Hope

Germany 8

My father was stationed in Germany during the Korean conflict.  It is the hope of any soldier who is stationed far from home to be able to be back in the arms of loved ones.  One can only imagine how this hope and yearning is particularly heightened during holidays.

Germany 2

I don’t know that my father is writing to my mother, but it would be nice to imagine.  “Hoping all is well.  Hoping to see you soon.”

Josie Mary Jose

My father was overseas when my mother was expecting my oldest brother.  An expectant mother…full of hopes for her child…and full of hope for her loved one to return safely.

Parents hoping for the safe return of their son.

*Thank-you to all the men and women serving our country, with hopes for your safe return.*

– Best wishes from the wife of a retired sky watcher.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Christmas, Family, Family history, Peaceful, Personal, Spirituality, Uncategorized
31 comments on “Hope
  1. Dor says:

    Family history is always so fascinating and touching. The pictures look so old until I realized your father was in Germany at the same time as my husband! We weren’t married then and had not even met until he came home. Your blog is lovely, warm and touching.

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks for your comments, Dor! The more I blog the more I find others may have some common element to my stories. In so many ways we’re all connected. Yes, the pictures may be old…but not that old! LOL Thanks for sharing!

  2. pix & kardz says:

    a touching post – thank you for sharing this story

  3. cobbies69 says:

    I just old and new black and white, give character to many pictures and it certainly works here, I might just blog some of mine, nice idea..;)

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Gerry! I’ve enjoyed going through a rather vast library of family photos. They’re preserved because my father has taken the time to preserve all of this! I’ll look forward to future posts of yours!

  4. dadirri7 says:

    poignant …. hope is made of this 🙂

  5. livvy30 says:

    Great shots for the theme! Lovely story.

  6. Meg Glidden says:

    My dad was in the South Pacific in the previous war. No matter how faded the pictures, the war itself never left his conscience. He forbade any of us to enlist.

  7. Touching photo comentary.
    ~Anne

  8. Great entry! A moment lasts all of a second, but the memory lives on forever

  9. Cathy G says:

    Thanks, LonelyTravelog! I just took a look at you posts and I can see that you probably have a lot of great memories, too, from all your travels!

  10. Cathy,

    Thank you for visiting my “punny” photoblog and leaving a “like.” I see that your blog is positive and family oriented. The pictures remind me of the ones in my mom’s old photo albums. (She was one of 13 children, and I was one of 48 first cousins on that side of the family alone!)

    John: TheDailyGraff.com

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi J. A. – I do enjoy puns! Interestingly enough, due to my dad’s diligence, the photo albums are now electronic. My family has definitely benefited from all his work in getting the family libray on-line! Thanks!

  11. jakesprinter says:

    Great entry for this week theme 🙂

  12. Jo Bryant says:

    thank you athy for sharing these thoughts

  13. dailyann says:

    My Dad told me that when he was stationed in England, he befriended an English man in the area. His family invited my Dad and some other Yanks to their home for Christmas. This was early ’50s, and England ( and Europe) were still recovering from WWII. So my Dad and his Air Force buddies went to their military store and bought meat and some other “comestibles” to take with them to their friend’s home.

    Dad said that when their hostess, the mother of their friend, opened the packages and she started to cry. They had not seen meat in that quantity or any of the other treats in years, at least since before the war.

    Hope is a funny thing. We hope that our soldiers will be welcomed or at least well-treated. We hope that we welcome others into our homes, and we hope that we help those who need it most. But hope is as easy to give as it is to wish for…it is one of the easiest things to give and to recieve.

    • Cathy G says:

      Ann, I just saw you email address and realized who it is that’s posting this reply! So good to hear from you! There are so many stories that our parents and others have to tell. The vignette that you share is very touching, and so affirming. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

      • dailyann says:

        Hey Cathy, I ried to log onto your blog, and I had to enroll to do so. Unexpectedly, I found myself with a blog space. Interesting….I wouldn’t have done this on my own, but I find myself thinking about what to write. Thank you for the opportunity. You have some great entries on your blog!

      • Cathy G says:

        Hi again! I didn’t realize you’d have to enroll. That being said, I’m really glad you did. When I think of all the gang growing up I always thought you were the best writer of the bunch! I’m looking forward to seeing what you post! Let me know when you get started so I can follow you blog! 🙂

  14. amira says:

    Hopes keeps us afloat.
    Nice entry Cathy 🙂

  15. i absolutely love old family photos and the stories that go with them. What a wonderful representation of hope you shared…thank you!

  16. Family photos such as these are a real treasure!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Hadn't been #swimming in quite some time but I headed to the #water #today  as part of #training by #pt @dan_frick  Worked out some kinks..lol ...but also recognized gains...felt great to be back in the water! 😃 #fitness #exercise #health #fitchick #fitwomen #swim #satx #sanantonio #texas #life lessons from my #little  Who likes wasps? Well there was one my #chile #plant #today ...you see, they pollinate my #plants ! Later when I put away the hose a wasp was buzzing around me. It landed on a blade of grass and drank a water droplet.  It was just thirsty.  We've learned to coexist because we both appreciate my garden! 😃 #lifelessons #satx #sanantonio #texas #insect #insect #bug #chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,586 Views
