Visiting with Mom

Mom visited this week.  A few weeks back she “announced” she was coming.  I didn’t mind.  Funny thing was I had started making plans and knew I would have to change them.  Ah, well.  It was all good.

We did the rounds of shopping, including visiting two yarn shops.  I was inspired to start some serious crocheting for the holidays.  I’ve been doing this for the past several years.  I hadn’t crocheted for quite some time.  I re-started when I was facing a lay-off.   It was productive and relaxing.  I was hooked, so to speak.  The crocheting has been prolific ever since.

The yarn shops had very beautiful and luxurious fibers.  I could spend hours examining the skeins, imaging what I would make.  For now, I settled on a few small items.

Back at home Mom settled back on the couch and watched me crochet.  As I worked my way through the yarn I would show her my progress.  A couple of times I wasn’t satisfied with the outcome so I pulled it apart and started again.  We enjoyed talking about the stitches and the “finished objects.”  At first she talked about taking all the items I made back with her so she could give them out.  She had no room in her suitcase.  I had already given her a shawl and several scarves.  I would mail the other items; she enjoyed giving them out.

On a different note, I am always introspective at this time of year.  There are a lot of reasons for this.  As I look back on this year I’ve considered the tremendous amount of change that took place.  I started a new position in a different department…traveled on the job…met new people…was greatly challenged…began to feel more secure in the new position…Al supported me…Mija was settling into the school year…was it a successful year?   Well, let’s just say that I was satisfied.  More on this in a future post.

When we took Mom to the airport I saw our reflections in the two glass doors leading into the terminal.  When I looked at our reflections I had another brief flash of introspection.  I saw my Mom’s reflection and mused that this is what I would look like in twenty years.  We have similar features.  We have short hair.  Hers is white, mine is mostly silver.  We each walk with a limp, depending on how tired our legs are.  She has grown old gracefully and I  wondered if I was doing the same.

I only see her a couple of times a year, so I wondered how many future visits there would be…ever.  I wasn’t sad about that thought.  I realized we would have to make the most of every single visit no matter when they may be. With that in mind we said our good-byes. Even though I didn’t know when I’d see her again I knew she would call when she got home.  She did.  That’s my mom, ever faithful.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Family, Family history, Personal
One comment on “Visiting with Mom
  1. catita1 says:

    Thanks for your feedback!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
Hadn't been #swimming in quite some time but I headed to the #water #today  as part of #training by #pt @dan_frick  Worked out some kinks..lol ...but also recognized gains...felt great to be back in the water! 😃 #fitness #exercise #health #fitchick #fitwomen #swim #satx #sanantonio #texas #life lessons from my #little  Who likes wasps? Well there was one my #chile #plant #today ...you see, they pollinate my #plants ! Later when I put away the hose a wasp was buzzing around me. It landed on a blade of grass and drank a water droplet.  It was just thirsty.  We've learned to coexist because we both appreciate my garden! 😃 #lifelessons #satx #sanantonio #texas #insect #insect #bug #chiles from my #little #garden mild #jalapeño on top... #yellow #banana #peppers are growing again!  and the #anaheim was picked this morning... tasted great in my lunch #today !! #tasty #goodeats #healthyfood #health #satx #sanantonio #texas #sundayselfie beating the #texas heat!  #self #selfiesunday  #selfies #today #hat #smile #satx #sanantonio #fitwomen #healthy #happy
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,586 Views
