Another A+ Donation!

Yesterday I received a call from the local blood bank.  Could I stop in this weekend and donate platelets?  I explained that, unfortunately I’m no longer eligible to donate platelets.  Would they update their records?  The lady on the call was very gracious.  Of course…then could I donate whole blood?  We determined I was eligible.  Sure, I would donate  tomorrow.

The donation process was over in about fifteen minute after completing all the forms and intake.

Afterward, Al and I spoke about it.  He used to donate platelets and whole blood regularly.  He’s no longer eligible.  Not being able to donate disappoints him, as his blood has a unique factor that allowed him to donate to premature infants.  I’ve always told him that I’ll donate for the two of us as long as I’m able.

One gallon is eight pints.  Over the years I’ve donated more than three gallons in whole blood, plus several units of platelets.  The blood bank sees me as a regular.  They like the “beautiful vein” in my left arm.

Have you ever donated blood?  If yes, thank-you for your donation.

If no, are you eligible?  There are many valid reasons that someone would not donate.  The way I see it, those who are eligible who are able should seriously consider donating.

A number of years ago a friend told me she was afraid of needles but still decided to donate blood.  She said it wasn’t easy for her.  She later received a call that she was a match for a much-needed platelet donation.  She hesitated to donate because of her fear.  She finally asked if the recipient would die without the donation.  The answer was it would help the recipient in living.  She faced her fears and decided to donate.

Another time I was in a conference room at my company for a blood drive.  There were a few people who were first time donors.  There were mixed levels of anxiety.

I said, “Is it completely painless?  No because you will get stuck with a needle.  Once you get past that there may be a little bit of discomfort.  Hang in there because it’s only around fifteen minutes.  Also, if you feel uncomfortable, tell the phlebotomist.  They’re there to take care of you.”  The person who did the intake said I would make a good recruiter.  I laughed.  He then looked at my records and realized how many donations I previously made.

If there’s a blood drive and you’re not sure if you qualify, stop in and ask!  There is a great need.

I don’t know who will receive the type A+ blood that I donated.  That doesn’t matter to me.  There are times when people have asked me to donate time or money to a worthy cause and for some reason  I couldn’t.  This is something I’m still able to do…and, for me, it’s the right thing to do.

What’s stopping you?  Roll up your sleeve and go!

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Family, Personal

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
More #fun with @ogmary1930 #motheranddaughter #love #mom with @ogmary1930 ❤ #love #mom #motheranddaughter Repost #today from @gramps2_ame_mi #florida #fun with @aliv5 and @ogmary1930 ...quite an #adventure ! 
#love #mother #daughters #motheranddaughter #travelphotography #smile😊 early day..about to be on my way...
#today #igtravel #satx #sanantonio #texas #travel
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,416 Views
