you to take  your own stroll and to recount times that you can remember fondly.

La Familia_1_Painting_3

La Familia 2_2

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Faith, Family, Family history, Friends, Spirituality, Uncategorized
37 comments on ““Down” Memory Lane
  1. Your story inspires me to do one for my family too . I have a colorful history being I came from half of two different worlds. Yes, I do belong to a big family too and that postcard “Welcome to the House of Perpetual Commotion” fits very well with my family too 😉 LOL!

    http://jennysserendipity.wordpress.com/

  2. cobbies69 says:

    Yes I definitely enjoy going Down memory lane, and might just do it again, after looking at your post it has encouraged me to bring some memories back to life..nice take..thanx..;)

  3. Cathy G says:

    Thanks, Jenny! Since I don’t live near my family, this blog has turned out to be a way to share stories that I might not be able to tell otherwise. I hope you have a chance to share yoru family’s story!

  4. Fab photos as always. Great interpretation, they get us to think so deeply on these challenges!

  5. Cathy G says:

    Thanks, gingerbreadcafe! I was stuck for a while, then the creative juices kicked in…and I had a great time with it!

  6. Dor says:

    What a beautiful family story and how lucky you are!

  7. milaiski says:

    Love the “vintageness” of the pictures. 🙂

  8. enzo says:

    Wow…three ladies and three gentlemen in the family. My parents would have the same if I didn’t came out as the seventh. 🙂

  9. I love taking trips down memory lane. I also had trouble avoiding the obvious for this post. It was refreshing to see your take on it.

    http://spydercreationsphotography.wordpress.com/2012/02/20/weekly-photo-challenge-down/

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Spyder Creations Photography! I found this topic challenging at first. I had to set it aside then come back to it. Glad I did…and I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

  10. sonsothunder says:

    Wonderful post and pics…great to have such warm memories, and photos.

  11. janiscooking says:

    absolutely love your interpretation of the week’s challenge!

  12. Arindam says:

    Love these collection of photographs,beautiful. Great entry for this week’s challenge.

  13. Great blog, interesting story and some good photographs

  14. I’ll try again – it’s so difficult leaving comments – WordPress seems to throw them in the spam bin!!

    Lovely way to interpret the theme. Lovely story.

    Writing from the Edge
    http://lorely-writingfromtheedge.blogspot.com/

  15. Love it! the best strolls are the ones down memory lane!!

  16. Subhan Zein says:

    Hi, thank you for your visit to my blog and for liking my post. 🙂 For my flash fiction, you may want to read: “Becoming Human”, “Two Rupiah Notes”, and “The Scholar and The Boatman”.

    Hope they entertain and or inspire you! 🙂

    Kind regards,

    Subhan Zein

    • Cathy G says:

      Hello, Subhan. I enjoyed your post! Thanks for the recommendations – I’ll take a look! I hope you take a few minutes to look at some of my other posts,too. 🙂

  17. Gemma says:

    Love the photos. This is the second time today I’ve seen the black and white and it’s haunting me. Now I’ve got to dig up some old pix and reminisce. Thanks for the inspiration, and for ‘liking’ my blog.

  18. fgassette says:

    Hi Cathy, Enjoyed your post Down Memory Lane. Thank you for visiting m blog. Hope you come to visit again.

    BE ENCOURAGE! BE BLESSED!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Enjoying the new-do and color #today . Time for a slight change in #hairstyle and lovin the color! #haircut #haircolor #enjoy #satx #sanantonio #texas #today #vintage #knit #blouse that Mom gave me.  Perfect condition at least 40 years old.  Simple, yet sophisticated.  So glad Mom passed this along to me! #vintageclothing #satx #sanantonio #texas #yummy !! #bananabread right out of the oven!  The house smells #amazing 😃 #today #baking #happyhubby #smile #goodeats #dessert #bread #satx #sanantonio #texas On the road visiting Mom but still making sure I have time to #workout #today focused on #core and #upperbody ...helps me with jet lag,  too! lol #exercise #health #fitness #fitchicks #fitwomen
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,999 Views
