Start of 2012 – No New Year Resolutions Here

I just read a Facebook post by my sister.  Looks like she has a lot of milestones ahead and much to do in 2012.  She has a lot of energy and is very vibrant.  Good for her! Looks like her year will be filled with a lot of activities.

Funny how siblings can sometimes be so different!

I started the year quietly and slowly.  I would like to ease into the new year, but I know better.  I was away from work for the last week of the year.  It was been extremely relaxing.  I couldn’t have asked for more.

I know the moment I get back to work everything will take off very quickly.  My calendar will be full and I will be extremely busy.  I savor the moments of quiet whenever I can take them.

Years ago I decided not to make resolutions for the new year.  It turned out to be a significant decision.  I came to the realization that resolutions are not just for the new year. There is responsibility in this as decisions to improve one’s self are on-going. They can be made any day and renewed every day.

Sure, there are some things that I would like to do in the coming year.  I used to play music on a regular basis.  I stopped a couple of years ago.  I had lost the desire to play.  I had to let that part of me go for a time.

That part of me is stirring again.  It’s something that I suspect I will explore.  It doesn’t mean I’m inclined to play publicly as I had in the past; however, the fact that I’m sensing this part of me is important.  I need to listen to that.

There are also areas in my life where I could use a bit of a push.  I don’t need to make any resolutions.  These hurdles are staring me in the face so I just need to get moving! No surprises there.

I started this blog as one means of being creative.  I’m enjoying this expression.  I know I’ll continue.  I don’t expect to post every day, but weekly is do-able.  *Thank-you to all who follow my journey.*

I can’t predict what the new year will bring.  I’m okay with that.

You can call it a trust walk, or a faith walk.  It’s important for me to acknowledge this.  It’s at the center of who I am.

No matter what, when I wake up every morning I intrinsically know that I have one more day to bless and to be blest.

Have a safe and prosperous new year.  Make it a good one, no matter what you resolve to do.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2012, Faith, Family, Personal, Religion, Uncategorized
4 comments on “Start of 2012 – No New Year Resolutions Here
  1. topher79 says:

    I had a similar realization this year, I made a resolution not to make any resolutions. I always felt the pressure to make a resolution was too great and then again later in the year when the resolution failed to materialize.

    Already I feel this year is off to a better start.

    • Cathy G says:

      Hi Kris. Isn’t it funny how we give ourselves extra pressure by setting these types of expectations? I know I have things to do and manage…but I, too, feel better about letting go of resolutions. Good for you!

  2. pix & kardz says:

    I like your resolve to forego new year’s resolutions 🙂
    A good way to look at it

    • Cathy G says:

      Thanks, Kris! I have found it to be rather freeing. It doesn’t get me off the hook from getting things done…but it’s given me a different perspective on what I should and shouldn’t manage. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,413 Views
