Peaceful – Follow-up

2012-01-14_Mija_LR1_thumb4

Last month I wrote a post called Peaceful.  I was appreciative and humbled by the replies; one from “Anonymous” stayed with me.  I mentioned I would follow up on a reply.  Due to a business trip and slight illness I hadn’t been able to complete that reply until now.

I hope Anonymous reads this.  Since the comments weren’t private, I’ll re-post portions here.

“… I ‘get’ the peace in this room. Oh man I get it. It’s inspiring and uplifting. And gentle movement. Your daughter’s inner world, is precious.”

Thank-you.  Many people don’t see her personality, or recognize how important a sense of order is to her.  I’m speaking of her internal order.  The order she brings to the space she creates.  We all want this to some degree.  She’s no different.

“Would you take in an online daughter of 30ish, an orphan from a terrible childhood? I wish somebody would…”

You, too, are precious.  I say that sincerely.  We all have uphill climbs in our lives; some have more challenges than others.

Years ago (probably when I was around your age!) a mentor said there are times when we feel like we don’t have any skin  Think about that. When we have a tiny cut we feel stung. Can you imagine what it would be like to have no skin at all? Somehow I suspect you can.

“Thank you very much for your post. You have no idea how much it reached me. Your daughter has inspired me to go on another day.”

This touched me deeply.  …very telling about you.  My daughter can be a real teacher once people get to know her.  She had taught me so much.

There are times when we all have to dig deep.  I mean really deep.

Someone told me I live everyday in a place where most people only glance. I imagine you understand this. One reason for this is to face your challenges, not deny them, then move through them and past them.  From there you can journey to a place of peace.  Truly. You have to be willing to take that walk.

Your reply to my post was lovely, honest and appreciated.  As I replied previously:

There’s a saying that during tough times you should take one day at a time. I think it’s often shorter. Take one moment at a time…one breath at a time.

We all have to find a safe place within our own world, within ourselves. Part of the journey with my daughter is to know this and to continually learn this.

It takes courage to reach out to someone when you’re in pain.  I hope you’ll reach out to people nearby who can support you. The journey starts with a first step.

Please stay strong and take one breath at a time.

I hope you’ll return to this post and drop me a line.

*If anyone else has words of encouragement for Anonymous, please feel free to leave those here.

2012-01-Mija_LR5

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Autism, Faith, Family, Friends, Personal, Special Needs, Spirituality, Uncategorized
4 comments on “Peaceful – Follow-up
  1. cobbies69 says:

    I cannot even think to comment about what you both must go through as part of everyday life. But can say that after reading, you and daughter must give inspiration to all people that read it. Whether one has a health problem or not. I alone feel guilty for the way I act with some problems I have, will think twice from now. I can only stand on in admiration.

  2. Cathy G says:

    Gerry, you are too kind. I have to admit in order to convey my thoughts to Anonymous I would have to set some private thoughts aside and be as open as possible. Thanks very much for your reply. Much appreciated. 🙂

  3. Anon says:

    Dear Cathy,

    When I first saw this follow-up post I was in disbelief (“you mentioned me directly!”), then nervous (“you saw what I was feeling!”), then scared (“I should back away, I don’t deserve these great words”), then finally…I cried with tears of acceptance (“thank you for understanding me”).

    I’m often ‘Anon’, even offline, because I never really feel safe in my own skin. It’s not the only reason, but it’s a big one. You did get me right about feeling skinless as I feel more like a ‘bundle of nerves’ most days. When one is already hurting, even a slight breeze can feel like freezing rain. I am definitely taking things one day, or moment, at a time. One breath at a time.

    “We all have to find a safe place within our own world, within ourselves. Part of the journey with my daughter is to know this and to continually learn this.”

    I am glad you two shared this wisdom with me. I had a lot of things I wished for in my life, desires I’d love to reach for, but did not have a safe place within. No emotional foundation to stand on. I did at one point in my childhood, but it was worn and broken down.

    Since your Peaceful post, and through this new month, I’ve been trying to rebuild my own inner safe haven. I’ve even begun to get emotionally curious of my fears again, pretending that I actually ‘like’ feeling nervous – I remind myself it CAN be overcome. So long as I don’t see a physical danger with it, there’s no harm in trying to relax [instead of tense] and enjoy the very unique sensation of ‘tummy butterflies’ and ‘what if’s. I guess, or at least hope, that’s the first step to building courage.

    It seems I’ve got a lot of steps to take. But it’s not so scary now.

    Thank you again.

  4. Cathy G says:

    Hello Anonymous. Good for you! Your reply came an an interesting time as I was haveing a rough day at work. When I saw your reply I smiled and remembered that some things that frustrate us are just inconveniences.
    Thank-you.

    It sounds like you’re at the beginning of a new journey. Interestingly enough, I suspect people who have carried themselves this far in your circumstances don’t recognize the strength and the courage they already possess. As you’ve discovered some things don’t have to be so scary. It doesn’t mean you won’t have ups and downs. That is part of the journey, too.
    Best wishes to you.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,413 Views
