Simple

 

Carmen 1920s

My maternal grandmother at the beach.  The 1920’s…I love the simplicity of what she’s wearing.  At that time many of the gadgets we now take for granted didn’t exist.  A reminder that some of the things we think are simple were considered marvels at the time.

Antonio1

This is one my favorite pictures of my maternal grandfather. He’s enjoying a book in the backyard of the house where I grew up. Nothing fancy, just a basic lawn chair and some sunshine. It brings back some great memories of simpler times.

Las-Chapanecas_Jose2

My paternal grandfather.  The timeframe is probably the late 1920’s, maybe the early 1930’s.   Those in my family who have a musical bent inherited this from him.  He made complicated music sound so simple.  I can close my eyes and still hear it.

black and white picture of josie

I absolutely love this picture of my paternal grandmother. She looks so lovely with her simple white hat.

Simple 007

Forward to this weekend.  A plant that I’ve had for a few years bloomed this week. I had no idea it would flower! My grandmothers would laugh as they knew how to keep a garden!  One simple elegant flower just made my morning and made me think of my grandparents.

Simple 010

I made a simple cup of tea as I usually do.  It’s been good to reminisce about simple things and simpler times.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Family, Family history, Peaceful, Personal, Uncategorized
28 comments on “Simple
  1. barb19 says:

    I love your photos Cathy, especially the old ones – they are to be treasured!
    It’s nice to look back on simpler times.
    But nothing beats a simple cup of tea!

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Barb. I am definitely a tea drinker! I wasn’t originally planning on taking this post in this direction but it’s funny how that turns out! I’m glad I listened to my instincts. 🙂

  2. jakesprinter says:

    Simple Memories nice post 🙂

  3. What a wonderful post. Such a nice tribute to simpler times and those in your life that left imprints on your own journey. Great work. : )

  4. pix & kardz says:

    this post is simply splendid!
    thank you for sharing your memories, your stories, and your blossom 🙂

  5. Cathy G says:

    Thanks so much! I hopped over to you link and left you a reply! 🙂

  6. Kate Kresse says:

    I enjoy your blog and am glad that you found mine so I could find yours. I am giving you my Candle Lighter Award. The link is here. http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/creation-of-new-blog-award-the-candle-lighter-award/ Just copy the Candle Lighter Award badge from my right sidebar. When you accept the award, post about it and put that same link above into your post so people can find the award information. Also, if you don’t know how to put the badge in, here is a link to help you do that. http://dogear6.com/2012/01/01/adding-a-widget-to-your-sidebar/

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Kate! That’s so wonderful! Even though I’ve been bloggin for only a short time I’ve found it to be very rewarding. I’m happy to accept it and post about it! I believe it’s important whenever possible to give words that are edifying. I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts.
      I just re-read your page. Here is the link to my site. Pleae add to you list of recipients.
      https://cpgutierrez.wordpress.com/
      🙂

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks dailyphtotoexploration! I’m fortunate my father has a vast library of family photos. He treasures them and spent quite a bit of time scanning and organizing! Because of all his work – a passion reallly – my family can treasure them, too!

  7. Mizz says:

    Simply nostalgic!

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Mizz. Yes, I was very nostalgic. I consider myself fortunate to have known all four of my grandparents. I enjoyed going through a lot of photos while I put this post together. 🙂

  8. Amar Naik says:

    beautiful collection of photos.

  9. Raul says:

    Cool Autumn breezes, comfortable bed, warm hearth, my dog’s wagging tail and your blog. Just a few of my favorite things.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hey there, Raul! So gald to hear from you!….I can vividly picture every one of the items you mention. Always warms my heart when familia stops by. Love ya’ bro’! 🙂

  10. Madman says:

    I love your pictures Cathy. Thank you for sharing them with us 🙂

  11. orples says:

    Cathy, it was a joy going through your family photos and reading the captions. I love your outlook in general. So many people neglect the simplicities in life that oft time are the greatest treasures. Thank you for sharing.

  12. engchick23 says:

    I like looking at old photos, but I had never thought of how our must-have gadgets were so unnecessary back then. I love to think how people genuinely enjoyed what they had, whether it was an old violin, a book and lawn chair in the sunshine, or a walk on the beach.

    Those simple things are still around to enjoy, except they get missed because there are so many things calling for our attention. Still, the mad rush of the world makes me that much more grateful for budding flowers and a time-out cup of tea.

    Thanks reminding me to enjoy the simple things! 🙂

  13. A better time…great post.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,413 Views
