Tiles Across Miles…and the Dog Who Couldn’t Play

At the moment I’ve set aside some crocheting so that I can write.  As I’m blogging  my sis and I are also in the middle of a game of Words with Friends.  As such, it’s only fitting that I write about a topic that she suggested.

Before Thanksgiving she asked me “please oh please” if I played this.  I hadn’t but she sent me an invite.  We’ve played a few games that have sometimes taken a week to finish.

Alicia is in California.  I am in Texas.  The web has allowed us to now play tiles across the miles.  We’re now hooked together as if we were kids again.  In some ways it’s an electronic version of our childhood.

There is one family member who comes to mind as we play this game.

We had a dog, Alfie.  He looked a lot like Toto from the Wizard of Oz, except he had floppy ears.  I got him when I was in the seventh grade.  He was my best buddy for many years.  He had a lot of energy.  He was an outdoor dog, but every morning he would be let into the house.  We could hear him running across the den.  The door would be closed but not really shut.  He would bounce against the door without losing momentum.  The door would swing open.   Alfie would run into the room I shared with my two sisters.  He would jump on one bed, then bounce back and forth between all three beds.  If you were asleep when this happened you wouldn’t stay asleep for long.  He would do this day or night.  He was just so happy to see everyone and he wanted to be sure you knew it, too.

When Alicia and I were growing up we spent many, many hours playing Scrabble.  We played in the kitchen or our room.  We were very competitive.

One evening the game was very intense.  We were sitting cross-legged on one of the beds in our room.  You could tell the intensity because we wouldn’t speak.  While one person shuffled her tiles the other one usually had her hands on her chin, deeply concentrating.  We were nearing the end of the game.

We were concentrating so hard that we didn’t hear Alfie running across the den.  The door burst open.  He was so happy to see us that he jumped onto the bed.  The Scrabble board and tiles went flying into the air.  We may have screamed but then we were laughing at the craziness of it all.  We hugged the dog and petted him.  Once he settled down he went to another part of the house.

We played this game so much that once we stopped laughing we were able to reconstruct the board.  We continued on.  As much as we’ve played this game over the years this particular game is the one we remember so many years later.

Hey, sis! It’s your move!

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Family, Family history, Personal, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,416 Views
