My Special Girl…the Pure of Heart

Today in church there was a special blessing.  My daughter, her teachers and classmates who make up the Special Needs Faith Class would receive a blessing along with their families.  This is an important day as it shows the community that those with special needs are really present in our everyday lives, even if we don’t realize it.   It was also very early in the school year, so in a sense it was a way for people to celebrate the beginning of the new year.  It’s important for the community to recognize this.

Where the web is concerned I’ve always been protective of Mija.  I admit that. She’s a vulnerable person.  This is the first time I’ve ever written about this subject.  There are a lot of reasons for that.  Suffice to say for now that I felt this was important.

When we entered the church she sat quietly next to us.  A few minutes after the entrance song we were called to the front with other families.   The celebrant said, “They are special because they remind us by their love that we are to be loved, and that we are the ones who are in need of that love.”  I had never quite heard it that way but I agreed with that statement.  He later stated he was once a teacher of special needs children, and spoke of the impact they had on his life.

Many special needs people who have cognitive challenges live in the here and now.  They don’t understand the concept of “later.”  When Mija wants something, she does understand the words “Please wait.”  It’s once of the few phrases that she speaks.  Still, for the most part, she expects us to drop what we’re doing to take care of her needs.  When I’m tired this is particularly challenging.  It is an exercise in patience and humility.  I’m reminded of this every day.

With many special needs people “what you see is what you get,” meaning they don’t pretend about how they feel.  When they are happy you will know it.  When they are sad or angry you will know it. They don’t mask or pretend.  When you hear “Blessed are the pure of heart…” there is no greater demonstration of this than the special needs kids in Mija’s class.  They show you who they are at their very core.  It’s very profound because you find that you must rise up and respond in kind.

Someone once told me that everyone has a special need as we all lack something in our lives.

After the blessing the children and teachers returned to their classroom.  We were very proud of Mija.  This was the best she had ever done in church.  Other times she was restless or impatient.  This time she enjoyed looking around at everyone.

There are many stories to share but for now this is a start.  I’m grateful to the teachers and families of this special little community for all their support.  We are truly blest.

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Autism, Faith, Family, Personal, Religion, Special Needs, Spirituality, Uncategorized
3 comments on “My Special Girl…the Pure of Heart
  1. […] Mija is now in high school.  For those of you  who are not familiar, I wrote two posts about my special needs daughter that would set the context for this post:  Peaceful  and My Special Girl, the Pure of Heart.  […]

  2. Kate Kresse says:

    How proud you must have been that day. And yes, when Mija asks she cannot truly learn to wait a really long time. Her definition of waiting has a whole lot more immediacy. But when we call to God, He, too rushes to our side. And our souls, too, want that Mija immediacy.” Come on, God! Help me~” we shout!! thank you for this post.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

IG Pics
#great time #today - company #5krun privileged to #sing the National Anthem at the event.  PR... constantly #amazed to think a few years ago I had difficulty walking up the stairs in my house due to a chronic injury. Hard #work and dedication continue to pay off! #grateful #happy #fitwomen #fitchicks #satx #sanantonio #texas #trainhard #exercise #motivation late day at the office...late day at the #gym time to get it done! #today #fitness #fitgirls  #fitwomen #health #motivation  #exercise #training #goldsgym #satx #sanantonio #texas #crocheting a new mat made of plastic bags #today - part of a #project to make sleeping mats for homeless veterans. Sad that this needs to be done but happy to do my part..and also happy to take the plastic bags out of circulation!  #volunteer #recycle #rrr #diy #handmade #madeit #crochet #satx #sanantonio #texas Our neighbors surprised us with rice and potatoes with mild #curry - Mija really enjoyed it! Background is that over the years she has slowly (very slowly) learned to try new foods...this was a big deal...and we were #happy to see it! #autism #autismawareness #satx #sanantonio #texas #smile
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 17,199 Views
