January 2014 Bloggers for Peace Challenge

Have you seen Kozo’s new Bloggers for Peace Challenge?

If you haven’t seen it yet go check it out!

He asks us “What one thought will you focus on this year to bring more peace?”

WOW.  I was blown away by this question.  My self-interrogation began!

What would be my focus this year?

Cathy pauses.

Cathy pauses.

I considered the changes that have taken over the past 14+ months in relation to my health.

The changes were more than physical.  They were spiritual, psychological, emotional.

Last year I decided to keep a journal of thoughts that would inspire me to keep going.  Thoughts that would remind me of why I was on this journey.

I decided that my focus for 2014 would be a continuation of this journey.  As such I declared it in my journal!

Journal entry: : “Be good to yourself.  Take care of yourself.  When you do this you’ll be able to take care of the ones you love.”

Journal entry: “Be good to yourself. Take care of yourself. When you do this you’ll be able to take care of the ones you love.”

“Be good to yourself.  Take care of yourself.  When you do this you’ll be able to take care of the ones you love.”

This thought kept me motivated when during my journey. 

Slowing down with a hot cup of tea.

Slowing down with a hot cup of tea.

The primary consideration has always been my health….being good to myself and taking care of myself….

…along with a focus on how to be the best that I can be for my husband and daughter…in order to to take care of the ones I love…

Everything else has followed from that.

Recently a few women told me that they decided to make changes in their lives based not only on my story, but based on this statement.

One said, “I’ve heard this before.  It isn’t really anything new, but I’ve always thought, ‘Yeah, I know I should take care of myself, but all kinds of things get in the way.  Somehow, when you said this to me it resonated.  I’ve started making changes so that I can take better care of myself.”

I am deeply humbled.

In order to be fully present for those we love we have to be healthy and well.  We have to take care of ourselves. 

This is a common theme people!!!

C’mon. Admit it.  We put everyone ahead of ourselves.  Those of us who are caregivers understand this all too well.

Just a light-hearted moment!

Just a light-hearted moment!

Too often, however, we lose focus on the first part of my statement. 

We loose sleep, we don’t eat well, we exhaust ourselves.

Sound familiar?

Consider what would happen if we took the time to rest, to eat better, to energize ourselves physically, spiritually and emotionally.

We would feel renewed!  We would have the energy to spread love and to care for others. 

Make 2014 a year in which you will take care of yourself.

You are not being selfish.  You are being kind to yourself.

How do you plan on replenishing yourself?

**********

To find out more about Bloggers for Peace, click the badge!

Bloggers for Peace

See also:

Brain Sweets

Quotes of the Week: Inspire someone. Monthly Peace Post

Kozo and Cheri asks that you

 

About

I've always enjoyed writing and finally decided it was time to blog! As part of my profession I write every day, but I'm now trying to take the time to write creatively. My family and friends have been very encouraging as there is little that is written down in the way of a family chronicle. This is a favorite topic of mine! In addition to family history, I write about life, family, friends and faith. My husband is a full-time parent to our special needs daughter. I’ve explored this topic, too. I also enjoy music, crocheting, reading and relaxing with my family. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2014, B4Peace, Peaceful, Personal, Spirituality, Thoughts, Uncategorized
5 comments on “January 2014 Bloggers for Peace Challenge
  1. First of all, you look fabulous!
    Now, about taking care of myself – a topic I discussed with a friend over breakfast this morning. I am in the midst of some personal issues and they are wearing on me. My friend said just this same thing. Treat yourself. Take care of yourself. You need it in order to keep on keeping on and in order to be there for others.
    You ( and my other friend) are absolutely correct! :-)

  2. Kozo Hattori says:

    Love this realization, Cathy. Yes, you have been a wonderful example of both taking care of yourself and taking care of others. Love the “Cathy pauses” photo. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

    • Cathy G says:

      Kozo, my friend, what a lovely comment! This is a lesson I have to constantly repeat to myself. It’s just too easy for me to let things go so I need this constant reminder! :)

      p. s. Glad you enjoyed my “pause pic!” It had been a long time since I was able to do this. It does me a lot of good to slow down this way! Peace to you.always.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Visit me on Instagram!
Off they go! Mija has a great time in the pool - she loves being in the water!
#specialneeds #autism #autismspeaks #autismawareness #today #satx #sanantonio #texas #health #family #love #tbt This scruffy #crazy little #dog was my #bestfriend for a lot of years!  I didn't think there were any pictures of him so I had a good laugh when I saw this! !! Lots of stories to share about this guy!!! #happy #memories of a #funny wonderful #pet ! 
#pup #puppy #friend  #throwbackthursday #OUCH !!!! I stepped into the garage for 10 minutes and got about 6 bug bites!!! 😲😲😲😲 ...been a while since that's happened!
#today #satx #sanantonio #texas #summer
My Thanks to YOU for all the Awards!
Cathy's "My Thanks to you!" Badge

To my fellow bloggers - "My Thanks to you!" for all the nominations! To view the awards, please click on the badge!

Bloggers for Peace
National Novel Writing Month 2012 and 2013 Winner!
Archives
Blog Visits
  • 13,339 Views
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 302 other followers

